We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian restaurant in Sliema.”
Review of La Cuccagna

La Cuccagna
Ranked #39 of 190 Restaurants in Sliema
Price range: US$13 - US$19
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Pamplona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Italian restaurant in Sliema.”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

You can find a lot variety of pizza and pasta dishes. I ate a Marinara pizza. The pizza was good a had a huge variety of mussels, octopus, prawns. Prices are competitive. Good option.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miki_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    185
    51
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wanted to love this place..”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

It seemed to have all the makings for my new favorite restaurant: Gluten free pizza, gluten free beer, reasonable prices, low-key atmosphere. Unfortunately, the gluten free offering just isn't very tasty. I wanted so badly to like it here after all the good reviews, we even went back a second time. But alas, it was not to be. GF pizza crust tasted like the pre-packaged kind and the GF pasta was uninspiring at best, with inedible uncooked pasta clumps thrown in. The beer was lovely. So sad to write a negative review, but felt I should be honest for the sake of the celiac crowd seeking this place out especially...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hportia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm welcome, lovely food”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Ate here a couple of times last week (would have been 3, but they are closed on Mondays!) and loved the food. Great portion sizes, without being too much, and well priced. Recommend wild boar ragu linguine if on the specials, spaghetti pescatore and the pizzas! The fried goat's cheese starter was also a hit! Gets busy after 8.30 and was full with people waiting both nights we went. (We arrived 7.30 on the Saturday night as they don't take bookings on that night and we were told we could be guaranteed a table at that time which we were). Majority of customers seemed to be locals/regulars.

Helpful?
Thank emken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaukkala, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best place in Sliema”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We lived in an apartment upstairs and ate there twice. Excellent pizzas! Light, crusty and full of flavors. I recommend this to anyone. Mind you, it's a small place so it is wise to make a reservation

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tarjia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Best meal in Malta”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Malta was disappointing for food but this was the best. Four of us and child had a three course with two bottles of wine for about 130 euros. By the way we all liked the Maltese wine, it had an unique lemony flavour. The banoffee pie was a highlight. They also gave the child a a gift, nice touch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank corkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cuccagna also viewed

Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 
Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 

Been to La Cuccagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing