We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated, tired and not four star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Lytham St Annes
Level Contributor
169 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Dated, tired and not four star”
Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

Very average unfortunately and definitely not four star. Stayed all inclusive and very poor value. Bars offered limited range of drinks, manned by one staff member who had to serve drinks, make coffees and clear tables so regularly had to wait for service. The public rooms are very weary and although there is apparently a refurbishment programme in place this is very overdue. The bedroom was very basic - an earlier reviewer likened them to Travelodge rooms but I think that could be an insult to Travelodge. A leaking washbasin and flickering bathroom light didn't help our opinion of the room although the light was repaired quickly once we contacted reception. We were disturbed early most mornings as our room was across from the cleaners room so no lie ins for us. The food was quite good and Sunday lunch was the best of the week due to locals dining in the hotel. Even had a chocolate fountain that day! The roof top sun terrace offered great views but chairs and flooring were disappointing. Jacuzzis too cold to use. No drinks service there either. The hotel is definitely attracting an elderly clientele who seemed happy enough but if you are used to genuine four star hotels abroad, you will be disappointed. The location is excellent across from a bus stop. Staff generally were helpful and pleasant though we didn't appreciate the manner in which we were summoned to tables at mealtimes. We would go back to Malta, but unfortunately not to the Preluna.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank seasider2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preluna S, Guest Relations Manager at Preluna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your constructive comments.

Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the areas where we have fallen short of your expectations. This is certainly not a situation we are happy with, since we strive to maintain the highest possible levels of standards and facilities in order to meet the expectations and desires of our guests.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Warm regards,
Daniel Diosi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    783
    483
    197
    109
See reviews for
355
923
177
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muhltal, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We spend One week from Good Friday on at The Preluna Hotel & SPA in Sliema. We Booked halfboard, which was the best idea ever. Excellent Food, staff and SPA-area. We Book a room with Seaview and get an fantastic romm an the 12. Floor. Wake up with the Morning Sun on our leg's and a beatiful view over the Sea.

Welcome to paradise!

We come back again to Malta but only to These Hotel and into These room.

Room Tip: Book a room with seaview. Its wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TobyL_1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preluna S, Guest Relations Manager at Preluna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely review! I have to admit, the view from the 12th floor is truly breathtaking. We are glad that you found the Half Board a good idea and enjoyed dinners in our restaurant.

Whenever you wish to return to the Preluna, email me at marketing@preluna.com before booking your room so we can try provide the same room for you.

Kind regards,
Daniel Diosi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheerness
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Just returned from Malta after spending two weeks at The Preluna Hotel & Spa in Sliema. Booked H/B basis which was excellent value for money. Could not fault this hotel. Room , staff and food was extremely good. So good I'll probably go back there later in the year. It was a safe and clean place which was what I wanted, In all I rank it as second to none.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preluna S, Guest Relations Manager at Preluna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Joan,

Thank you so much for choosing the Preluna Hotel and for taking the time to place such a fantastic review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience at Preluna Hotel and that you were satisfied with the facilities and services offered during your stay.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you and we look forward to welcome you back in future.

Warm wishes,
Daniel Diosi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Stayed for 4 nights on a bed and breakfast basis a party of 6 the hotel is certainly not 4 star accommodation we stayed in a superior sea view room and although it was clean and towels changed every day I would suggest it was no more than a standard room a little dated although the view was fantastic. The breakfast was fine with enough choice to accommodate most people and the staff helpful and friendly. There is entertainment on every night in the venus bar but to be honest our group did not look in to sample it although our group were 60+ I must agree with some of the other reviews that this hotel certainly caters for the elderly not that there is anything wrong with this strategy. The hotel has a great location with easy access to all local transport to travel around the area we used both a local bus tour of the north side of the island at 12 euros with a free boat trip around the coves of Sliema and Valletta well worth the trip and for 2.60 euros we took the local bus to a small fishing village called Marsaxlokk well worth the trip take local bus to Valletta no 12 outside the hotel and at Valletta bus terminus take the 81 or 85 to Marsaxlokk buses run every 10 mins. Lots of very nice local restaurants to eat out at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: A seaview room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preluna S, Guest Relations Manager at Preluna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your constructive comments.

While we are glad you have enjoyed the sea view and the meals, please kindly accept our sincere apologies for the areas where we have fallen short of your expectations, we currently have an ongoing complete refurbishment program for our rooms.

This is certainly not a situation we are happy with, since we strive to maintain the highest possible levels of standards and facilities in order to meet the expectations and desires of our guests.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Warm regards,
Daniel Diosi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanlivery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Our room was Travelodge quality;everything worked but no toiletries,no air-con and so noisy at 6.30am and late night because of machinery --extractor fan (?) nearby. Position convenient for buses and Sliema ferry only 10 mins walk away. Restaurant provided excellent choice of breakfast both hot and cold,lovely fresh fruit salad and melon but poor juice and coffee.Lovely views from it too and the evening buffets provided a different choice every night and a wide selection. The fish was particularly good. We had intended to eat out but it just didn't seem worth it.The local red wine at 3 euros a half litre was fine. However if we had stayed more than a week we might have ended up the size of many of those around us ! Pity there is no pool on the rooftop terrace which is perfect for sunbathing. Don't believe the lifts will be finished before Christmas but we met some interesting people in the service lift!(we left on April 17th)

Room Tip: Ours was 9th floor of the tower building at the back and was noisy;avoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preluna S, Guest Relations Manager at Preluna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the negative but also the positive.

We are pleased to read that you were satisfied with the restaurant and the view, these are two truly great assets of the Preluna Hotel. Please take our apologies that the room did not meet your expectations. Next time, depending on the availability, we will be pleased to provide another room in case you inform us about your disappointment.

We also would like to inform all guests that the lifts have now been completed.

Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed, as mentioned we are currently refurbishing rooms and I trust that should you return again in the future, we will do our utmost to make sure you will not be disappointed.

With best wishes,
Daniel Diosi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

I've just returned from a very nice week at the Preluna Hotel. On my arrival (Sat 13th April) John at reception was very helpful in upgrading my room to a sea-view/balcony-So please pass on my gratitude to all your staff. Room 1212,-What a fantastic view .I would recommend sleeping with ear plugs-The hotel is right on the Bay front and you have to expect traffic noise in the early morning. The view more than makes up for any noise
The Hotel itself was perfectly located for my needs,bus stops,walking distance to Sliema Ferries etc.
I booked B&B basis,the breakfast was very good,lots of hot & cold options,fresh fruit etc. etc.
I never used the lido pool club as I was "out & about" all day,however I did use the Sun Terrace floor 8 a couple of times after a hard day trekking around Valletta it was nice to relax in the jacuzzi and sun loungers over-looking the bay.
I was a little disappointed there was an extra charge to use the gym facilities,however I do realise it was a spa complex and costs have to be covered (however In most hotels I've stayed throughout my travels,the gym is free for Hotel residents)
The lifts were a bit of a draw back,although I completely understand that renovation works have to be done at some point-It did cause some people to comment. I used the stairs several times (being on the 12th floor was hard enough for me-certainly not an options for some of your older guests) Give it another few weeks and iam sure all works will be complete. It was still "low season,so the work has to be done sometime.
The occupancy of the Hotel was 90% over 65-Not a problem at all. I met some really nice people.Good on them for travelling around and enjoying the nice weather.
In general I had a very nice stay and would definitely recommend the Preluna Hotel to anyone looking to visit the area of Sliema
Thanks again to the very helpful Hotel staff

Room Tip: 1212-amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keithelli0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preluna S, Guest Relations Manager at Preluna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Guest,

At first, thank you for your kind efforts to compose and publish your review.

We are very glad you have enjoyed the great view of the sea, our facilities and the breakfast served in the Triton restaurant.

We confirm that the lifts are now completed.

Thank you for your recommendation, we are truly appreciate your feedback and comments.

Looking forward to welcome you again in the Preluna Hotel – and next time if you feel the room a little bit noisy, please let us know about it so we can help with that.


With best wishes,
Daniel Diosi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigqn `
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Just spent 8days lovely hotel food people excellent service booked ten dayn trip with sun spot went hotel st Antonio hotel spa in St. Paul's bay was awful hotel staff not pleasant wasn't told before we went about renovation works pool being fully renovation so no where to sit or sun bathe and really noisy, rep was very good moved us to preluna no complaints had a lovely room gong ack 20th may5 star, just read Swiss girl 46 think we must haved stay at a different hotel, staf more than helpful was showed to table at all meal times we had room on the front and once you closed the doors didn't hear a thing know some people kept doors open

Room Tip: Ask for room 2108 may have to pay extra but lovely terrace double patio which opens onto balcony ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sussiemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preluna S, Guest Relations Manager at Preluna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the excellent review that you have kindly placed on Trip Advisor.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience at the Preluna Hotel and that you were satisfied with the your overall stay.

We are sorry to hear that you did not start off your holiday in Malta on a good note, however we are glad that you ended up staying with us and that you had an enjoyable stay.

Thank you for choosing the Preluna, it would be our pleasure to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Daniel Diosi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,316 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fortina Spa Resort
Fortina Spa Resort
#9 of 28 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
0.6 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Diplomat Hotel Malta
#11 of 28 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preluna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preluna Hotel & Spa

Property: Preluna Hotel & Spa
Address: 124, Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta 1000, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#3 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Preluna Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Sliema’s seafront, Malta’s Preluna Hotel & Spa features 3 restaurants, a spa, and a private beach. The spectacular Penthouse Lounge on the rooftop is open all day. The spacious rooms have views of the city or the Mediterranean Sea.All rooms at the Preluna are air-conditioned and feature a tea/coffee maker, a satellite TV, and a private bathroom with bath and shower. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.The well-equipped private beach features a large swimming pool, a kid’s pool, and a bar and grill. A diving school is available and a huge variety of water sports can be practised.The spa includes an indoor swimming pool with 2 large hot tubs, and a wide range of fitness and relaxation facilities. Hot tubs are also available on Preluna’s stunning roof terrace, which also features a mini-golf course.The restaurants are open for lunch and dinner. One offers a varied buffet, and the other 2 specialise in Italian and Japanese cuisine. A free Flavours of Malta dancing evening is arranged weekly, ideal to sample Maltese foods, wines and liqueurs, and learn about the local heritage and traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Preluna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preluna Hotel And Spa
Preluna Hotel Malta
Preluna Malta
Hotel Malta Preluna
Preluna Hotel Sliema
Preluna Hotel & Spa Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing