We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it looks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not as good as it looks”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We have just spent a week at this hotel, and although we enjoyed our week, it is definitely not 4*. The maltese people are so friendly as are the hotel staff apart from a few in the restaurant, The hotel was not full, but breakfast time they struggled to cope, with tables not being cleared, also half the restaurant was shut, so tables were difficult to find. Only our opinion but we thought they had the smallest selection of food for breakfast and nothing seemed to change, We did wonder how they coped in summer. In all honesty the room we were given had a lovely view but desperately needed a really good clean and updating very tired, although the room had everyting one would need, tea and coffee making, hairdryer, toiletries etc, the tv channels were limited. This hotel has got good facilities a couple of extra restaurants, a spa hairdressers, entertainment, much the same. The skyroom on the 13 th floor had spectacular views and the cocktails were very enjoyable. To sum it up, the rooms where we stayed need updating, and a good clean, also the restaurant, would not return to that hotel, but would return to Malta.

Room Tip: Overlooking the sea,, Find out which ones have been renovated and go for those
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kentpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    800
    489
    201
    109
See reviews for
363
939
180
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mellieha
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

I was very surprised to be treated with such kindness and attention for only my first visit and that for a luncheon. Being disabled and in a wheelchair I often find well meaning staff but not geared up to be particularly helpful, not so here, they got it right all the time.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We chose the Preluna Hotel on the basis of recommendation by friends, and went there for Christmas and New Year, on the all-inclusive basis, staying in the Standard Seaview rooms, our party being myself, partner and my mother.

Upon arrival we thought that the rooms seemed a little stark - in our room there was only one chair, despite the fact that there were two of us, and the tv seemed a bit small by today's standards. I was also a bit perturbed to find the bathroom bin looked a bit dirty, though the cleaner said it was just rust, which I accept.

We arrived on 23rd December, so the Gala Dinner for Christmas Eve was the next day. This was held in the Meridian Room and seemed a bit chaotic - the tables were large, so we were seated with other people, and having just arrived, we didn't know them, which felt slightly awkward - probably for them too! Smaller tables might have been better. We weren't sure when we could go up and get food, so everyone just seemed to be sitting around waiting. In the end we got food, and it was fine - quite nice.

On arrival the other guests seemed to be mainly elderly people, but after Christmas was out of the way there seemed to be more of an influx of people varying from young couples, small groups of young people, families, etc, so after Christmas there was more of a cross section of people.

The meals that we had in the Triton Restaurant were lovely - some great soups and salads for starters, then pasta dishes, and main courses of meat and fish with veg. There was even the occasional Indian meal with curry, rice, pappadom, etc. There was a good selection of cheese, fruit and cake for dessert, as well as the occasional traditional pud such as apple crumble.

The Piazza was a great place to sit and hang out, and the staff on the bar were lovely. An afternoon tea was also served there of sandwiches, cake, and tea/coffee.

Come New Year's Eve we got chatting to some of the other guests and we all decided to head up to the balcony of the Skyroom to see the New Year in and look at the fireworks. Imagine our disappointment when we found that we weren't allowed in because there was a function going on! We were a bit peeved at this and had to head to the Meridian, although we would actually have preferred not to. As it was, the party laid on in the Meridian was ok, but the band playing were a bit dire.

The all-inclusive option proved to be quite a good deal, and includes the use of the well-equipped gym. There is a good range of drinks available on this option too.

The hotel is centrally located on the prom close to the centre of Sliema, and close to Sliema ferries. There is plenty to do within the hotel itself, with the Piazza Bar, the Skyroom, a pleasant Sun Terrace with jacuzzi, the gym, and indoor pool, mini-golf, a Japanese restaurant, weekly quiz night and bands.

The other guests all seemed pleasant and the atmosphere was friendly.

As said, the meals in the Triton were very good, but I was less keen on things which took place in the Meridian. The serving staff were very good, and usually chatty and friendly.

I would say that this hotel grew on me over the two week stay, despite a bit of a less impressive start. I would definitely come back here.

Room Tip: The view is great from the Seaview rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel over Christmas. Our room was lovely with a sea view. The staff were really helpful and couldn't do enough for you. The food was excellent at breakfast but didn't think much to the coffee machine. We did have the afternoon tea which stated "Fresh Finger Sandwiches: choose two from the following:- Cheese & Pickle, Ham & Dijon, Tomato & cucumber, Eclairs, Fruit & Dry Cake" We only got one sandwich each and there was no butter or pickle/mustard on either of them. There was no eclairs but was given a piece of madeira cake instead with a very small pot of tea which gave you one cup. Shame really as everything else was fabulous at this hotel. Entertainment was good in the evenings in the Sky Lounge. Only complaint.....which isn't the hotels fault, is that the corridors are noisy due to being laminate floor and some inconsiderate people banging and shouting/talking loudly in the corridors when returning from a night out. We met some people who had moved to this hotel from another one as the hotel they had booked was in a bad state of repair.....so we were very lucky. The swimming pool, sauna & steam room was pleasant. The rooftop sun terrace with a hot tub was lovely too. Bus stops were directly opposite the hotel to Valetta and a 5 min walk to get the ferry which for 1.5 euros took you over to Valetta. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors if getting a sea view as less traffic noise and ask for a room at the end of a corrido...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueLyn222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We did find the room grubby, pillows were lumpy and hard and we had issues with the towels which were of a poor quality and very thin. The room had a safe but it was extra to use and I think that as we had a Superior Seaview room it should have been included in the price. We were supplied with towelling dressing gowns and slippers but the dressing gowns were very tatty and the cleanliness of them was dubious so we did not use them. I had to request a second chair for our room as only one was provided!!! On the second day of our visit we arrived back to our room after breakfast to find a workman in the bathroom pulling off the mastic from around the bath and saying he was replacing all the old mastic with new as it was leaking, 1) shouldn't this have been done before we checked into the room and 2) it would have been nice to have been informed that this was going to happen!!! All in all the room was very disappointing. We found the food of a poor quality at the Buffet Resaurant, only ate there once and choose to eat out for New Year. My husband did enjoy the swimming pool and the staff were helpful and friendly but on the whole disappointing. Loved Malta and would come back again but think we would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Li S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sliema hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Gwann, Malta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We decided to spend the last days of 2013 and wake up in 2014 at this hotel and am pleased that we did it. The room was great and with an awesome seaview which also overlooked Tigne Point and Valletta. Food was great and so was the food. Will surely recommend it to my foreign friends since it is really located o the seafront, with all the bus stops near it and meters away from the sliema shopping centre. Suggest you also try the ferry from sliema to valletta and back as it was awesome.

Room Tip: Ask for the seaview as the upgrade is worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JVel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This ticked all the boxes - staff, food, room, entertainment were excellent. what a great way to celebrate the Christmas and New Year. We were told by several people not to recommend it as they wanted to keep it to themselves. By far the best in Malta that we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Sea view 5th floor (not the tower)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank janellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,350 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,895 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fortina Spa Resort
Fortina Spa Resort
#8 of 28 in Sliema
1,354 reviews
0.6 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preluna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preluna Hotel & Spa

Property: Preluna Hotel & Spa
Address: 124, Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta 1000, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#2 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Preluna Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Sliema’s seafront, Malta’s Preluna Hotel & Spa features 3 restaurants, a spa, and a private beach. The spectacular Penthouse Lounge on the rooftop is open all day. The spacious rooms have views of the city or the Mediterranean Sea.All rooms at the Preluna are air-conditioned and feature a tea/coffee maker, a satellite TV, and a private bathroom with bath and shower. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.The well-equipped private beach features a large swimming pool, a kid’s pool, and a bar and grill. A diving school is available and a huge variety of water sports can be practised.The spa includes an indoor swimming pool with 2 large hot tubs, and a wide range of fitness and relaxation facilities. Hot tubs are also available on Preluna’s stunning roof terrace, which also features a mini-golf course.The restaurants are open for lunch and dinner. One offers a varied buffet, and the other 2 specialise in Italian and Japanese cuisine. A free Flavours of Malta dancing evening is arranged weekly, ideal to sample Maltese foods, wines and liqueurs, and learn about the local heritage and traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Preluna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preluna Hotel And Spa
Preluna Hotel Malta
Preluna Malta
Hotel Malta Preluna
Preluna Hotel Sliema
Preluna Hotel & Spa Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing