We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Completly adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Completly adequate”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This hotel is fine, cheep, big clean rooms. The food is good and there is entertainment on every night.

We are staying here over Christmas and New Year and its been a very pleasant stay so far.

The rooftop pool is closed as it winter, but should be quite nice in the summer.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mongo_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    330
    267
    110
    55
See reviews for
111
448
106
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My wife and I are going to Malta June of next year and we will be staying again for the 3rd. consecutive time at The Diplomat.
I cannot find anything to be critical about this hotel. It is centrally located in Sliema with buses to Valletta 150 metres away. The staff give excellent service in a very friendly manner. The food prepared by the chefs is some of the best there is in Malta,.

Room Tip: Spa was not used. Have stayed in Seaview room and also Corner Room. Both are large and sunny and are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NinoXerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullingar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This has been my third consecutive visit to Malta - my first 2 years I stayed in Bugibba and decides this year on a change of scenery etc. I must say straight away it was my best year yet, for a few reasons.
1. Hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful throughout my 3 week stay.
2. My room was comfortable and cleaned every day.
3.Meals contained vey wide choices - breakfasts were always hot, for a change - starters were imaginative and varied.
However, as usual, I had a few reservations.
1. Evening main course meals did not have enough carvery for my liking - I missed my steak/beef being carved.
2. I had expected satellite TV with wide selection - English channels were very few, and the quality of picture was not up to standard. Therefore, I watched TV in the lobby and bar - choice here depended on other people present !!!!!!!
3. Entertainment was sparce - some available at evening meal time. Nothing at night later on, and I missed having an adult dance etc. I think hotels could keep each other informed about the choice of entertainment available in their respective establishments.

Sincerely hope this report is received in the same manner, as it is given here.
Overall, the holiday was 'the best yet' !!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Sliema is one of the best locations for a short stay in Malta. I'm happy I chose the Diplomat for my stay there - it's on the waterfront, near key facilities and offers value for money, reliable service. I like a good hotel breakfast and it's something you get there as well as a good dinner served by friendly staff (Mr. Ian was especially professional). I recommend the place. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tothbela2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Reviewed by: A & F, Wiltshire

My husband and I had a most enjoyable holiday in Malta and we are pleased we chose The Diplomat Hotel for our two weeks stay. We were made welcome, staffs were friendly and helpful. The hotel food was to our liking, we had a large bedroom which was comfortable and spotless; as were the other amenities, e.g. restaurant, coffee bar, public rooms and the reception area. The hotel location is excellent: bus stops close by, short walk to main shopping area and a lovely promenade on which to enjoy a leisurely stroll.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AandF-Wiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This was my first visit to Malta and the Diplomat Hotel was a perfect base for exploring, situated just by the sea front and with good access to local public transport to other parts of the island.

I did not use the restaurant for evening meals. However, the breakfast was very good with a wide choice of food.

The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful especially when I had a minor medical emergency directing me to the nearest medical services and ensuring that I was comfortable upon my return.

My room was of a good size and always kept clean and tidy. Great value for money. I would definitely return when I next go back to Malta.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed April 2013,staff all,are very pleasant,cheerful friendly and helpful.Bedrooms are clean with comfortable beds but rather small,rooms with sea view look out to sea over Tower Road the main street and the wide walkway.Shops and restaurants short walk away.Shame that there is no "lounge"area in the hotel just a small bar sitting area.The rooftop pool is clean with free loungers.Food was good,plentiful with extensive breakfast buffet to suit all tastes.Dinner menu is limited but quite good. Do not hire a car as the wardens are ruthless and appear to target hire cars,distinctive number plates with unpaid fines collected on departure at the airport or you can't leave! Overall good hotel would return>

Room Tip: Upper floor, full sea view,non smoking rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbour63643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.3 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#8 of 28 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,005 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,322 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.3 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.7 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diplomat Hotel Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Hotel Malta

Property: Diplomat Hotel Malta
Address: 173, Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta 1609, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Diplomat Hotel Malta 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diplomat Hotel is situated on Tower Road prestigious seaside promenade in the heart of Sliema, well known for its extensive range of activities. The main bus route to Valletta, the capital city, Paceville/St.Julian's etc runs outside the hotel.In front of The Diplomat Hotel, just below the promenade, a pleasant rocky beach is ideal for sun bathing, swimming and practising water sports. A sandy beach is within walking distance.Theme bars and restaurants, shopping malls, designers boutiques and the Dragonara Casino are available nearby. The rooms have FREE Wi-Fi, satellite TV, air conditioning and a tea/coffee making facilities. Rooms full or lateral sea views. Room Service is available from 0630 till 0130The Hotel has recently undertaken refurbishment of the majority of the hotel rooms and bathrooms, lifts and reception/lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diplomat Hotel Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Malta Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing