We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chris & Sheila Wolves”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
wolverhampton
2 reviews
“Chris & Sheila Wolves”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stay for week, half board, the hotel was prfect for all the amenities, the staff in reception wea very friendley and helpful at all times, the room with a sea view and balconey was very nice, and clean, it was a pleasure to sit and relax on the balconey and watch the boats go by,the tritan resturant were breakfast and evening meal was severed had a good choice and variety off food, we found the staff very friendley and helpful at all times, for our first visit to malta we could have not picked abetter place to stay and look forward to returning again for alonger stay next time

Room Tip: pick a room with balconey &sea view worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    820
    507
    209
    112
See reviews for
379
966
181
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I would not call this a 4 star hotel. Although public areas were acceptable, the room I had was outdated, smelt of stale smoke, had a horrible view (OK I didnt pay for a sea view), there was mould around the bath, the TV did not work and I was generally dissapointed. I think the hotel's website is misleading and makes it look a lot nicer than it is. As a result I decided to do more sightseeing than staying around the hotel relaxing and had a really great holiday, but if I had known this I would have gone for a much cheaper hotel in the first place!

Good points:
Location - great for sightseeing. Close to shops, tours, sea front etc. There is a lot to see in Malta!
If you are into evening entertainment and socialising within the hotel there seemed to be plenty of opportunities (for the 50+ market I would say, and clientele mostly german package tourists).

Bad points:
The sun deck level overlooked a building site which is great if you fancy a "diet coke break", ladies(!) but not if you mind a crane swinging above your head. Inevitably noisy as a result.
You have to pay extra to use the gym. Cheeky I feel.
The staff are not very helpful and generally seemed discontented. It took me half an hour to find my room as they did not direct me plus I overheard chambermaids complaining to guests about having to work too hard and breakfast waitresses sullen.
The breakfast is mediocre for a buffet breakfast. Plenty of it and choice, but coffee HORRIBLE (from a vending machine - eugh!!) and the breakfast room crowded at all times during breakfast service.
The hotel rooms and some other areas are generally tired and outdated.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctytherleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sliema hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2011

we stayed for a week on b&b terms.Room and balcony was large,beds reasonably comfortable,tables and chairs were really way past their use by date.Good view of the sea and the busy Tower Road outside the Hotel.Noisy when balcony doors open.A/c worked well.Ok for 3 star but they say 4 star.NOT general European 4 star standards.Good canteen type breakfast.Handy for transport and shops.Friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyfaces186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and found it to be a great place to stay in Malta.
Staff were excellent, helpful in any way, friendly and could all speak english.
Room was a good size with balconey so I could sit out there at dusk and in mornings looking at the ocean. Breakfast was included in price and had a wide selection and food in the restaurant was great. Free WIFI and staff at front desk will print off your boarding passes etc.
I had a few minor issues with the room and could not believe when I returned the next day from my trip all the items were fixed, this shows that the hotel think very highly of there guests.
Within walking distance to shopping area and wharf were all ferries depart.
It was a very pleasant stay and when I travel to Malta again I will stay at this hotel

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomoPortHedland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

My wife and I have stayed at The Preluna several times over a number of years. I was the President of the club during 2011 so I decided that I would like to bring a party of Rotarians. What a wonderful choice, the Hotel and all the staff were excellent, so much so that my wife and I came back again in August.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

This is the fourth time that we have stayed at the Preluna, to find that it continued to be
value for money, we found the staff to as allways friendly and helpful, the room was clean and
well serviced.
A new dinning venue on the 13th floor cooked for you while you take in the sea view, great
you must try it.
The pool staff again friendly and happy it helped to make for very enjoyable stay.

And we had the chance to view your views about the hotel with a very nice young lady,
and was rewarded with a nice glass of the local wine.

Room Tip: pick a room with a sea view to get the morning sun, (GREAT)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david_kear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

As a couple, because of a family wedding on the Island. We chose Preluna, because of the spa facilities for some wellness and because it was less noisier located than the Meridien, Hilton and other big names. They are all in St. Julians, thus this hotel was just a fraction less expensive.


Location is nice. The outside pool facilities are great. Spa facilities are great as well.

Price/Quality is very bad. The hotel should be half of the price per night. The Hotel has its stars because of the fact that it has it all: pool restaurant, superior sea view rooms, etc etc. but the rooms are in a very bad shape. The balconies are great with sea view, but the doors won't close. Most of the rooms stink like smoke and the airco has a lot of fungus around it and smell of algae comes out.


Quality of food is terrible, we even skipped Breakfast. Cockroaches in the restaurant. Nothing fresh!

The Onside Japanese restaurant was great and we went there for breakfast everyday. So Do not book a room with breakfast (if you want to stay there anyway), but get breakfast in the restaurant next door.

Great restaurants in the area: T'a Kolina and a small place one block away for Maltese food. Beautiful Rabbit stew.

Best place was the U Bistrot just underneath the Meridien. Marvellous chef and great food as well as service. Only one night they were understaffed, but we had already gone there 3 nights before, so we knew the quality. Barracuda restaurant is praised all over, but was very inferior compared to the U Bistrot, only location of Barracuda is great. starter, wines and service great there, but the main courses were very very bad.

Go U Bistrot!

Room Tip: If you choose to stay here, then get a sea view room, otherwise you will be in a room as if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,431 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,965 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fortina Spa Resort
Fortina Spa Resort
#9 of 28 in Sliema
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 28 in Sliema
1,223 reviews
0.6 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preluna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preluna Hotel & Spa

Property: Preluna Hotel & Spa
Address: 124, Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta 1000, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Preluna Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Sliema’s seafront, Malta’s Preluna Hotel & Spa features 3 restaurants, a spa, and a private beach. The spectacular Penthouse Lounge on the rooftop is open all day. The spacious rooms have views of the city or the Mediterranean Sea.All rooms at the Preluna are air-conditioned and feature a tea/coffee maker, a satellite TV, and a private bathroom with bath and shower. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.The well-equipped private beach features a large swimming pool, a kid’s pool, and a bar and grill. A diving school is available and a huge variety of water sports can be practised.The spa includes an indoor swimming pool with 2 large hot tubs, and a wide range of fitness and relaxation facilities. Hot tubs are also available on Preluna’s stunning roof terrace, which also features a mini-golf course.The restaurants are open for lunch and dinner. One offers a varied buffet, and the other 2 specialise in Italian and Japanese cuisine. A free Flavours of Malta dancing evening is arranged weekly, ideal to sample Maltese foods, wines and liqueurs, and learn about the local heritage and traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Preluna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preluna Hotel And Spa
Preluna Hotel Malta
Preluna Malta
Hotel Malta Preluna
Preluna Hotel Sliema
Preluna Hotel & Spa Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing