We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

We have recently returned from 2 weeks at the Preluna. We stayed on the 4th floor of the Towers, we had a balcony & sea view which is worth paying for. There was some building work going on next door, but this did not disturb us. The location is excellent with bus stop right outside the hotel. We used the pool most days & did not have any problem getting a sunbed. The staff at the pool were all very friendly & helpful & you can get drinks & snacks.
We stayed on a bed & breakfast basis, there was a lot of choice for breakfast. The staff in the restaurant worked very hard clearing tables & were friendly.
The room was very clean & tidy, sheets & towels changed nearly every day.
Overall, an excellent holiday & will certainly be returning to The Preluna. Thank you to all the staff at The Preluna.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    820
    507
    209
    112
See reviews for
379
966
181
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We had a wonderful two weeks holiday in Sliema, on the Island of Malta. We stayed at the Preluna Hotel & Spa, which is situated right on the front, overlooking the sea. It was our second holiday to the Island, staying at the same hotel, on an all inclusive booking. The accommodation was excellent, as we had requested a room with a balcony and a sea view. All the staff are very friendly and eager to help with anything. The main buffet style restaurant offers an excellent choice of food to suit everyone. As a Coeliac, which is a gluten intolerance, the restaurant provided an extensive variety of foods to suit my intolerance. In fact the chefs, when seeing me enter the restaurant, would advise me on everything that was suitable for me. They told me if I would like a pasta dish, one evening, it would be cooked especially. Also gluten-free bread was available for breakfast or when having soup. As a special treat they baked a gluten-free strawberry gateaux, mini version, for me on our last evening there. They really do aim to please, seriously though the whole of our holiday would be ruined if the food was not right for me; if I eat something with gluten in it I become very poorly within a couple of hours. So for us, the whole of the holiday package is extremely important. We could have gone to another hotel, in another resort on the Island, but the Preluna Hotel & Spa provides the whole package for us. We can't praise them enough! Sliema offers a good variety of restaurants and bars for those who choose not to go all inclusive. Also we found a good mixture of ages, including families, so Malta is for everyone. We love the Maltese Islands and the people, we also hope to return again next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

This is an ideal place to stay within an easy bus ride to Valletta and other places of interest. An excellent buffett breakfast with many dining out eateries within a 20 minute walk . If you can I would advise booking a seaview room which has an amazing outlook.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preluna S, Guest Relations Manager at Preluna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for submitting your review here on Tripadvisor. We are glad you have enjoyed the sea view room and the inclusive pool as well.

Another option is to come during the late autumn / early winter period when everything is more relaxed while the weather is still pleasant. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Daniel Diosi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We visited this hotel in June after staying there four years ago
The hotel was very good last time in all areas and this is the reason we returned
We chose a sea view again and this is well worth it for a perfect sunrise and view of the whole coastline(watch out for the gap between the balcony handrail and the floor you could Easley loose a shoe)
Our room was clean and tidy maybe 3 star and not 4 star maid service was good
Food was very good with a lot of variety for breakfast and dinner, all hot well cooked and fresh
We chose all inclusive this time so we did use the pool bar for food and the main restaurant a few times and again all great and we were surprised how good even the pool bar was for food considering its size (pool staff were very friendly and helpful if you couldn't find a lounger)
All inclusive was really good for us as we just needed to carry the green card with us and no money required which was very handy when over the road at the pool
There are 2 things that i would say that could be improved upon,the reception area is the same as it was 4 years ago and is in need of refurbishment, the teak wood panels and soft furnishings are very dated and need an upgrade
Also the entertainment was geared for older people, we are 49 and 55 not ready for retirement entertainment yet
These 2 things are my only criticism and it would not stop me from returning to the hotel again as the location is ideal and the service and food were great
If you want to travel around malta by bus 12 euros per person for a 7 day unlimited pass at a fraction of the cost of one tour if you don't mind waiting a bit for a bus, we did this and visited medina, three cites it was so easy
Also if you want a harbour trip split up and ask because they do try and undercut earth other, we genuinely did not mean to do this but as a result got a harbour trip for 2 for 10 euros instead of 16

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We booked a package trip through Thomas cook and feel the standard was as expected. Our room was to the back of the hotel with no balcony as you had to pay extra for this. The view was very poor, just rooftops of nearby properties although we were quite happy with this as did not spend much time in the room. We had friends with a sea view/balcony room and they had alot of trouble with road noise. If we wanted to sit outside in the evening we just went up to the sky bar. the room was basic. There was a small fridge which was useful for drinks we bought from a local supermarket (to save on buying from the hotel). The hairdryer in the room was impossible to use though! It was screwed down in one of the drawers and you had to pull quite hard in the cable to raise it above your head to dry your hair if you wanted to do this standing up. Would have been better on the wall or with a longer cable. Bathroom was good. Full size bath and powerful shower. Breakfast was good but very busy, I guess just a consequence of a large hotel with a slightly too small breakfast room - not really their fault. The wide selection of food was replaced quickly and never ran out. You just had to be a little patient with other guests when going up to the buffet.
Pool was good. Towels and sun loungers always available. Little hot tub on the roof if you wanted a change, but difficult to get any service up there so we used to take drinks or go down to the bar to buy more.

Room Tip: Higher floors if you have a balcony to reduce road noise. Rooms at the back are nice and quiet (and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmcquire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Stayed here three times mostly out of season, staff are very friendly good food and plenty of it, hotel is in a good position for getting to valletta or St. Juliens, and not to many time share touts . will go again

Room Tip: Get a sea view room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

we booked a 2 week stay where we had stayed last year. We found the standard of food had deteriorated considerably.While the general facilities were 4 star there was much that was not. The beds are a wooden frame with a solid ply base and poor worn out mattresses. The handling and presentation of food, particularly at breakfast, was very poor. While ther I was taken to hospital and my wife spent 6 days in our room with a stomach bug. Although the hotel knew I had been taken to hospital and that my wife was ill they made no attempt to contact us. We called the doctor that the hotel said we should and for a 3 minute visit he charged 60 euros. later when I called another doctor recommended by a friend he only charged 20 euros for amuch more professional visit. This indicates to me that the hotel should look at who they recommend. Generally a big disappointment for a 4 star hotel which did not come up to standard, I would say the food and the beds and also the air conditioning system which only blew hot air make many parts of this hotel only worthy of 2 star. Try the Fortina instead, much better.

Room Tip: seaview essential tower is probably better than main.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 987JamesNeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preluna S, Guest Relations Manager at Preluna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry that our Hotel did not meet your personal standards. The food served in the Triton restaurant is usually praised by our guests, however we are sorry that it did not live up to your expectations.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Malta!

Kind regards,
Daniel Diosi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sliema hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,424 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,962 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fortina Spa Resort
Fortina Spa Resort
#8 of 28 in Sliema
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.6 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 28 in Sliema
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preluna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preluna Hotel & Spa

Property: Preluna Hotel & Spa
Address: 124, Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta 1000, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Preluna Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Sliema’s seafront, Malta’s Preluna Hotel & Spa features 3 restaurants, a spa, and a private beach. The spectacular Penthouse Lounge on the rooftop is open all day. The spacious rooms have views of the city or the Mediterranean Sea.All rooms at the Preluna are air-conditioned and feature a tea/coffee maker, a satellite TV, and a private bathroom with bath and shower. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.The well-equipped private beach features a large swimming pool, a kid’s pool, and a bar and grill. A diving school is available and a huge variety of water sports can be practised.The spa includes an indoor swimming pool with 2 large hot tubs, and a wide range of fitness and relaxation facilities. Hot tubs are also available on Preluna’s stunning roof terrace, which also features a mini-golf course.The restaurants are open for lunch and dinner. One offers a varied buffet, and the other 2 specialise in Italian and Japanese cuisine. A free Flavours of Malta dancing evening is arranged weekly, ideal to sample Maltese foods, wines and liqueurs, and learn about the local heritage and traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Preluna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preluna Hotel And Spa
Preluna Hotel Malta
Preluna Malta
Hotel Malta Preluna
Preluna Hotel Sliema
Preluna Hotel & Spa Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing