We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent location, elderly clientele” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Preluna Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Decent location, elderly clientele”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

I stayed in the Preluna whilst on a work trip to Malta, it was a pleasant stay but i wouldn't have been happy had i footed the bill myself. The hotel was in a decent location on the sea front in Sliema and close to the shopping district around Tigne Point. It is about a 40 min walk to St Julians or a 10 minute bus journey, with a daily return ticket for only 2.60. The waterfront leisure club was closed in April as it was still 'winter season' despite the temperature being over 25'c. Another thing i would like to add would be the age of the clientele in the hotel, Myself and my girlfriend are in our early to mid-20's and actually felt uncomfortable whilst sitting in the bar area for happy hour. We indulged in a few cocktails, yet we were surrounded by people sleeping, knitting and reading. We decided to finish our drinks in our room before we also fell asleep. The Buffet breakfast was nice, the beds were comfortable, but the Wi-Fi was absolutely terrible. Something they definitely need to sort out.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DannyDIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preluna S, Guest Relations Manager at Preluna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Preluna for your holiday and also thank you for sharing your experience. While we are happy that you found the location decent, we are very sorry for your disappointment. Our guests vary in age depending on the time of year however you can find countless hubs and venues around the hotel for your age. Paceville is just a few bus stops away, offering sparkling nightlife and you can always visit one of the many beautiful beaches of the area – also by bus. Despite your remarks we hope you had a great holiday in Malta.

Kind regards,
Daniel Diosi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    760
    469
    192
    107
See reviews for
345
898
173
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Donegal, Ire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Just returned from a week in the Preluna Hotel. It is ideally based in Sliema, you can walk to nearby St Julians's or to the Sliema front or if you prefer you can just cross the road and get a bus to either place, you can also get the sightseeing bus from outside.
The Hotel is very welcoming and the staff are extremely friendly and courteous. The room was cleaned every day with fresh towels etc....I would suggest that a little refurbishment to the rooms would help greatly. The rooms are comfortable, the lifts are interesting in that they have a mind of their own!
The food at breakfast was what would be expected and there was plenty of choice. I would recommend this hotel as it is in the perfect location especially if you like to walk to places rather than take the bus.
I had read the reviews before I went and wasn't too sure what to expect but I was pleasantly surprised.
Thank you for an enjoyable and relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Ask for Sea View room otherwise you will be looking out the back at other buildings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preluna S, Guest Relations Manager at Preluna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to share your thoughts about the Preluna. We are glad that you chose us for your stay despite of some of the negative reviews here. Also thank you for your recommendation and highlighting our friendly staff, the breakfast and the location.
As you might now, we are always working to keep the hotel updated, we just finished the complete refurbishment of 21 inland rooms, you should try it next time. Also the elevators are new installations, as is the new look and feel of the Skyroom Penthouse.
Thank you for your comments one more time.
Looking forward to see you again!

Kind regards,
Daniel Diosi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent - central, near everything with an excellent bus service to Valetta and lots of other places. An all day ticket cost 1.60 Euro with no travel restrictions during the day - excllent value. The hotel itself has lots of facilities and no shortage of space to sit and relax, likewise plenty of pool chairs etc with pool towels supplied. While the hotel is listed as a four star hotel, I would question that rating though. Food was quite good and varied. One problem, which is my personal view, is that the senior staff in the dining room (buffet) were very unfriendly and most authoritive to the junior staff. I assume a lot of these were summer students. However, I felt they should be treated with respect. I found these staff friendly and helpful at all times. In fact the senior staff should take notice of these young people's approach to diners. Check-in, check-out very efficient and all reception staff very helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: I would suggest taking a high floor room with a sea view. This will of course cost extra but the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NOC16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preluna S, Guest Relations Manager at Preluna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. Also thank you for sharing your personal view in regards of the restaurant personnel, we appreciate your honesty a lot.
The hotel is listed as a four star hotel as it delivers four star standards both in regards of accommodation, facilities (indoor and outdoor pools, restaurants, entertainment) quality and gastronomy. Overall, our aim is to provide great value for money and keeping our standards high.
We hope your holiday was a memorable one.
Kind regards,
Daniel Diosi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Just stayed at preluna again was just what we needed Breakfast was buffet style full english and anything u wanted even Baked beans usual continatal as well and as much as you could eat great if staying bed annd breakfast as we were Hotel right on front with great sea views if wanted recomend internal room if want quite we stayed on second floor of Tower room was Basic but new Bathroom great air conditioning very much needed as over 32 most days.Malta a great place for history undergoing lots of building all over island if going bring plenty of euros as lota of attractions costing 30 plus euros I sugest the 12 euro bus pass for the week can do things much cheeper than tour operater can offer try out the Vendor in hotel or just down Plaza.Sliema near St julians great for families.Will be back soon hopefully Wife loved it so much wanted to move there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archinnner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preluna S, Guest Relations Manager at Preluna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your efforts to post your review on Tripadvisor. We are very glad to hear that you and your wife loved Malta. We are also glad about you liked the breakfast served in the Triton restaurant. Our chefs are prepare it with high standards and the food is one of the strengths of the Preluna.

If you have an option, try Malta during late October or November, it is beautiful.
Looking forward to welcome you again!

Kind regards,
Daniel Diosi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

We have recently returned from 2 weeks at the Preluna. We stayed on the 4th floor of the Towers, we had a balcony & sea view which is worth paying for. There was some building work going on next door, but this did not disturb us. The location is excellent with bus stop right outside the hotel. We used the pool most days & did not have any problem getting a sunbed. The staff at the pool were all very friendly & helpful & you can get drinks & snacks.
We stayed on a bed & breakfast basis, there was a lot of choice for breakfast. The staff in the restaurant worked very hard clearing tables & were friendly.
The room was very clean & tidy, sheets & towels changed nearly every day.
Overall, an excellent holiday & will certainly be returning to The Preluna. Thank you to all the staff at The Preluna.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We had a wonderful two weeks holiday in Sliema, on the Island of Malta. We stayed at the Preluna Hotel & Spa, which is situated right on the front, overlooking the sea. It was our second holiday to the Island, staying at the same hotel, on an all inclusive booking. The accommodation was excellent, as we had requested a room with a balcony and a sea view. All the staff are very friendly and eager to help with anything. The main buffet style restaurant offers an excellent choice of food to suit everyone. As a Coeliac, which is a gluten intolerance, the restaurant provided an extensive variety of foods to suit my intolerance. In fact the chefs, when seeing me enter the restaurant, would advise me on everything that was suitable for me. They told me if I would like a pasta dish, one evening, it would be cooked especially. Also gluten-free bread was available for breakfast or when having soup. As a special treat they baked a gluten-free strawberry gateaux, mini version, for me on our last evening there. They really do aim to please, seriously though the whole of our holiday would be ruined if the food was not right for me; if I eat something with gluten in it I become very poorly within a couple of hours. So for us, the whole of the holiday package is extremely important. We could have gone to another hotel, in another resort on the Island, but the Preluna Hotel & Spa provides the whole package for us. We can't praise them enough! Sliema offers a good variety of restaurants and bars for those who choose not to go all inclusive. Also we found a good mixture of ages, including families, so Malta is for everyone. We love the Maltese Islands and the people, we also hope to return again next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

This is an ideal place to stay within an easy bus ride to Valletta and other places of interest. An excellent buffett breakfast with many dining out eateries within a 20 minute walk . If you can I would advise booking a seaview room which has an amazing outlook.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PRLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preluna S, Guest Relations Manager at Preluna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for submitting your review here on Tripadvisor. We are glad you have enjoyed the sea view room and the inclusive pool as well.

Another option is to come during the late autumn / early winter period when everything is more relaxed while the weather is still pleasant. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Daniel Diosi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,254 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fortina Spa Resort
Fortina Spa Resort
#7 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
0.6 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Diplomat Hotel Malta
#10 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preluna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preluna Hotel & Spa

Property: Preluna Hotel & Spa
Address: 124, Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta 1000, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Preluna Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Sliema’s seafront, Malta’s Preluna Hotel & Spa features 3 restaurants, a spa, and a private beach. The spectacular Penthouse Lounge on the rooftop is open all day. The spacious rooms have views of the city or the Mediterranean Sea.All rooms at the Preluna are air-conditioned and feature a tea/coffee maker, a satellite TV, and a private bathroom with bath and shower. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.The well-equipped private beach features a large swimming pool, a kid’s pool, and a bar and grill. A diving school is available and a huge variety of water sports can be practised.The spa includes an indoor swimming pool with 2 large hot tubs, and a wide range of fitness and relaxation facilities. Hot tubs are also available on Preluna’s stunning roof terrace, which also features a mini-golf course.The restaurants are open for lunch and dinner. One offers a varied buffet, and the other 2 specialise in Italian and Japanese cuisine. A free Flavours of Malta dancing evening is arranged weekly, ideal to sample Maltese foods, wines and liqueurs, and learn about the local heritage and traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TravelUp, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Preluna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preluna Hotel And Spa
Preluna Hotel Malta
Preluna Malta
Hotel Malta Preluna
Preluna Hotel Sliema
Preluna Hotel & Spa Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing