We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 star hotel but not 4 star rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“4 star hotel but not 4 star rooms”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Just back from a week at the preluna hotel & spa. My partner booked us a week there in the first week of april. He paid just under £500 for a superiour twin bedroom with sea view. The room 4407 was okay but the bathroom looked a bit nasty, some of the tiles were broken and there was a big gap at the balcony which seemed a bit dangerous. 3 times we left the 'do not disturb' sign on the door when we were out cause we didn't want our room cleaned but everytime we returned the sign was in the room as they didn't seem to care about it. Not saying that's a bad thing but if I want privacy I want them to respect that. From our balcony we could also see an unfinished balcony from the hotel which was unfinished and another balcony was broken and there was glass everywhere which made the place look a bit cheap. The breakfast at the hotel is a buffet which includes a british breakfast, cerials, fruit and a few other things. We also went to the spa which looked a bit unfinished at some places but besides that was okay. Had a spa treatment too which I was very pleased with. The jacuzzi at the roof weren't useable at that time which was a shame. As other people here mentioned there are a lot of cranes around the hotel and there is a big construction side next to it. One of our friends stayed at the hotel as well, during his first night there he got a nice room with a sea view just like we did. On his second night however he got a very small room and when he tried to phone room service they hung up on him twice. He complained and got a refund. The hotel wasn't bad but it wasn't great either. It was too expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oh_Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    800
    489
    201
    109
See reviews for
363
939
180
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

As an ex member of A2L we have stayed in this hotel with a friends for 2 weeks. Our room on the 9th floor was overlooking the see in the old part of the Hotel. My concern was as a mother of 2 young children safety first of all. Balconies have a very fragile, not very tall or secure gazed fronting... nightmare!!!. Food wasn't very good and it was very repetitive. Second room had no windows and it was very dirty. Our friend has stayed in the apartment overlooking the streets at the back of the hotel, with weird layout and not very clean. Spa and indoor swimming pool were good. Outside swimming pool waist of time. If you want to go to Malta go to San Antonio Hotel & Spa in Buggiba.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lily9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Just returned from a week away in the Pre Luna in Silema. Overall had a good time. Yes at this time of the year hotel is geared up to recycled teenagers. But it is nice too see that the hotel also reflects this in employing older staff. I can not fault the attention and professionalision of all of the Staff. Yes the hotel may seem dated to some but it was clean, tidy and food was good. We had a land view room with a widow which was very good. The front of the hotel was rather noisy at night.

Entertainment was OK...But the Saturday nights enterainment was brill... It was a DJ who played an execllent range of music. The locals come in an provide free entainment with their dancing..very funny.

Whilst we were at the hotel it was work experience week for the local school children. it was a great pleasure to see and talk to some of theses children who were very eager to please.

The hotel is very well situated. The local bus service run by Aviva is excellent.. 12 euros for a weekly pass very good value. You can get to anywhere on the island. Had a boat trip around the harbour 16 euros very informative...Quite good value for a 2 hour trip.

We met some lovely people and would like to say thank you to the staff od the hotel for a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: If you want quite ask for a high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

we have just returned from this hotel when we booked no mention of building work being carried out beside hotel. while on sun terrace crane was passing over you head. we were on BB thank goodness as breakfast was always cold. staff were friendly and hotel was clean but food left a lot to be the imagination

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolboyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The Hotel is well situated,is not a hotel for young people, it is not far from Paceville. It has a nice pool. Malta is very warm during the summer and quite oten the A/C doesnt't work very well. It is clean but rooms are not very big

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbirilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Having stayed in Sliema the previous year we decided to return to a better hotel. Mid February we set off for 3 weeks holiday. We were not disappointed overall. That said the hotel is not quite a 4*. The staff are as good and helpfull as a 4* and the guest relations manager Nadine certainly got things done if you had even the smallest of issues and always showed a genuine interest in what you had to say. We had a great sea view room with fabulous outlook on the 9th floor. The rooms are dated but comfortable with only a slight lack of storage space as an issue. The rooms were kept clean and fresh towels and sheets regularly provided. The Spa is a different matter as the indoor pool is small and you are overlooked by the exercise nuts on running machines and cross trainers.The food in the main restaurant was always excellent and restaurant service generally good. Dinners had a good mix of theme nights, Italian, Spanish, Thai etc plus general Maltese fare. Entertainment was basic but with some highlights but nothing really worth mentioning here. During the first 18 days of our stay the Skyroom was being refurbished so was unavailable - a great disappointment as it has outstanding views. We did not know about this when we booked and only discovered it 2 weeks before we arrived. It did open but there was such a storm it felt a little unsafe and although there was no problem with the skyroom some rooms and balconies were damaged by the Force 10 gusting Force 11 winds - terrific noise - Hotel Staff did well under the conditions. Overall we had a good time and would recommend Preluna Hotel and will definitely revisit some time in the future.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for a sea view room although if you just want the Sun then book any room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BideRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This hotel is well situated in Sliema and is very convenient for buses to most parts of the island
The food in the hotel is very good even though I was only B& B I did have an evening meal on three occasions and the choices and quality of the food was very good.The evening entertainment in the Skyroom was most enjoyable as well the quiz which was very fair but testing to say the least. I am returning to this hotel again on the 29th April for 11 nights.

G.W.

Room Tip: I stayed in a superior sea view room with balcony and was very happy with it and would recommend thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,350 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,896 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fortina Spa Resort
Fortina Spa Resort
#8 of 28 in Sliema
1,355 reviews
0.6 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preluna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preluna Hotel & Spa

Property: Preluna Hotel & Spa
Address: 124, Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta 1000, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Preluna Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Sliema’s seafront, Malta’s Preluna Hotel & Spa features 3 restaurants, a spa, and a private beach. The spectacular Penthouse Lounge on the rooftop is open all day. The spacious rooms have views of the city or the Mediterranean Sea.All rooms at the Preluna are air-conditioned and feature a tea/coffee maker, a satellite TV, and a private bathroom with bath and shower. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.The well-equipped private beach features a large swimming pool, a kid’s pool, and a bar and grill. A diving school is available and a huge variety of water sports can be practised.The spa includes an indoor swimming pool with 2 large hot tubs, and a wide range of fitness and relaxation facilities. Hot tubs are also available on Preluna’s stunning roof terrace, which also features a mini-golf course.The restaurants are open for lunch and dinner. One offers a varied buffet, and the other 2 specialise in Italian and Japanese cuisine. A free Flavours of Malta dancing evening is arranged weekly, ideal to sample Maltese foods, wines and liqueurs, and learn about the local heritage and traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Preluna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preluna Hotel And Spa
Preluna Hotel Malta
Preluna Malta
Hotel Malta Preluna
Preluna Hotel Sliema
Preluna Hotel & Spa Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing