We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“standards have dropped”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“standards have dropped”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

having been to this hotel at least three times and always found it clean this time we where very disappointed.The rooms where shabby ,our bathroom floor was never mopped,there was a mark on the sink which we purposely left to see if it would be cleaned and it wasn,t the beds weren,t made properly etc.The restraunt at breakfast was chaotic and the evening meal was basic and repetetive .We had a seaview room which had a fantastic view but was very niosy day and night.This is still a good value for money hotel but needs urgent upgrades

Room Tip: rear rooms face a wall and some rooms have no windoes so although sea views are noisy they are still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preluna S, Director of Sales at Preluna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel again. We are sorry to hear that we did not reach your expectations, we are currently undergoing a refurbishment program and a number of rooms are being done over the next few months.
Should you decide to give us another chance when you visit Malta again, please contact Christabelle on crapinett@preluna.com and she will make sure that your stay, at the least meets your expectations!
Regards
Amanda Vassallo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    800
    489
    201
    109
See reviews for
363
939
180
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

As with all our trips to Malta, we always stay at the Preluna. It is in a very central position and all locations on the island can be easily accessed from the very frequent bus service, bus stops are just outside the hotel. As always, you are welcomed by very friendly staff who will look after you and quickly familiarise you with your initial needs to settle in.
The restaurand and kitchen staff are to be commended, the food is always excellent, plenty of choice, and being buffet service, you can have as little or as much as you like. Of SPECIAL NOTE, my wife is registered coeliac, we informed the hotel through the travel agent booking, and her dietry needs were very well cared for. Unlike some places we have been, noticably Thailand, the Preluna do really understand the meaning of coeliac. The kitchen staff, led by the Executive chef, with a special mention to Joey (Joseph) Grech, really did us proud.
Our sea view room was well cleaned every day.
All in all, a very very enjoyable break.

Room Tip: All rooms are accessed by a lift, so no problem there. Rooms can be high, floors 8-12 say, and if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preluna S, Director of Sales at Preluna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to type up this review, especially on your dads behalf. We are pleased to hear that he enjoyed his stay with us, and hope to welcome him back again soon,

Regards
Amanda Vassallo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The hotel preluna has been running since 1969. It could do with a refurbish. Our room had an ocean view with great views on the 12th floor. Room 1213. When l booked the room on the internet it showed a more modern look of the room with a queen bed, when we arrived to the hotel it was around 7.30 in the evening, we went straight up to our room to find two single beds. The single bed mattress was a little worn out but the next day we asked for a queen bed which they were more than happy to change for us. The TV was a flat screen but very small but it didn't matter because there wasnt much to watch that was in english. The room had airconditioning but it didnt work and the ceiling fan wasnt very good either. The room was clean. Breakfast was included which was a full buffet and the staff were friendly and the service was good. Plenty of food with a variety of cereals, fruits and hot and cold foods. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. Some of the staff didnt smile or seemed unsure of the jobs. The facilities and restaurants were good but the hotel foyer seemed a little dark.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelica65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preluna S, Director of Sales at Preluna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for your review, we are currently undergoing a refurbishment program where a number of rooms are being refurbished, some were also done last year. This is an ongoing program being done without causing disturbance to our clients.
We will make sure the check the other details in the room, however please do mention these during your stay as usually they can be fixed immediately.

Regards
Amanda Vassallo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

In general, this hotel has the potential to be very nice indeed, but was spoiled by the surliness of most of the staff. Or more specifically, most of the staff seemed to be in the wrong jobs. The "backstage" people we ran into were delightful and couldn't have been more helpful, even though that wasn't their real job; a big hand for John, the night concierge, who gave us a great welcome when we staggered in at 1 a.m.. But the Reception staff were a scary bunch. I tried to ask about having a late check-out. The young man behind the desk said No. I thought he was running on automatic, so I asked if I could speak to the Reception manager. He turned to the girl next to him, who seemed to be that person, and they conducted a long, negative-sounding discussion in Malti, tapping on a keyboard, before saying No again. Not once did the (seeming) manager make eye contact with me, let alone smile.

But then, any questions were answered with surliness; I don't think I saw anyone behind the desk smile once.

Likewise in the restaurant -- where the food was unsophisticated but perfectly OK -- the staff reacted to any special request with what looked very like annoyance. Perhaps the "package tour" nature of most of their customers has jaundiced them. I don't know. But if a guest complains about the wine (which was undrinkable; and I'll drink pretty much anything..!) there has to be a better option than grudgingly removing it, then coming back and angrily telling said guest that there's nothing wrong with the wine, it's just her skewed tastebuds. There was no offer of a refund (we weren't on an all-inclusive deal); we had to sort that out ourselves afterwards.

Additionally, the lifts are a pain. At busy times, it would be quicker to walk - via Sicily. And the room-card system they have threw several tantrums. We discovered the service elevator and used that instead.

But there was a lot of good stuff.

Our room was on the 12th floor, with a balcony and fantastic views along the sea-front (a lesson in just how hard they're trying to pave over Malta altogether..) It was a good size, and always clean. And quiet, despite being next to the lifts and under the bar where there was a singer most nights. The beds were hard and plastic mattress-covers with night-time temperatures in the 20s don't make for comfortable sleep; though at least when I took mine off, it was left off. The a/c didn't seem to do much apart from make a racket, but there was also a fan, which was effective.

The outdoor swimming-pool is great. Yes, you have to cross the road and yes there was a bit of sand on the bottom, no big deal. But the surrounds were always clean. Moreover, we had it to ourselves every time.. And if you prefer the sea, it's just a few steps away. We really enjoyed flopping from one to the other and back again..

Then there's the indoor spa, which impressed us a lot, from the friendliness of the staff (wow!!) to its cleanliness. The pool is small, but what can you expect from an in-hotel facility like this? The gym (which we didn't use!) is big and you can watch people sweat while you float in the warm water or sit in the jacuzzis - great fun. There are two very nice saunas and a steam room. It didn't matter that the saunas were small, since we managed to have those to ourselves too. The steam room did pack up on our last day, but the attendant seemed determined to sort that out. It would have been nice to have had some private showers (what do gym users do?) and one near the saunas, as well as the open one by the pool, but that's nit-picking.

The terrace on the roof was pleasant, although we were out and about during the day and didn't use it. Likewise the "hot" tub up there, which was actually cool, but probably shut down for winter.

One of the biggest pluses to the hotel is the convenience for transport. Lots of buses stop right outside, or ten minutes away at the ferry terminal. The ferry to Valletta takes twenty minutes; there are also buses there, and from there to everywhere else on the island. There are various sightseeing cruises from the ferry terminal; we bought a hop-on, hop-off bus ticket which included a boat trip round the three harbours. This was excellent.

There's also a good supermarket nearby, for economical snacks and very affordable bottles of wine for in-room aperitifs.

There are some good restaurants in the area. We tried "Mareluna", the Italian one attached to the hotel, but -- again! -- found the indifference of the staff offputting. The food was fine, though. We also ate at "Sakura", the Japanese place, where staff were welcoming and helpful (we were new to Japanese food!) and the food was great.
And we have to recommend "Ta' Kolina", a Maltese restaurant a short way along the sea-front; top-notch food, excellent staff and a very good atmosphere. We went twice!

Lastly, all the public areas we saw were always clean. In fact, there were cleaners hard at work when we got up at the crack of dawn on our last day. The architecture of the main building is dated, but that has a certain charm.

So we would recommend the place, but not unreservedly. Feeling that the staff of a hotel faintly resent you is a downer; but there is, luckily, much to make up for it.

Room Tip: Go for a room high up with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preluna S, Director of Sales at Preluna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Your comments both positive and negative have been handed over to management and they will action appropriately. We are sorry to hear about your experience with our staff, it is unusual as we are normally complimented on our staff's friendliness.

We thank you again for your comments
Regard
Amanda Vassallo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Returned to this hotel again for the second time,
l found everything spotless, very clean and tidy.
The staff are very courteous and helpful.
The food is always good, so much of it - I put on four pounds! It's cooked and presented well, very enjoyable.
Will be back again next year!
My dad is 75 and travels alone, but meets up with friends who also go every year.

Room Tip: The higher you are, the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preluna S, Director of Sales at Preluna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to type up this review, especially on your dad's behalf. We are so pleased he enjoyed his stay with us and hope to be welcoming him back soon. Should he need any assistance with his booking please contact Christabelle on crapinett@preluna.com
Regards
Amanda Vassallo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I had read the mixed reviews on this hotel but several travel brochures gave it a good write up and thought it would be OK. As soon as we walked though the door we knew that never in a million years would this be a 4* hotel.
Having checked in (we arrived after 2pm so could go straight to our room), the receptionist directed us to the lifts. This was a bit of laugh as we thought we had taken a wrong turn as there were no lifts in sight. Eventually we found them after quite a long walk from reception and though several public rooms with no natural daylight. When we arrived in our room at the back of the hotel on the 2nd floor, we had a great view into someone's apartment across the very narrow street. It was so dark in the room that we had to keep the lights on - not that they gave much light as they were incredibly dim. To see any sky you had to go onto the balcony and look up. The furniture in the room was of Travelodge standard and the flat screen TV was so small as to be useless - about the size of a latop screen. The bathroom was too small for two people to fit in at the same time.
We went to reception to find out if they could move us to a room with some sort of view and four days after we arrived they were able to move us into a seaview room on the 7th floor for which we had to pay extra. This room was of the same standard as the first one but had natural daylight and a view. The bathroom was also bigger as was the TV. The bath was one of the most comfortable I have used and had arm rests so I could read my book easily. There are no toiletries provided in the bathroom other than liquid soap and some plastic shower hats - we had to go out and buy some soap. Be aware, though, that the road in front of the hotel is very noisy and you need to keep the doors closed at night but don't worry about hearing the traffic thoughout the night as the AC and the ceiling fan will drown it out! When we were there in mid October, the AC couldn't cope with the heat (23-30C) and had to run on full as did the ceiling fan so heaven help anyone in the summer when it gets really hot.
The beds are FIRM and the pillows hard so take your own if you have any neck condition. The room was not well cleaned with bits left on the floor and coffee cup stains on the bedside table never wiped away. Sheets are clean and towels are plentiful and changed daily if required.
The dining room is poorly designed with the kitchen having a better view of the sea than the majority of tables. The manager is a surly type who complained when I asked for the table to be laid a full 5 minutes after we were seated. Surely it is better to hold customers at the entrance and seat them when the tables are laid rather than direct them to dirty tables. The food was repetitive and frankly on many days I struggled to find food that I wanted to eat.
Breakfast was exactly the same each day with the chef throwing fried/poached eggs into the serving container and the bacon so fatty that it became a game of hunt the meat. Presentation was not high on the agenda. My husband liked the house wine which was quite cheap and tasted good. You have to pay for water with your meal and if you go all inclusive (which we didn't) the drinks are severely limited to house wine and beer and a few soft drinks, hardly all inclusive!
The Italian restaurant attached to the hotel is superb and the chefs in the restaurant could do with a few lessons from theirs as presentation and food was of a very good quality - but you have to pay extra for that as it is not part of the hotel.
The lido across the road from the hotel is really awful. There are plenty of towels available as one reviewer wrote but they are little bigger than hand sized so you need plenty. The pool itself is gritty underfoot and the changing rooms are not very private, although clean.
The gym is very well appointed and is better than many I have seen in actual 4* hotels BUT you have to pay 5 euros a day to use it - never had to do that before. The indoor pool is OK but again dimly lit and small as are the saunas and steam room - 4 in there and you are really in each others personal space.
The hotel is not clean in the corridors - is that why the lighting is so dim so that you can't see the dirt? The carpet here extends up the wall like a skirting board and it was covered in dust, as was the dado rail I had the misfortune to lean against while waiting for the lift. Carpet edging strips were not used on our floor at the lift door - obviously masking tape was much cheaper!
On our last day the AC was turned off in the reception area (it was 30c outside without a breath of wind) and it became unbearable waiting for our transfer to the airport.
Everything about this hotel shouted "money saving exercise". It needs a complete refurbisment and redesign of the lido and public and dining rooms. A very shabby hotel.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank peachesTreharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preluna S, Director of Sales at Preluna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for your review, your comments have been passed on to the management team in order to action accordingly. We are sorry to hear that you will not return to the Preluna.

Regards
Amanda Vassallo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sliema hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
northwich
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Stayed at hotel for from 01/08 October 2013 - everything about the hotel and spa was really good. We had a superb spacious sea view room on fifth floor with nice big balcony. The bathroom was kept spotless everyday by friendly maid service.
The food (we had breakfast and dinner ) was good quality ,fresh ,well prepared with a really nice varied menu every day - something to cater for all tastes and appetites - all self service in a nice clean dinning room - the staff were really efficient in keeping tables clean.
The staff on the reception were all so pleasant and helpful - as they were throughout our stay.
Sky room - what fantastic views with entertainment nightly
Beach club - (just across the road ) Lots of sunbeds , towels supplied and nice changing rooms as well as little bar for drinks and snacks !
Did not use the mini golf but it looks okay.
As for the spa - well it is brilliant,( again towels supplied ) lovely leisure pool ,whirlpool, steam room and saunas.
Plenty more sun loungers and whirlpool on the eighth floor sun deck too with changing rooms and towels and telephone service for drinks and snacks.
This was our third trip to Malta - last two years we stayed nearer to the ferries in a four star hotel but we enjoyed our stay at the the Preluna more and will not hesitate in booking again next year.
Got to mention piano bar too - very nice ,pleasant ,comfortable place to sit and relax.

Room Tip: Our room on fifth floor at front of hotel was spacious - nice size balcony with lovely sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preluna S, Director of Sales at Preluna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, please do not hesitate to contact Christabelle on reservations@preluna.com if you decide to book Preluna for your next stay.
Regards
Amanda Vassallo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,350 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,895 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fortina Spa Resort
Fortina Spa Resort
#8 of 28 in Sliema
1,355 reviews
0.6 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preluna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preluna Hotel & Spa

Property: Preluna Hotel & Spa
Address: 124, Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta 1000, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#2 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Preluna Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Sliema’s seafront, Malta’s Preluna Hotel & Spa features 3 restaurants, a spa, and a private beach. The spectacular Penthouse Lounge on the rooftop is open all day. The spacious rooms have views of the city or the Mediterranean Sea.All rooms at the Preluna are air-conditioned and feature a tea/coffee maker, a satellite TV, and a private bathroom with bath and shower. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.The well-equipped private beach features a large swimming pool, a kid’s pool, and a bar and grill. A diving school is available and a huge variety of water sports can be practised.The spa includes an indoor swimming pool with 2 large hot tubs, and a wide range of fitness and relaxation facilities. Hot tubs are also available on Preluna’s stunning roof terrace, which also features a mini-golf course.The restaurants are open for lunch and dinner. One offers a varied buffet, and the other 2 specialise in Italian and Japanese cuisine. A free Flavours of Malta dancing evening is arranged weekly, ideal to sample Maltese foods, wines and liqueurs, and learn about the local heritage and traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Preluna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preluna Hotel And Spa
Preluna Hotel Malta
Preluna Malta
Hotel Malta Preluna
Preluna Hotel Sliema
Preluna Hotel & Spa Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing