We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Definitely Recommended”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just returned from 11 nights at The Diplomat (part work, part leisure). I would certainly recommend it, especially for the following reasons: location; sea views; price; transport links; friendly staff; cleanliness; gym.

Having travelled through most of Malta, I think the Diplomat is the best located hotel on the island. It is on the seafront in the upmarket Sliema district, close to Valletta, but without the city crowds or heavy traffic. There are places to eat and drink within a few hundred metres, but it is not a heavily commercialised location. The seafront promenade is probably the best in Malta.

My room (with sea view) was excellent value for money. Road noise was noticeable with the balcony door open, so rooms higher up the building are better. Ask for floors 5, 6 or 7. (Rooms without sea view will be quieter.)

There are plenty of buses on the road outside. They go directly to Valletta and the Airport. Buses are also very inexpensive (possibly the cheapest in Europe), although the prices will probably rise in 2015 when a private company takes over the island bus network. Don't even think of renting a car (unless you have money to burn and enjoy the challenge of finding parking spaces). The buses are often crowded, so either wait for the next bus (a few minutes), or learn how to work your way towards the back, where empty seats will emerge.

Almost all the staff at The Diplomat, especially the women, were helpful and friendly. Sometimes the female staff seemed overworked. The male staff, however, were perhaps a little less service-oriented and had a more leisurely attitude to their jobs. This may be a 'cultural' difference, not specific to this hotel.

The hotel was very clean. This is also true of Malta in general.

The gym facilities were good and hardly used by any residents. A great way to start the day!

Some improvements (which may increase the price) would include: better TV channels; better bedding; a better ironing board on the 5th floor!; better food (although the desserts are excellent); some investment and upgrading of the building, which is at least 30 years old. However, generally it is a well maintained hotel and everything worked.

Here is my response to some other reviews on this web site: I thought I had a good nose, but I did not detect the 'sewage' smells mentioned by a previous reviewer, although I was staying there at exactly the same time. Also, the pool area on the hotel roof is closed until the summer months, so it's appearance in March should not be part of the hotel review. I'm sure it will be cleaned before it opens!

I will return to The Diplomat and pay a little extra for a sea view.

Room Tip: Sea views are worth paying extra for. Higher floors (5-7) reduce the road noise when the balcony do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    338
    274
    116
    58
See reviews for
115
461
108
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sliema, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We booked a week half board at this hotel with a sea view room included. First impressions were OK but it doesn't really have the appeal of the photographs on their web site. The room we were given for our first night was a side room with a view on the building next door. When we complained we were given what we had paid for, offered one free lunch and a safe key for the week as compensation.

Reception staff are terse but polite. The food is reasonable for the price and the restaurant staff very accommodating. Beds are comfortable but they don't seem to have grasped the concept of fitted sheets or mattress protectors and as a consequence by the morning my bed was a pile of crumpled sheets. Swimming pool was closed all week which may be a blessing because it wasn't very clean or appealing.

The worst aspect by far with this hotel is that the lift shafts and corridors smell of raw sewage. When I mentioned this to the hotel manager he told me there is nothing he can do about it and it is the fault of the Maltese government. It's amazing how quickly someone's problem can be blamed on someone else. I pointed out that since this is his hotel he has a duty of care to remedy a problem that allows the stench of raw sewage entering his guests accommodation and the adjoining passageways and lift shafts. This was just dismissed with a shrug of the shoulders so I will leave you to draw your own conclusion about their attitude to customer satisfaction.

As an adjunct, my wife invested in a bottle Frebreeze in an attempt to remove the sewage odours. If you're brave (or daft) enough to use this hotel, might I suggest that you come armed with the same.

Room Tip: You need to book a room with a sea view because this hotel is wide at the front and narrow at the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank British-Gentleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sliema hotels

Devizes
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Very comfortable stay. Good-sized rooms, well cared for and clean. Breakfasts well laid out and the service was excellent. Very convenient for bus services - to Valetta and to Mdina. Sauna in the basement and swimming pool on roof.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I stayed at the hotel with a friend whilst visiting Malta. It is a nice hotel, they have good sized rooms, clean and tidy. The room had a television, a fridge and a mini bar. The bathroom was nice and spacious too. The staff at the hotel were helpful easy to contact. The hotel also had a 'library' which consisted of some books and two computers. The hotel also had a little restaurant which we usually ate breakfast and dinner. There was a variety of food to choose from for breakfast and dinner. The location of the hotel was great as it was located near the beach, few minutes away from shops and restaurants as well as bus stops. We usually took the bus to travel around Malta and this was great. I would recommend this hotel. Good value for money and the location is great!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaazia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Located alongside the seafront at Sliema, the hotel has all facilities needed for a good stay. Room was very clean with excellent facilities except for TV channels - which were not as advertised in the hotel brochure, but you don't go to Malta to watch TV! Location excellent for cheap Malta buses which are appallingly crowded. Also good for local restaurants and bars if needed. The hotel bar is basic and painfully forever showing TV football; the coffee shop is friendly; the restaurant is buffet style. Breakfast can look rather unappetising because of the presentation, but there's plenty of it and all catered for. Evening meals vary enormously from basic but good to surprisingly tasteful. It was quiet in March and I wouldn't look forward to the hot months in Malta. Overall a very good hotel to suit a budget.

Room Tip: sea front facing is best - but most rooms don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim_lincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sliema, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed at the Diplomat for almost 4 weeks after a cancer treatment, and already before my stay I was exceptional happy with the fast responses, the girl Grazielle in the sales department, seems like she were replying/working around the clock.

The hotel is old, and worned, but the friendly faces in the reception makes up for it. Plus the location is very good.

The room was a ok size, and like the rest of the hotel old, but it worked splendid for me. There is mostly older people on the hotel, what was fine for me, because that gave me the gym more or less for myself. The gym was ok, and a fine size for me:)

The breakfast buffet again was good. Nothing stunning, but better than most hotel to that price, and the waiters there, really work fast but still manage to smile and be very friendly. After almost 4 weeks, I enjoyed to get the "hallo sweetie" from the nice smiley black-haired female waiter.

The big minus is the cafe to the diplomat, there could be so great, and were probably the worst service I have had in my 6 years in Malta. One of the waiters was sneak smoking in the fire stairs what I find extremely disgusting, and when he was around he spend more time talking with the ladies, then service the 3-6 people there was in the cafe. The other one, twice found it more important to finish the tv he was watching than servicing us. With the location of this cafe, it could really be a cool place to be, now instead is almost a joke. It annoys be alittle, because all the other people at the hotel, is smiley, fast and efficient, and then is dragged down.

The wifi, there is free only works some places, what was a bit annoying, so maybe routers on each floor?:)

Personally I think the hotel is more like a 3 star than a 4 star, but the price was so good, and very good value for money - as long as one don't use the cafe.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank youngpeteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This was our first visit to Malta and so we stayed only one week to have a look around the island and Gozo. We selected the Diplomat because its location gave us easy walking access to the sea front and then to St Julians, Sliema centre, etc. We could not have chosen better. The diplomat is a smallish, cosy, intimate and very friendly hotel. The staff, especially in the kitchen and dining room are so very friendly and pleasant. We found the food homely, delicious and plentiful in good variety , and at dinner the chef always ready to discuss his dishes. Our room overlooked the side street and so lacked a certain amount of light but we had decided not to pay extra for a sea view as we didn't want to spend time in the room gazing at the sea. We had no regrets because 15 metres over the main road, via a very handy pedestrian crossing, we could sit on a promenade bench to see the whole front and breathe the lovely sea air to our hearts' content. So we were happy with our room with a comfortable bed and very adequate bathroom all of which were kept very clean. We found Malta a delightful and interesting place and we will certainly go back - and to the same hotel.
John and Jane

Room Tip: We can't help much with this because we didn't look at any other rooms but the seafront room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,073 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,941 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diplomat Hotel Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Hotel Malta

Property: Diplomat Hotel Malta
Address: 173, Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta 1609, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Diplomat Hotel Malta 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diplomat Hotel is situated on Tower Road prestigious seaside promenade in the heart of Sliema, well known for its extensive range of activities. The main bus route to Valletta, the capital city, Paceville/St.Julian's etc runs outside the hotel.In front of The Diplomat Hotel, just below the promenade, a pleasant rocky beach is ideal for sun bathing, swimming and practising water sports. A sandy beach is within walking distance.Theme bars and restaurants, shopping malls, designers boutiques and the Dragonara Casino are available nearby. The rooms have FREE Wi-Fi, satellite TV, air conditioning and a tea/coffee making facilities. Rooms full or lateral sea views. Room Service is available from 0630 till 0130The Hotel has recently undertaken refurbishment of the majority of the hotel rooms and bathrooms, lifts and reception/lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Diplomat Hotel Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Malta Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing