We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Palace(Sliema)
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$343
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Sliema Hotel(Sliema)
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel(Sliema)(Great Value!)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
LABRANDA Rocca Nettuno Suites(Sliema)(Great Value!)
US$386
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$368
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,293)
Filter reviews
2,293 results
Traveller rating
505
897
545
229
117
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
505
897
545
229
117
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstriton restaurantsky roomsea viewbeach clubsun terraceoutdoor pooltower blockjapanese restaurantsea frontevening entertainmentst julianshalf boardbed and breakfast basisbuffet stylerooftop barsteam roombus stop
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,206 - 1,211 of 2,293 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Food and staff (we were there late august into september 2012)
The hotel overall was good, the food was excellent, had many choices every night and day, we went all inclusive and could not fault the staff in the main restuarant, they were kind,Curteous, even the chefs spoke to us and were very polite. Any nights i had enjoyed something in particular i would highly commend it to them and they would be happy with the comments.
We had swordfish,it was like eating chicken, lovely and tuna steak which reminded me of a gorgeous sirloin steak, you can tell i had never tried any before.
Being all inclusive, going by what they tell you about the hotel gives the impression you have 5 restuarants to eat from, very far from the truth. You have one main place to eat from and you get 10% to 50% off eating in the rest.
Rooms
Our room was good, the view was spectacular, always get a room with a seaview and balcony, we had a problem with a leak behind our shower wall which caused dampness, wall was wet to touch and stained, we also asked for a double, not 2 singles. I complained and we were moved te following morning to a better room with a bigger balcony.
I read reviews about the rooms before I went and yes they were dated like a lot of people say,its not dirty or anything like that, bathrooms are updated, just the room.
Bars
Now we get to the bar staff, this is where i mark down the hotel, my wife only drinks WKD which is a bit of a nightmare for me, she'll drink other alcopops drinks like this but they dont stock. When we tried to get cocktails they offered 3 chioces, one with no alcohol, one with Dubonnet in it which is like a sherry of some sort and a cuba libre which is bacardi coke and lime, they wouldnt let you get anything else, says thats alll the all inclusive would be allowed which is stupid considering all local spirits and Liqueurs were included so could have made her cocktails easily. Near the end she drank malibu and coke which was the local version which was fine.
To be perfectly honest it wasnt just that it was the attitude of some bar staff that spoiled it for us, it was obvious they didnt like customers that were all inclusive as it meant less tips (we were the lower league customer) The older guys hardly spoke. It was more the one that was in the sky bar, on 2 different occasions I knew he was talking about me due to the look and laughter by the younger barman. Some might say paranoia but believe me you just new. He just felt he was worth better.
Overall it was a good hotel and it ws just the bar that brought the service down and that’s why 4 stars for the review.
I wouldn’t revisit that hotel as I felt there was a lot of the older generation there, not saying all but a lot, would try St Julians for the night life. We only discovered Paceville the day before we left,lots and lots of pubs and cheaper booze deals

George from Scotland

Room Tip: room with a balcony and seaview is a must to enjoy your holiday
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gio41uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I made a personal mistake booking a short stay at Preluna without realising it would be packed to the rafters with older travellers and package holiday types. The hotel itself is clean with reasonably smart public areas but my room had very tired decor and very uncomfortable beds that looked like they were 20 years old.

I stayed on a bed and breakfast basis. Breakfast was a nightmare at 08:30am but tolerable at 07:45am. The restaurant was like a huge industrial operation, very busy, noisy and with truly awful piped music - being forced to listen to Phantom of the Opera at that time of the morning was ghastly and watching row after row of people filling themselves with eggs and bacon was offputting. The fruit salad was consistently soggy as though it was made the day before.

The beach club and pool facilities were satisfactory overall with fresh water showers but the prices at the bar for food and drink were extortionate compared to every other comparable bar or restaurant in Sliema and the quality was worse.

I had an early morning check-out and a simple breakfast was provided at reception.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the Tower rooms that have a view of the building site opposite.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulydoesdisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Another memorable holiday at The Preluna. This year we had two rooms on the eighth floor and it was a delight to wake up to the beautiful sunny sea view every morning.
Breakfast was the usual vast array of choices and with evening meals were superb with something to please most palates, we were always asked if there was anything else we would like.
Our rooms were cleaned every day to a good standard.
We will be returning next July as usual to The Preluna. One of our main recommendations would have to be the very efficient and friendly staff who are as helpful if you are aged 8 or 80, this is a definite bonus at this hotel for my sister and I.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank JaniceRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed at the Preluna hotel and spa all inclusive between 9th August - 22nd August and we were both very happy. Our room had a double bed with a sea view. The room had everything we needed and was cleaned thoroughly everyday. The reception staff were very efficient and friendly. It was my partner's birthday and he had a surprise birthday cake waiting in our room after we had returned from an evening out in Valetta. This was organised by Nadine from the customer relations team-so a big thank you to you Nadine-The cake was delicious. The breakfast and dinner in the restaurant was generally very good, with lots of variety to choose from. We had lunch by the pool which is also very nice. The pool area is very relaxing and a few steps down is the sea,and the whole area has plenty of sun-loungers. Although the pool is over the road, it is well worth a 2 minute walk. The staff are very friendly and accommodating.

The hotel's gym and spa was very good. We made good use of it. The skyroom pentehouse bar ( which reminded us vaguely of 'Windows' at the Hilton hotel London) has entertainment every night, some of it good. The 2 guys on the guitars that perform on Wednesdays were the best. The weekend bar b q in the sky room's terrace was deliciious and the service is great. During August you can watch great firework displays most nights from there.

There is a convenient bus stop just outside the hotel which we made good use of to go to Valetta. We also booked a couple of hop on, hop off trips (pronounced locally opp on, opp off!) to Mdina and Gozo which were fabulous. You also get a free boat trip with this that is well worth it.

The only disapointment was the Mareluna Italian restaurant was closed. The restaurant is advertised on the Preluna Hotel's website but when we asked the hotel why it was not open they said that they didn't know why and that the restaurant was not strictly part of the hotel. Very strange!

Overall, we had a lovely time and we would definately book the Preluna again.

Mark and Helen

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenEssex_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Very good location to visit Malta (near to Valetta)
If you're going for the sun and swimmingpool you'll be very dissapointed in this hotel!
Breakfast is simple and sometimes with old bread if you go to early in the morning...7h45 am
We can't judge the meals in the evening(we had half pension) because we wouldent eat 2 times a day in the ugly dinningroom so we went dinning outside every day!
The barman and the people at the frontdesk are very friendly...but that's not enough to like an hotel!
In the room the airconditioning was verry noisy and the tv remote didn't work.
We wouldn't recomend this hotel to people who usely go to a 4*or 5* hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zus_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews