We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at the Diplomat and was not disappointed. From start to finish the staff were amazing and very friendly. Rooms were imaculate and kept to a very high standard throughout my stay. Free wifi, which was accessible at a touch. I look forward to staying here again in the near future.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (988)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 989 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

We've been there for a week and are very happy about it. It's not close to the restaurants but a short walk and you're there. The hotel staff was very helpful and very kind. One young guy at the reception in particular helped us a lot.
The only downside is the breakfast quality: the cappuccino from a vending machine was awful. We went out to a local cafe to have breakfast the next days.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank femurat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

It was the worst experience in my life. I booked a sea view room for 6 days of my holidays, and was put to 'the other building view' room. It was obviously a blackmail, because they have very few of a sea view rooms, all other rooms are on narrow street, claustrophobic.
Rooms are barely 3 stars, budget, but rudeness of a staff and a cheating policy of the hotel are outrageous (that was not the case in other Maltese hotels).
I left after one night, beware of that hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Adriana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I visited this hotel as part of large student group in June 2013. Firstly the locations is great, on the beach front, around a 15 minute walk to the ferries which cross over to Valletta. There are also some lovely restaurants along the beach front. The hotel itself has a nice lobby and 2 main lifts. My room was reasonably small for the 3 of us staying there, however when visiting friends rooms they had much larger rooms. The rooms themselves are nice, clean and comfortable and the air conditioning worked well. The only disruption to sleep in the inevitable noise of Malta's many building sites. The bathroom was fine, could have been a little larger. We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel both where reasonably, the entertainment was also good fun. The hotel accommodated us brilliantly considering that there was a large group of us we were able to use their conference rooms and other facilities. The wifi was good, it didn't work all the time but this was due to so many of us using it at the same time. On our last morning we left early and the staff had laid out a takeaway breakfast for us including orange juice and croissants this was really appreciated due the early hour. Over all we had a fantastic trip, a lovely reasonably priced hotel in a great locations with very accommodating staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katrinamoysey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

There are only two good things about this hotel. The wonderful staff who do there very best for you, and the location. Our room 214 although a little dated was clean, but linen seemed old and gray. Our side view balcony was very small and the window of the next room was very dirty with an enormous crack in it, dread to think what would happen if it fell out. the early morning noise outside was awful the necessary refuge collection, laundry van playing loud music and a skip being delivered. worst of all early hours the sound of suitcase wheels of guests who had arrived to find no room, being escorted elsewhere.Met eight of them. Was not told of deal for BB guests wishing to eat dinner, later resolved by manager. Based on what we paid for this holiday requested a meeting with the diplomats office in Sliema. Was told linen was only three months old, advertised entertainment was arranged by Saga for Saga guests(no disrespect intended) was offered another room but declined room. told him this was not a 4* hotel he rolled his eyes and declined to comment. A very condescending man. The staff have my full respect, but the owners have none for their paying guests. Met very nice people which made up for the dissapointing stay.

Room Tip: do not book second floor side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had a wonderful 10 night stay in this hotel in May 2014. Whilst it is certainly not a 4 star property the value for money, good clean rooms and superb position make it an excellent choice in Malta. We were able to walk to many restaurants and shops and used the excellent hop on hop off buses to explore the island and learn about its incredible history. The hotel caters for the mature traveler with most of the rooms filled by elderly British retirees on a half board basis - not a hotel for young singles! Service levels were excellent particularly in the restaurant where Evelyn was a joy, and the pub bar upstairs provided many enjoyable after dinner drinks and conversations.

Room Tip: Avoid 7th floor rooms in middle of hotel to avoid pool filter electric motor noise. Also confirm yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adelaideview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Can not say anything negative about this hotel, we found the rooms comfortable clean plenty of hot water. Bed covers and curtains were a little dated and tired but clean. The beds were really comfortable and pillows too were very comfy. We had only just arrived at reception after a long early morning travelling and the barman brought us over a glass of ice cold lemon tea while we were booking in. The staff were very nice from reception to dining room staff in particular Evelyn and Ian. The Diplomat is situated in a really good area, near to a bus stop a beach opposite (rocks) I would recommend the Diplomat to my friends and I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We were in room 516 with a side view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grace05merseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.3 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,156 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,513 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.7 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 28 in Sliema
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diplomat Hotel Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Hotel Malta

Address: 173, Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta 1609, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £36 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Diplomat Hotel Malta 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diplomat Hotel is situated on Tower Road prestigious seaside promenade in the heart of Sliema, well known for its extensive range of activities. The main bus route to Valletta, the capital city, Paceville/St.Julian's etc runs outside the hotel.In front of The Diplomat Hotel, just below the promenade, a pleasant rocky beach is ideal for sun bathing, swimming and practising water sports. A sandy beach is within walking distance.Theme bars and restaurants, shopping malls, designers boutiques and the Dragonara Casino are available nearby. The rooms have FREE Wi-Fi, satellite TV, air conditioning and a tea/coffee making facilities. Rooms full or lateral sea views. Room Service is available from 0630 till 0130The Hotel has recently undertaken refurbishment of the majority of the hotel rooms and bathrooms, lifts and reception/lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Diplomat Hotel Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Malta Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing