We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“happy holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“happy holiday”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

cant wait to go back,had 3 wk 27oct till 17 nov,had a brill time.john late night reception on are arrival was smiling and helpful, and gave us orange juice and took us to our room. we later swapped rooms for a sea view on the 5 floor,edwina was our maid, what a friendly lovely lady always took the time to talk,room was always clean,you new when edwina had done your room.anthony and vincent are the hotels ambassedors behind the lobby bar,bibby and restaurent staff / chefs and managers always greeted you and took the time to talk. breakfast was good and if you asked chef he would make you an ommlet if asked,worth the wait. nadeine customer relations at night takes on board your comments,so much so that the hotel now provides english movie channel besides news and fox talk,what a difference this makes,we can only thank the management for listening,it is a bonus for those on long stays.the skyroom is a good place to read in the afternoon,the bar opens 2.30 and little carmen is lovely to talk to. it is the staff who make the hotel and make you want to return as you leave as friends we met some interesting people on our stay,if you dont want to be friendly dont stay here. thanks preluna staff see you next time. rita and stan

Room Tip: higher floor if not a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank riorita23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    783
    483
    197
    109
See reviews for
355
923
177
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We have stayed at this hotel many times, I have read some of the reviews and feel that some of them are grossly unfair; people should be more responsible in what they write. I am the sort of man who always complains if things are not right, but I can honestly say that we have never had any reason to complain and have never been disappointed. For me the hotel is the most important part of a holiday and the main reason that I would return. From arrival to departure all the staff were courteous and always willing to help, although there was little we had to ask for. They all spoke excellent English and couldn't do enough for you, like they really cared. The food was superb, always a good selection and freshly prepared. The room was always clean and I must say hand on heart that we always had a good night sleep even though we are both light sleepers.
The Preluna is situated in just about the best location in Sliema with superb sea-views. There was a mixed range of ages ranging from late twenties to the over sixties when we stayed there in June, this makes the hotel an ideal place to stay where one can relax without being annoyed by intoxicated youngsters.
I have recommended this hotel to all my closest friends; none of them have been disappointed and I have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone who is looking for a lovely place to stay

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MarioCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Not a 4 star as one would expect in UK. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was acceptable. Room and circulation areas in need of some tender loving care.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PORTSMOUTH
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

The hotel is in an excellent position, for getting around on foot, or public transport, for sightseeing. Also near to Valletta, which is a 'must' to visit (check out the wonderful view from the Upper Barracca gardens, and go inside St John's Co-Cathedral) It was our first time in Malta, we loved the history and relaxed atmosphere. We arrived at the hotel, and we were impressed by the lobby, which had a contemporary look. In fact, all of the public areas were nice and modern. The hotel management were kind enough to acknowledge our wedding annivesary, by giving us an upgrade to a tower room suite. It was spacious, with a separate living area, and a nice view from the balcony. Although the room was a bit tired, and in need of refurbishing (but adequate) The bed was a 'pull down from the wall' which was not the most comfortable we have slept on. Under the bed was a bit of a contraption, so you have to be careful not to catch your toes ! The air con wasn't that effective either. However, the hotel was kept very clean. We were there on an all inclusive basis, and the food was DELICIOUS !! The selection of food was reasonable. Enough to suit most people's needs. We have stayed at hotel's that offered more choice, but the quality was not as good. My husband and I, enjoyed nearly everything we eat (not so keen on some of the meat, didn't seem to have much flavour...not sure if it's boiled, rather than roasted ?) But overall very tasty food. The entertainment was limited, some acts good, some not so good. Tony is a talented singer, and he injects some fun into it too. Plus they have a very good pianist at the hotel. The hotel have a pool and bar, just across the road (you can get your all inclusive drinks there too) The sky lounge is lovely, which boasts wonderful views, from three sides. Malta's version of the empire state building !! We would stay at the hotel again. There is only one negative, be warned, there are time share vultures, operating from the hotel (they rent one of the floor's there) We personally, were not approached, but we heard quite a few sad accounts from other people. From what we could gather, you don't get touted in the hotel itself, but in the resort. We loved Malta, so much to see, and so easy to get around to see it. English is spoken and written, which helps to keep things simple ! The hop on / off buses are good. 15E for a day, which includes a brilliant harbour trip (taken another day if you wish). Local buses are only 2.60 for the day. Very good value. We loved Mdina, Valletta (which you can get to by road, or water bus / taxi from Sliema harbour) and a day trip to Gozo, was brilliant ! The locally run bar opposite the hotel is very friendly, with nice food, if you miss a meal time at the hotel. Overall, a fantastic holiday !

Room Tip: Probably worth upgrading to a tower room or suite. But to be fair, we didn't see a room in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOVEPRINCEANDTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

The hotel was advertised as a 4 star but Maltese 4 star is lower than UK rating I am sure. None-the-less overall the staff were friendly and the food for an “Inclusive deal” was acceptable on most days. Local wines and beers were good and the salads were also good from local sourcing.

The room was a little small but acceptable being clean and airy. View to sea was nice.

Building on Malta is everywhere and it’s very hard to avoid a building site or crane..

Small problems

(1) the room kettle did not work. Reported to desk staff and 24 hours later it was still unserviceable. Chatted to (Nadine) the Hotel liaison manager and it was fixed the next day.

(2) the tissue container fell off the wall but was replaced when the kettle was fixed.

Bigger problems.

(1) a hotel or something big, is under construction next to the Preluna. Keeping this in context, as above, it’s hard to avoid any building work on Malta at the moment.

It would have been nice for the hotel to place a warning about this on their website.

The site was noisy when we arrived but stopped work about 4.30 pm each day. Starting again about 7.30 in the morning.

(2) It would have been nice to have a choice of air conditioning in the room. A ceiling fan was okay but some nights it was too hot with the balcony door closed, and too noisy (sea crashing and traffic) with it open.

Thinking it was broken I reported it so, and was told it was turned of centrally.

Room Tip: Facing the sea is nice but noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtuerena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlton Colville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Arrived on the 18th October for one week all inclusive. After arriving at this hotel at 23.45 to be greeted be a member of staff talking to his friend moaning about having to work at night and being ignored for some time and then just saying "name" and throwing key card at us, we found our own way to our room.
(Did not pay extra for sea view, if you do stay here you must, unless all you want is a view of wall and no balcony.) Althought the room was adequate the view was of the adjacent wing not far away. Here was the first problem. The hotel is made up of three towers the middle one is being rebuilt. The inside being totally removed. We were awoken by building work before 7.
We then when to reception for safe key to be told if we had got it last we could have had the weekly rate as opposed to the now daily rate (being only six days now) which is more expensive then the week.
We paid and then went to breakfast which was good. (This remained good all week). We then went out for a coffee as there is only one bar to get any drink from and this does not open until after 10. We arrived back at the hotel for our welcome meeting at 10.45 when I went to use the toilet in the lobby and found someone had had an accident all over the floor, I reported this to a member of staff straight away. One hour later this has still not been cleaned up.
After speaking to the rep and one of the managers they moved our room to a slightly less noisy room and then moved us again the following day to an upgraded room. This room was lovely however, having to pack and unpack for the first three days is not ideal.
We also found that although there are three restaurants you can only use the Buffet (Sunday lunch is very nice), there is also an outside coffee bar but again it is not included. The pool bar was also closed and being taken down. The only place you could get a drink during the day was in the lobby with only one person on duty, who like all the staff appeared not to want to be there.
Althought the Rep (Thomas) and Manager (Bertrand) did everything they could to make the stay enjoyable you can not say the same for anyother member of staff at the hotel. From the moment we arrived to the time we left we kept saying to ourselves make the most of it but then something else happened to upset you.
There is another bar that is only open for a few hours in the afternoon and evening where you can get afternoon tea which would be lovely if only you could get service with a smile and receive what you ask for.
We were told by the Rep that we should have been informed that all building work in Malta takes place between October and April the following year and that is why the whole area is a building site. Beware of falling cement from a great height, we witnessed just to the right of the main enterance a very large piece just missing a young man. There after we always crossed over the road before going anywhere.
As everyone knows staff make or break hotels and at this hotel we would suggest that they could all do with a little "attitude adjustment" as the customer is the one paying for the holiday.
One day the maid even put the do not disturb sign on the outside of the door so she did not have to clean the room. (laughable if it was not true.) Sorry to say there are a lot more minor niggles, that mean, that I would not stay here again even if I was offered a free holiday.
Please feel free to email if you have any specific questions.

Room Tip: Must pay for sea view with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank romazlovescuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sliema hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

My most recent stay was my second time in the hotel - I think it has been taken over by a new operator since my last stay but not a whole lot has changed in the place other than a breakfast area is now in situ at ground floor level. I didn't bother with breakfast in the place so I cannot comment on that.

Ok, it's not a plush hotel by any stretch of the imagination and if it is indeed a 4-star hotel then this rating has been achieved on a technicality. If you wish to have a hotel to lounge around in then this is not the one for you. If you have a family then, again, this is not the hotel for you. If you are looking to impress your other half then, once more, this is not the hotel for you! However, if like me, you are looking for somewhere cheap (I booked through a local dive centre so I secured a very reasonable rate), clean and you do not intend to spend a whole lot of time in the place other than to crash at night then this place is ideal.

Looking at some of the more critical points in some other recent reviews, I would have to say that the most of the points raised are valid. Although, I was quite surprised at the costs quoted in one of the reviews because this was nowhere near what I paid - blame that on the tour operator. If I had have paid the rates quoted in the other review then my expectations would have been far higher and my subsequent review far more critical.

One problem I would have is security. It wouldn't take much effort to break into the room - therefore I never left any valuable items in my room.

Overall, cheap, clean and despite my security concern I did feel safe and I slept soundly. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was cleaned daily.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seagulls_Fan_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,318 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fortina Spa Resort
Fortina Spa Resort
#9 of 28 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
0.6 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Diplomat Hotel Malta
#11 of 28 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preluna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preluna Hotel & Spa

Property: Preluna Hotel & Spa
Address: 124, Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta 1000, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#3 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Preluna Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Sliema’s seafront, Malta’s Preluna Hotel & Spa features 3 restaurants, a spa, and a private beach. The spectacular Penthouse Lounge on the rooftop is open all day. The spacious rooms have views of the city or the Mediterranean Sea.All rooms at the Preluna are air-conditioned and feature a tea/coffee maker, a satellite TV, and a private bathroom with bath and shower. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.The well-equipped private beach features a large swimming pool, a kid’s pool, and a bar and grill. A diving school is available and a huge variety of water sports can be practised.The spa includes an indoor swimming pool with 2 large hot tubs, and a wide range of fitness and relaxation facilities. Hot tubs are also available on Preluna’s stunning roof terrace, which also features a mini-golf course.The restaurants are open for lunch and dinner. One offers a varied buffet, and the other 2 specialise in Italian and Japanese cuisine. A free Flavours of Malta dancing evening is arranged weekly, ideal to sample Maltese foods, wines and liqueurs, and learn about the local heritage and traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Preluna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preluna Hotel And Spa
Preluna Hotel Malta
Preluna Malta
Hotel Malta Preluna
Preluna Hotel Sliema
Preluna Hotel & Spa Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing