We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean,freindly and only to pleased to help.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed 29 August 2009

Just spent two lovely weeks at the Diplomat,great breakfast, nice quiet pool area, was like our own private pool at times we were able to swim until 11pm if we wished, great views of the Med from the roof terrace, pea cakes from the reception bar a must,also coconut ice in the shell. Room and public area's spotless air con in room quiet and efficient, will be retuning for sure.
Thanks for a great holiday Diplomat.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snoopk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (987)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 988 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2009

We had our daughter and three teenagers with us on this holiday, I must tell you that
all of the staff at the Diplomat surpassed our expectations, everyone was so kind and
looked after us all very well. The manager I believe his name is Redmond and also
the assistant sales manager Maricia assisted us in every way possible. Sliema is
a beautiful area and the sea is just across the street from the hotel, the pool was very
refreshing and the bar tenders were excellent. Transportation was very close and it
lead to all areas, especially to the capital Valetta where we spent some time shopping
overall our stay was very memorable, and we would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gorman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

The Diplomat Hotel is a nice hotel however I'm not sure it was worth the cost. We paid a fair bit as we wanted a room with a sea view, however, we were a little disappointed as there was a bit of a smell in the corridors and our shower curtain kept falling and we were asked to not hang our towels on the balcony. We could have had a side sea view for practically half the cost and that would have been worth the money. However, overall, the room was fine for us, the service was good, the breakfast was good, so no major complaints. Only that they had one REALLY OLD computer and there were a lot of people wanting to use it. So unless you had your own laptop and Wi-Fi you had to spend a lot of time waiting. Location was ok, a short walk to St Julians and a short bus ride to Valletta. Regular buses made it very easy to reach anywhere from the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WantMoreHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

We'd heard wonderful reviews about this hotel and we weren't disappointed. The room was spotless and most comfortable; large beds, bath and shower, tv. The air conditioning on low was quiet enough to have on all night (it was exceptionally hot when we went).

The hotel was handy for both Sliema (and the ferries) and St Julian's. The buses stop near enough outside.

There was plenty of choice at breakfast (cereals, cooked, cheese and ham, breads and cakes, fruit) although I was disappointed that there was no traditional Maltese bread (hobz) which I absolutely adore.

The staff were attentive and friendly (Magda - I think she was called - in particular)

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TuscanHoneymooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

On behalf of the Forum Zghazagh Laburisti (FZL) we would like to thank the welcoming and helpful staff at the Diplomat Hotel for the excellent service during our seminar "YOUromed take the Platform - Place and Role of youths in the Union for the Mediterranean" organised in the Hotel between the 5-11 July 2009.

Facilities, rooms, food were just superb.
We would definitely recommend this hotel. We also look forward to be returning cunstomers.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gfnaudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

Hi Noel, Marika, Jason and all at the Diplomat hotel.

Good day.

We wish to thank you sincerely for the nice hospitality that you have offered to us last Saturday.

Thank you very much for the excellent organization of my son Nicholai's First Holy Communion party, all of us were very happy especially my son.

Nice place, good food, good service and nevertheless nice staff. Thanks Noel and the waiters, Jason and Marika.

C.U.
Best Regards
Renald and Carmen Falzon

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RenaldQormi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2009

I visit Malta at least once a year for business and often stay in Sliema. This was the first time I have tried the Diplomat and I won't be going back there.

Nothing expceptionally bad about the hotel but there are many better options around the same price in the same location.

I would rate the Diplomat as a somewhat tired 3 star hotel, no way 4 star.

Some staff were friendly others were pretty unhelpful. Breakfast was poor and I am really surprised at some of the reviews on here praising the food. The coffee and juice came out of machines and was undrinkable. They do have decent coffee available but they charge extra for it.

In fact the hotel wanted to charge extra for everything. For example when I booked I asked about wifi access and they said it was included, when I got there they tried to charge 80 Euro for 7 days access to their unsecure network which only worked about 40% of the time I tried to use it.

Want to use their beach facility, just use it, if you ask at reception they will try to charge you extra. If you want to use the Sauna you will have to pay extra and find someone to switch it on for you.

Good points were the location, the generous size of the room and the pool on the roof.

As others have mentioned the rooms which have 'side sea view' have a direct view of an apartment building across the street. If you step out onto the very small balcony and turn 90 degrees you can then see the sea.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sam66Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.3 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,154 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,511 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.7 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 28 in Sliema
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diplomat Hotel Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Hotel Malta

Address: 173, Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta 1609, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £36 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Diplomat Hotel Malta 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diplomat Hotel is situated on Tower Road prestigious seaside promenade in the heart of Sliema, well known for its extensive range of activities. The main bus route to Valletta, the capital city, Paceville/St.Julian's etc runs outside the hotel.In front of The Diplomat Hotel, just below the promenade, a pleasant rocky beach is ideal for sun bathing, swimming and practising water sports. A sandy beach is within walking distance.Theme bars and restaurants, shopping malls, designers boutiques and the Dragonara Casino are available nearby. The rooms have FREE Wi-Fi, satellite TV, air conditioning and a tea/coffee making facilities. Rooms full or lateral sea views. Room Service is available from 0630 till 0130The Hotel has recently undertaken refurbishment of the majority of the hotel rooms and bathrooms, lifts and reception/lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Diplomat Hotel Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Malta Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing