We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST IF VISITING MALTA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A MUST IF VISITING MALTA”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We have just returned from our second visit to Malta, both times staying at the Preluna Hotel in Sliema.The staff are welcoming and friendly. The food is excellent with a great variety, all cooked to perfection. The facilities provided are good and the rooms clean, comfortable and spacious.
Central position with easy access to Valletta etc. A venue where they go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.

Ian & Trish Fergusson , Oxford

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    785
    485
    198
    109
See reviews for
357
925
177
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alloa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the preluna on an all inclusive basis for a week in September 2012.
When we arrived check in was prompt, but as we arrived at mid-day our room wasn't quite ready. Lucky for us lunch was ready, so we had lunch!
Our room was on the 2nd floor and was spacious and clean with a lovely balcony onto the main road and sea front. We had upgraded to a sea view and we were pleased with the room initially. We noticed at night the noise of the traffic was fairly loud and worsened as the nights went on. On sleepiness night 4 (due to traffic and *the* most uncomfortable beds I've ever had the misfortune to lie on) we noticed the excess noise levels were enhanced by the 4 inch gap of the ill fitting balcony door - previously unnoticed as hidden by curtains (which block out sun and heat well)
The next morning I asked to be moved and the reception staff could not have been more happy to help. We were on the 12th floor by lunchtime. Same standard of room, wonderful views, but again wretched lumpy single beds.
This is the only complaint I have. The rest of the holiday and the hotel has been superb! All inclusive is so worthwhile. Water, soft drinks, local beer and wine, and as much as you can drink of it!! The food was also excellent with great choice breakfast lunch and dinner for even the fussiest eaters, plenty of salads veggie food and meats and hot and cold food with loads of fruit ice cream and puddings to choose from. We ate out a couple of nights too, having been before and having a few favourite restaurants, and still found excellent value.
The beach bar and pool was again brilliant with drinks and food, plenty of loungers and a pool. The pool is salt water and is cool, but that's needed in the Malta heat. Food at the poolside was burger and chips style, but also salads and kebabs too.

The staff were so friendly,
Tizianna, James, Clinton and Martin all deserve a big pat on the back for jobs well done.

I would reccommend this hotel, but I'd reccommend they upgrade their mattresses too!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We spent a week in Sliema at the end of August in the Pre Luna hotel and having read some of the reviews we were a little apprehensive about what we would find, we need not have worried. The venue is perfect and allows for easy access to the harbour at Sliema and a leisurely walk into St Juliens. The facilities in the hotel were excellent and the staff could not have been more helpful. We had asked for, though not paid for a balcony/view. when we arrived our room was at the back with neither. The room itself was fine, clean,, comfortable, quiet and fine for 2 people with enough space and storage. However, we really did want a balcony for those evenings to relax with a bottle of wine. The hotel staff went out ot their way to accommmodate us and on the second day found us a room with a balcony and a view and whilst it cost us it was well worth it. They moved all of our things for us so we did not have to wait for the room to be ready and when we came back from our day out we were sorted.
Breakfasts were good with lots of choice and it was never too busy. The rooftop bar afforded excellent views and the prices were not too bad.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would very happily return

Room Tip: If a view is important then pay the supplement up front to guarantee it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
313 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

The hotel was very good, helpful staff, clean and tidy.

We stayed B&B as there are many restaurants close by which are cheaper and of a high standard. The breakfast is self service and even with the normal overweight greedy ones overfilling their plates there was never a shortage as the staff are very efficient at clearing tables and re stocking the buffet.

It is on the main road, but there is a crossing right by the front door and it makes it easy to get a bus or walk the short distance into the centre of Sliema where a short and cheap ferry can take you right into Valetta, far better then getting the bus.

The 'sky room' on the 13th floor is a lovely place to relax for most of the day, it is a shame that the bar there is only open in the evenings which means you can't easily get a coffee or cool drink for most of the day but the advantage is that it is usually quiet and relaxing. There is often evening entertainment there which will appeal to some but not all, don't expect any well known professional acts!

We only used the lounge bar once as the bar man was in a bad mood for some reason, but just across the road outside are three café's which serve drinks and snacks at much cheaper rates, good quality too.

The inside pool was nice to use, although we made use of swimming in the sea more. There are no sandy beaches near here, so I would advise wearing cheap water sport shoes to save your feet.

Overall, a hotel I would be happy to return to, the majority of the guests are on package holidays rather then independent travellers so don't expect black tie dining!

Room Tip: Suites have a balcony facing the sea but can be a little noisy. Sea view rooms are at the side and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CotswoldsMidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
143 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed in the family room which was disppointing. The room was old the beds well okay the bathroom very dated. But on the whole the Hotel itself is a nice hotel in a great location. We did stay here in 2011 so I hope by now these family rooms in the old part of the hotel have been updated. So if you are booking this hotel and wanting a family room do check to make sure you are in the new side or that these rooms have been recently been refurbed.
The breakfast at the hotel is great plenty to choose from. The only reason I gave it an average because the rooms were average if not below average for what we paid. But because the hotel on a whole was a nice hotel and the staff were friendly I didnt give it a lower rating.

Room Tip: check if the family rooms have been updated and when last refurbed. Or ask to be put in the new win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dumfries
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed at the Preluna from the 4th to the 11th September and have nothing but praise for the level of service and the general helpfulness of the staff.Our only regret was that we could not stay longer.

We had noted that other reviews had complained about the proximity to the road and had formed the impression that we would be facing a four lane highway rather than a two lane road with a crossing adjacent to the hotel. Not anything worth bothering about .

The food in the hotel at breakfast was adequate although we had booked in on a bed and breakfast basis as we wished to have flexibility and to try a variety of eating places. We did however eat one night at the Mareluna in the Hotel and found it to be of a high standard.

We had a most enjoyable holiday to which the hotel contributed and when reading some reviews I gain the feeling that the reviewers are frustrated hotel inspectors and are more interested in finding fault rather than enjoying their holiday

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel after midnight because of a long flight delay. The night porter checked us in fairly quickly, but when we got to our room, rather than the superior twin we had booked and paid extra for, we had been sent to a very small double room where the air conditioning did nothing and there was mould all round the bath. When we returned to the desk, the night porter was very off-hand and told us there were no other rooms available, so "come back in the morning after breakfast". We had to just put up with it until then, so very little sleep for either of us. Would he have done the same if it had been a man and his daughter or granddaughter or just two friends?
The next morning we were shown three alternative rooms, all of which were much bigger and cleaner, although we could not actually move until lunchtime as we had to wait for our chosen one to be serviced. Luckily the very nice lido is just across the road so we could go there while we waited.
Later that day we were able to talk to our Airtours rep, as we still felt that we had less space than we expected. He arranged for us to transfer to a family room (a 2 room suite) on day 3 of our holiday for only 14 euros a night extra, so we had lots of space with a bed and a seating area in one room and a separate double room which in itself was far bigger than the one were were originally crammed into.
The hotel facilities are excellent, although our final room had a water leak in the bathroom which we had to report several times, and which was due to be fixed when we had left, as it was a big job so the room would need to be taken out of use. We got through a lot of towels to soak up the flow and prevent the floor becoming slippery, but were were left extra ones so still had plenty of dry ones to use ourselves.
There is building work going in on one side (the side away from Sliema) from which there was a little audible noise starting around 7 a.m. and the "Tower block" where we stayed has a half-built property next door on which no work is currently happening.
The breakfasts were lovely - a very comprehensive range of cereals, cold and hot items, fruit, breads, pastries etc. and, although the room was always busy the staff were very prompt to replace empty dishes, clean tables and refill dispensers.
Apart from the first night, all the hotel staff were very pleasant and efficient.
We were particularly impressed with the lady who manned the Guest Relations desk and also worked at the pool bar/cafe.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tulipbicycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,322 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,861 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fortina Spa Resort
Fortina Spa Resort
#9 of 28 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
0.6 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Diplomat Hotel Malta
#11 of 28 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preluna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preluna Hotel & Spa

Property: Preluna Hotel & Spa
Address: 124, Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta 1000, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#3 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Preluna Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Sliema’s seafront, Malta’s Preluna Hotel & Spa features 3 restaurants, a spa, and a private beach. The spectacular Penthouse Lounge on the rooftop is open all day. The spacious rooms have views of the city or the Mediterranean Sea.All rooms at the Preluna are air-conditioned and feature a tea/coffee maker, a satellite TV, and a private bathroom with bath and shower. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.The well-equipped private beach features a large swimming pool, a kid’s pool, and a bar and grill. A diving school is available and a huge variety of water sports can be practised.The spa includes an indoor swimming pool with 2 large hot tubs, and a wide range of fitness and relaxation facilities. Hot tubs are also available on Preluna’s stunning roof terrace, which also features a mini-golf course.The restaurants are open for lunch and dinner. One offers a varied buffet, and the other 2 specialise in Italian and Japanese cuisine. A free Flavours of Malta dancing evening is arranged weekly, ideal to sample Maltese foods, wines and liqueurs, and learn about the local heritage and traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Preluna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preluna Hotel And Spa
Preluna Hotel Malta
Preluna Malta
Hotel Malta Preluna
Preluna Hotel Sliema
Preluna Hotel & Spa Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing