We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed 28 May 2014

There are only two good things about this hotel. The wonderful staff who do there very best for you, and the location. Our room 214 although a little dated was clean, but linen seemed old and gray. Our side view balcony was very small and the window of the next room was very dirty with an enormous crack in it, dread to think what would happen if it fell out. the early morning noise outside was awful the necessary refuge collection, laundry van playing loud music and a skip being delivered. worst of all early hours the sound of suitcase wheels of guests who had arrived to find no room, being escorted elsewhere.Met eight of them. Was not told of deal for BB guests wishing to eat dinner, later resolved by manager. Based on what we paid for this holiday requested a meeting with the diplomats office in Sliema. Was told linen was only three months old, advertised entertainment was arranged by Saga for Saga guests(no disrespect intended) was offered another room but declined room. told him this was not a 4* hotel he rolled his eyes and declined to comment. A very condescending man. The staff have my full respect, but the owners have none for their paying guests. Met very nice people which made up for the dissapointing stay.

Room Tip: do not book second floor side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (989)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 989 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had a wonderful 10 night stay in this hotel in May 2014. Whilst it is certainly not a 4 star property the value for money, good clean rooms and superb position make it an excellent choice in Malta. We were able to walk to many restaurants and shops and used the excellent hop on hop off buses to explore the island and learn about its incredible history. The hotel caters for the mature traveler with most of the rooms filled by elderly British retirees on a half board basis - not a hotel for young singles! Service levels were excellent particularly in the restaurant where Evelyn was a joy, and the pub bar upstairs provided many enjoyable after dinner drinks and conversations.

Room Tip: Avoid 7th floor rooms in middle of hotel to avoid pool filter electric motor noise. Also confirm yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adelaideview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Can not say anything negative about this hotel, we found the rooms comfortable clean plenty of hot water. Bed covers and curtains were a little dated and tired but clean. The beds were really comfortable and pillows too were very comfy. We had only just arrived at reception after a long early morning travelling and the barman brought us over a glass of ice cold lemon tea while we were booking in. The staff were very nice from reception to dining room staff in particular Evelyn and Ian. The Diplomat is situated in a really good area, near to a bus stop a beach opposite (rocks) I would recommend the Diplomat to my friends and I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We were in room 516 with a side view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grace05merseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Just spent 9 days at the Diplomat and was very pleased with the Hotel. The rooms are a little dated but very clean and comfortable, the roof top pool is small but we found it ideal for a mid day dip.
The breakfasts were excellent with a good selection of hot/cold, the evening meal was fine, it wont win any awards but there is plenty of choice and although it didn't always look very good it did taste good and there was plenty of choice even for a fussy eater like myself. The restaurant staff are lovely and very helpful, in particular Evelyn (waitress) and Ian (Chef).
The Diplomat is situated in a very quiet area yet you are only a short walk away from the busier built up areas which we liked and there is a bus stop a few yards away so easy for transport around the island. The buses do get very packed but they are very cheap costing just 1.50euro for a day ticket or 6.50euro for a weekly ticket. We found the Diplomat an excellent base to explore the Island, we would definitely stay at the Diplomat again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel at the end of April (Saga Holiday). The room was very comfortable with view to the promenade and the sea. The Saga brochure did not point out that the hotel had a swimming pool which we found out by chance, re-opened the week we were there. We found the staff to be very friendly. The restaurant (self service) was located in the basement and was tastefully decorated. There was plenty of choice, I was also supplied with Soya Milk as requested. Sometimes some of the food was not quite hot enough, but this was seen to and rectified. Two of the waitresses, Evelyn & Agatha were particularly friendly and helpful. Wine was free with our meals, this was housewine and perfectly drinkable. Also Ian, one of the chefs who was helpful with pointing out new dishes and specialities - We liked the location of the hotel as it was just outside the centre of Sliema and not far from St. Julians Bay, both accessable by foot if you felt so inclined. There are also plenty of buses, which run frequently and are cheap. 6.50 Euros for a weekly pass. We will be happy to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the front of the hotel to have a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catharina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I have had problem in my credit card when I booked in this hotel, They have overcharged my credit card and had several communications with them to get refund till now the amount not credited to my credit card

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Talams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We have just returned from a weeks B+B. Booked this hotel on recommendation,
so sorry we did. Booked a room with a sea view. Room very dated and in need of a lot of TLC. House keeping very poor, I would not let my dog lie on the rug by the side of the bed. Breakfast was awful. under cooked cold eggs, under cooked greasy cold bacon. Its only redeeming feature was the staff in the dining room and the sea view, which came at extra cost.

Room Tip: Not a Hotel I would recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John5202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.3 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,156 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,513 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.7 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 28 in Sliema
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diplomat Hotel Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Hotel Malta

Address: 173, Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta 1609, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £36 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Diplomat Hotel Malta 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diplomat Hotel is situated on Tower Road prestigious seaside promenade in the heart of Sliema, well known for its extensive range of activities. The main bus route to Valletta, the capital city, Paceville/St.Julian's etc runs outside the hotel.In front of The Diplomat Hotel, just below the promenade, a pleasant rocky beach is ideal for sun bathing, swimming and practising water sports. A sandy beach is within walking distance.Theme bars and restaurants, shopping malls, designers boutiques and the Dragonara Casino are available nearby. The rooms have FREE Wi-Fi, satellite TV, air conditioning and a tea/coffee making facilities. Rooms full or lateral sea views. Room Service is available from 0630 till 0130The Hotel has recently undertaken refurbishment of the majority of the hotel rooms and bathrooms, lifts and reception/lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Diplomat Hotel Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Malta Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing