We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location - Rocky Beach” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Preluna Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Location - Rocky Beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

We booked this holiday at the last minute deciding to go for half board. This was our first time to Malta and we decided on the Preluna Hotel as it was near to Valletta which we wanted to visit.

On arrival at the hotel we were offered a drink of Kinnie a local drink of orange and spices (a unique taste that I came to quite enjoy). Our room was not quite ready and we were invited to sit in the lobby until it was. We only had to wait a few minutes before being given our key card.

Our room was on the second floor at the back of the hotel overlooking a terraced roof with pot plants. Not a great view but we did not expect a sea view as we had booked late and decided not to pay extra to guarantee one. As we went downstairs to take a look around we did see into a sea view room which looked lovely so we did ask if one was available but they were fully booked.

The room itself was a little dated but was clean. The bathroom had a bath and shower which turned out to be quite good (although fixed). As we did not plan to spend much time in the room we were not really that bothered with the view – the bonus was it was quiet as it did not overlook the main road which the sea views did.. Rather than a double we had two single beds - not ideal but we were only there for a week. Only real problem with the beds was mine kept rolling across the floor every time I turned over in bed! I also managed to stub my toe a couple of times on the wheels. All bedrooms have free wifi which was not expected.

Meals were taken in the Triton Restaurant. This was a buffet set up. You found a seat and then helped yourself to whatever the dishes of the day were. Breakfast consisted of a selection of cereals, pastries, ham, cheese, fresh fruit and cooked items (eggs, bacon, beans etc.) Bread was also available for toasting with jam and marmalade. Hot and cold drinks were from a number of self-service machines. Evening meals had a salad bar with a variety of different items, probably half the selection changed each day with tomatoes, lettuce, and beetroot always being available. A number of different salad dressings were available including olive oil and balsamic. There was also a hot selection which varied each day. There were normally three different meat dishes including fish, chicken, lamb etc. available. There were also a couple of vegetarian dishes available (mainly pasta related). There were normally at least five different sweets available plus ice cream. At dinner you were offered drinks which you could either pay for when you left or sign to your room. At busy times it was difficult to find a seat so it was best to go very early when the restaurant opened or later near closing time.

The hotel has an indoor spa that looked very nice but we did not use this. There was also a sun terrace with a couple of Jacuzzis. This was on floor eight and had a good view of the sea. Unfortunately, there is a new building being constructed next door so you also get a view of this. The outdoor pool is actually across the road. You can get a token from reception which will allow you to get a pool towel to save you taking your own over there. The pool is a sea water pool and is quite small. When we were there it was not very busy but I would imagine that it could get very busy/crowded at the height of the season. The lifts were probably the worst part of the hotel. They were very slow and very small only fitting four or five people with ease.

The best views from the hotel were from the Sky Lounge on the 13th floor. Evening entertainment was put on here every night except Sunday (when it is in the ground floor bar). The Sky lounge had a small bar and served a number of cocktails. Service could be slow as there tended to be only one barman. Entertainment was nothing special but was not objectionable either.

There is a promenade stretching along the entire front at Sliema and you could (if you felt up to it) walk all the way to St Julien’s Bay. The Preluna is right by the water but is the other side of Sliema to the harbour. This is about a 10 minute walk through the main shopping streets. From the harbour you can take a number if harbour cruises (recommended) plus round the Island cruises.

There is also the ferry across to Valletta. If you take the ferry, be warned there is a hill to climb into the city. I recommend you do as we did and take a bus from directly outside the hotel into Valletta and then catch the ferry back.

From outside the hotel you can also get the ‘hop on, hop off’ buses that tour the north or south of the Island. We did both and they both were good and have stops to recommend. It depends what you want to see.so check the brochures first to see where you want to visit. We liked Mdina, Mosta and the Blue Grotto. I was disappointed with Ta’ Qali craft village as there was very little craft making to be seen and it was more a number of shops selling the craft items. Valletta was worth going to. We went to ‘The Malta Experience’ which is a film on the history of Malta. If Valletta is your first stop then it may be worth going to but we had seen a similar presentation in Mdina and read most of the information in the guide books so were a bit disappointed.

In summary, we had a very good holiday. Hotel was nice, food was reasonable, the staff in the hotel were all very friendly. We tend not to visit the same holiday location twice so are unlikely to return. However, if we ever did visit Malta again we would consider staying at the Preluna.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view if you want to spend time in your room. Choose a room at the back on a higher floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suspence63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    760
    469
    192
    107
See reviews for
345
898
173
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

Once again the Preluna Hotel and Spa got it right, from the check in to the last meal, first class, value for money, our extra thanks to the pool staff that made our days at the pool fun, for their
service and sence fun a great team thanks guys and girls,
And the lovey meal served on the top floor ,( fri sat sun only ) with a view to die for, you really must try it, you will not regret it

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces in to the bay, great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david_kear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

Great stay at this hotel. Stayed in one of the older room's and it would benefit from some modernisation but room was always cleaned to a high standard and I always found staff friendly and helpful.
We had a great sea view and even building work being carried out on the building opposite the hotel did not cause much disturbance.
The hotel is well situated in a good resort, lots of great bars and restaurants close by.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndersonEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Food and staff (we were there late august into september 2012)
The hotel overall was good, the food was excellent, had many choices every night and day, we went all inclusive and could not fault the staff in the main restuarant, they were kind,Curteous, even the chefs spoke to us and were very polite. Any nights i had enjoyed something in particular i would highly commend it to them and they would be happy with the comments.
We had swordfish,it was like eating chicken, lovely and tuna steak which reminded me of a gorgeous sirloin steak, you can tell i had never tried any before.
Being all inclusive, going by what they tell you about the hotel gives the impression you have 5 restuarants to eat from, very far from the truth. You have one main place to eat from and you get 10% to 50% off eating in the rest.
Rooms
Our room was good, the view was spectacular, always get a room with a seaview and balcony, we had a problem with a leak behind our shower wall which caused dampness, wall was wet to touch and stained, we also asked for a double, not 2 singles. I complained and we were moved te following morning to a better room with a bigger balcony.
I read reviews about the rooms before I went and yes they were dated like a lot of people say,its not dirty or anything like that, bathrooms are updated, just the room.
Bars
Now we get to the bar staff, this is where i mark down the hotel, my wife only drinks WKD which is a bit of a nightmare for me, she'll drink other alcopops drinks like this but they dont stock. When we tried to get cocktails they offered 3 chioces, one with no alcohol, one with Dubonnet in it which is like a sherry of some sort and a cuba libre which is bacardi coke and lime, they wouldnt let you get anything else, says thats alll the all inclusive would be allowed which is stupid considering all local spirits and Liqueurs were included so could have made her cocktails easily. Near the end she drank malibu and coke which was the local version which was fine.
To be perfectly honest it wasnt just that it was the attitude of some bar staff that spoiled it for us, it was obvious they didnt like customers that were all inclusive as it meant less tips (we were the lower league customer) The older guys hardly spoke. It was more the one that was in the sky bar, on 2 different occasions I knew he was talking about me due to the look and laughter by the younger barman. Some might say paranoia but believe me you just new. He just felt he was worth better.
Overall it was a good hotel and it ws just the bar that brought the service down and that’s why 4 stars for the review.
I wouldn’t revisit that hotel as I felt there was a lot of the older generation there, not saying all but a lot, would try St Julians for the night life. We only discovered Paceville the day before we left,lots and lots of pubs and cheaper booze deals

George from Scotland

Room Tip: room with a balcony and seaview is a must to enjoy your holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gio41uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

I made a personal mistake booking a short stay at Preluna without realising it would be packed to the rafters with older travellers and package holiday types. The hotel itself is clean with reasonably smart public areas but my room had very tired decor and very uncomfortable beds that looked like they were 20 years old.

I stayed on a bed and breakfast basis. Breakfast was a nightmare at 08:30am but tolerable at 07:45am. The restaurant was like a huge industrial operation, very busy, noisy and with truly awful piped music - being forced to listen to Phantom of the Opera at that time of the morning was ghastly and watching row after row of people filling themselves with eggs and bacon was offputting. The fruit salad was consistently soggy as though it was made the day before.

The beach club and pool facilities were satisfactory overall with fresh water showers but the prices at the bar for food and drink were extortionate compared to every other comparable bar or restaurant in Sliema and the quality was worse.

I had an early morning check-out and a simple breakfast was provided at reception.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the Tower rooms that have a view of the building site opposite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulydoesdisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thropton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Another memorable holiday at The Preluna. This year we had two rooms on the eighth floor and it was a delight to wake up to the beautiful sunny sea view every morning.
Breakfast was the usual vast array of choices and with evening meals were superb with something to please most palates, we were always asked if there was anything else we would like.
Our rooms were cleaned every day to a good standard.
We will be returning next July as usual to The Preluna. One of our main recommendations would have to be the very efficient and friendly staff who are as helpful if you are aged 8 or 80, this is a definite bonus at this hotel for my sister and I.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JaniceRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed at the Preluna hotel and spa all inclusive between 9th August - 22nd August and we were both very happy. Our room had a double bed with a sea view. The room had everything we needed and was cleaned thoroughly everyday. The reception staff were very efficient and friendly. It was my partner's birthday and he had a surprise birthday cake waiting in our room after we had returned from an evening out in Valetta. This was organised by Nadine from the customer relations team-so a big thank you to you Nadine-The cake was delicious. The breakfast and dinner in the restaurant was generally very good, with lots of variety to choose from. We had lunch by the pool which is also very nice. The pool area is very relaxing and a few steps down is the sea,and the whole area has plenty of sun-loungers. Although the pool is over the road, it is well worth a 2 minute walk. The staff are very friendly and accommodating.

The hotel's gym and spa was very good. We made good use of it. The skyroom pentehouse bar ( which reminded us vaguely of 'Windows' at the Hilton hotel London) has entertainment every night, some of it good. The 2 guys on the guitars that perform on Wednesdays were the best. The weekend bar b q in the sky room's terrace was deliciious and the service is great. During August you can watch great firework displays most nights from there.

There is a convenient bus stop just outside the hotel which we made good use of to go to Valetta. We also booked a couple of hop on, hop off trips (pronounced locally opp on, opp off!) to Mdina and Gozo which were fabulous. You also get a free boat trip with this that is well worth it.

The only disapointment was the Mareluna Italian restaurant was closed. The restaurant is advertised on the Preluna Hotel's website but when we asked the hotel why it was not open they said that they didn't know why and that the restaurant was not strictly part of the hotel. Very strange!

Overall, we had a lovely time and we would definately book the Preluna again.

Mark and Helen

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenEssex_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,254 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fortina Spa Resort
Fortina Spa Resort
#7 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
0.6 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Diplomat Hotel Malta
#10 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preluna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preluna Hotel & Spa

Property: Preluna Hotel & Spa
Address: 124, Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta 1000, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#3 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Preluna Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Sliema’s seafront, Malta’s Preluna Hotel & Spa features 3 restaurants, a spa, and a private beach. The spectacular Penthouse Lounge on the rooftop is open all day. The spacious rooms have views of the city or the Mediterranean Sea.All rooms at the Preluna are air-conditioned and feature a tea/coffee maker, a satellite TV, and a private bathroom with bath and shower. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.The well-equipped private beach features a large swimming pool, a kid’s pool, and a bar and grill. A diving school is available and a huge variety of water sports can be practised.The spa includes an indoor swimming pool with 2 large hot tubs, and a wide range of fitness and relaxation facilities. Hot tubs are also available on Preluna’s stunning roof terrace, which also features a mini-golf course.The restaurants are open for lunch and dinner. One offers a varied buffet, and the other 2 specialise in Italian and Japanese cuisine. A free Flavours of Malta dancing evening is arranged weekly, ideal to sample Maltese foods, wines and liqueurs, and learn about the local heritage and traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Preluna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preluna Hotel And Spa
Preluna Hotel Malta
Preluna Malta
Hotel Malta Preluna
Preluna Hotel Sliema
Preluna Hotel & Spa Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing