We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice relaxing stay, looking forward to visiting again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This was our third stay at Preluna. Reading some of the reviews here I really can't imagine what people are expecting. In fact, my only minor irritation was when we tried to book for next year but were told the tariffs hadn't been set yet. But we know who to e-mail so that when they do set the tariffs we can make the arrangements.

Stayed on B&B. The breakfasts are fine - buffet style and you can keep going back. There is an English selection but there are also sliced meats, cheeses, rolls and sweet stuff, as well as fruit and cereals. If a fry-up isn't your scene then you still have no reason to go hungry, Didn't eat lunch or dinner in the hotel as we have several favourite places in Sliema to eat and wanted to revisit them - multiple times....

The bus stops are nearby and it's about ten minutes to Valletta from where you can get a bus to anywhere on the island.

Our room was fine. I don't really expect it to be newly decorated, it's just somewhere to sleep and shower as I haven't travelled to Malta to sit in a room for a week! The standard of cleaning was fine. I have recommended this hotel to several friends and will be taking my father and stepmother there next year. It may not be the total lap of luxury, but I have stayed in far worse places than Preluna.

The lifts may not be the speediest on the planet but they are not as slow as some reviewers would have you believe. If you can't spend an extra three or four seconds getting up 13 floors then you're probably beyond getting less stressed just by being on holiday!

The skyroom is a fabulous place for a late night drink, and Martin the barman remembered us from two years ago which, if you think about the number of faces he must see, is pretty impressive. I thought the prices were a bit cheaper compared to our first stay in 2007, but I could be mistaken!

Overall, I loved it. You can probably tell......!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view. No use not doing this then moaning when you get an inland view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Benjiboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,165 - 1,171 of 2,181 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2012

Maybe facilities for a 4 star but for quality, in my opinion, struggles to three stars. The staff, in general, are very good and very helpul. When we arrived they were quick to fix the TV that wasn't working, replace the kettle that wouldn't work but failed on getting the air con to cool the room. Had to switch off the air con and just have the fan on. 7 poor night's sleep.
Building work going on either side of the hotel. No real disruption but doesn't look nice.
Had a room at the front with sea views. Very busy road runs along the front. Bus stops very close to the hotel which can be handy.
Breakfast was buffet style with a wide choice. Coffee and fruit juices you get yourself from machines.
The swimming pool was over the road (pedestrian lights right outside the hotel) and turn left.About 50 yards up the road. Bar and toilet facilities. As we were not 'All Inclusive' it was a €3 charge for a sunshade!! Never, ever been charged for this before as a paying guest at a hotel.
Bar on the 13th floor. Good views, reasonable prices and friendly staff. Something going on most nights - singers, quizes - but didn't bother with these. Went to go one night but went straight back down in the lift. In my opinion the louder the noise doesn't mean the better the music.
Overall a bit disappointed as I expected a better hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mancunian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Welcome to this old vetust hotel built in the sixties.

This hotel is a gamble. It has 2 parts, an old one and a new one. If they put you in the old part, you're really in for a ride. Here are the major flaws I found in 4 nights at this hotel.
- minibar not working (fixed when informed the reception)
- remote control battery dead ( new inserted, but not checked if the remote was synced with the TV, which was not the case)
- minibar dirty
- no view or sunlight whatsoever
- had to ask reception to activate access to the indoor pool before i could enter. (makes you feel like a second class guest
- outdoor pool closed fo guests at 18.00 because rerented to a third party starting that hour.
- hammam smelly and cold
- airconditioning noisy, was impossible to sleep into it. so chose to sleep in the heat. On notification to the reception they sent someone over who said this was normal for a hotel airconditioning
- walls between rooms very thin. Could hear my neighbour watching the football game on his TV
- Room was very small and totally not as presented on the website.
- Only plus points: the breakfast, which was very complete and English style and the good location for public transport.

Advise to everyone: If you want to book luxury 4 star on Malta, book somewhere else, this hotel is a gamble depending on where they put you.

Room Tip: Ask to be put in the new part of the hotel if you really want to book this hotel, otherwise you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Belgomaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We arrived after midday and rooms not ready but the check in looked after our luggage, rooms ready about 14.00 so no problem, we were in the tower with sea view but the rooms are very dated and a bit scruffy. the cleaning was ok ish, also the air con was rubbish and we reported it but nothing was done and the ceeling fan soundes like it was going to take off even on slow speed, also there is building work next door that starts at 7.30 in the morningand looks like it been going on for aged. food good for breakfast and plenty of it. we had 3 evening meals in the buffet and all were good, hotel is listed as 4 star and there are plenty of facilitys its not england 4 star if you go with this in mind you will be ok, i would not rush back there but it is popular and very busy so maybe this is the standard for malta as we have stayed at the waterfront hoter 6 years ago and was simular.

Room Tip: get sea view room as the view is good except for the building work next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

YIPPEE I arrived in Malta on the 29th May and stopped in this hotel for 7 nights,Brilliant location. I first booked in and they give me a room with no balcony, went down to reception and they where very nice pleasent staff, which changed it with no problems, left my luggage behind reception and had a long stroll to st Julians, I could not believe how much Malta had changed, but it was 27 years ago, I last went. The views where amazing. More comercialised, in silema and St Julians, but I loved it. The room at hotel a little dated, but I was only sleeping and showering there. The maid was great, left her tips, but never took them so just gave her 10 euros when leaving. The staff where all lovely, I said hello and good morning to them and thank you, which is nice to appriciate them, think they respected that. There is plenty to do in the hotel, bar, entertainment room, indoor pool, outdoor pool (which is across the road a little cold) spa treatment, and a GYM, but not for me, YOUR ON HOLIDAY FOR GOD SAKE. I went all inclusive and the food was brilliant and the staff where all ways nice, but I always treat people the way I want to be treated, I JUST LOVED IT AND WOULD DEFENTLEY GO BACK. The gentlemen at the bar where always kind LOVE THEM ALL. I nearly toured the island the first night I got there as I travelled to Vallette then got on wrong bus, great experience, but I do miss the OLD BUSSES. I LOVED MALTA and would go back with no hesitasion. Enjoyed the north and south tour buses and enjoyed the trip to GOZO on the ferry, then the tour round gozo, which was lovely to see. I LOVE the parts of malta where all the locals live, would love to live there as the people are so nice and friendly. You can just catch a bus just out side the hotel. Just catch a bus valletta, then jump on any bus to see different parts of island, which you dont see on the tour buses. BEST HOLIDAY EVER AND I WENT ON MY OWN, which I would defentley DO AGAIN. THANK YOU TO EVERYONE WHICH MADE MY HOLIDAY SO SPECIAL.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JulieSmithDonnaSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We spent 3 nights here on our way home from Cyprus and I can honestly say the sea view room was an excellent choice! Check in and out was a breeze and the staff were all very helpful. The rooms are dated as noted in other reviews, but everything was clean and the bathroom was huge! The breakfast buffet was excellent with an excellent assortment of fruits, cheeses, meats and of course standard cooked fare. We enjoyed the proximity to everything locally and thoroughly enjoyed a nightcap in the bar on the rooftop. If you're looking for a modern hotel don't stay here, but if you want a decent room at a good rate then this is the place. I will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Spend the extra on a Sea View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We spent a pleasant week at this hotel. We had an ordinary room and we did miss the balcony, the room was a good size, clean and a nice bathroom with a very efficient shower. Windows could do with a clean even though there wasn't much of a view! All the staff were helpful. We stayed on an All Inclusive package which was very satisfactory. The food was well cooked, there may have been less choices than we have had in other hotels but the quality compensated. Enjoyed the Skyroom although the entertainment was typical of holiday hotels. Most drinks were included in the package. The swimming pool is across the road, it took a bit of getting used to but it was OK. There was a scum line around the pool tiles - maybe due to it being sea water? The water was cold but soon got used to it. Would I go back? This was our first visit to Malta, the weather was fantastic, the people friendly and we may go back one day. I would recommend this hotel to more mature people - wouldn't take children there though. Overall a good relaxing week and we met some lovely people.

Room Tip: If I went back I would definitely go for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,552 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
2,030 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 28 in Sliema
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.5 mi away
Fortina Spa Resort
Fortina Spa Resort
#11 of 28 in Sliema
1,425 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preluna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preluna Hotel & Spa

Address: 124, Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta 1000, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#2 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £47 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Preluna Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Sliema’s seafront, Malta’s Preluna Hotel & Spa features 3 restaurants, a spa, and a private beach. The spectacular Penthouse Lounge on the rooftop is open all day. The spacious rooms have views of the city or the Mediterranean Sea.All rooms at the Preluna are air-conditioned and feature a tea/coffee maker, a satellite TV, and a private bathroom with bath and shower. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.The well-equipped private beach features a large swimming pool, a kid’s pool, and a bar and grill. A diving school is available and a huge variety of water sports can be practised.The spa includes an indoor swimming pool with 2 large hot tubs, and a wide range of fitness and relaxation facilities. Hot tubs are also available on Preluna’s stunning roof terrace, which also features a mini-golf course.The restaurants are open for lunch and dinner. One offers a varied buffet, and the other 2 specialise in Italian and Japanese cuisine. A free Flavours of Malta dancing evening is arranged weekly, ideal to sample Maltese foods, wines and liqueurs, and learn about the local heritage and traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Preluna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preluna Hotel And Spa
Preluna Hotel Malta
Preluna Malta
Hotel Malta Preluna
Preluna Hotel Sliema
Preluna Hotel & Spa Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing