We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Cornwall
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“excellent choice”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Really pleased with the Preluna hotel, excellant position, food choice good and staff very helpfull. Looking a little tired in places but didn't detract from overall apperance. We did decide to upgrade to seaview and very pleased we did despite a rather noisy road but the view more than made up for it ! We watched the cruise liners sailing into Valletta and very cheap buses made it easy to get around the island to see all the sites. There was a bit of a problem with the 'touts' outside the hotel selling the timshare within the Preluna! But I think they got the message eventually !! Likewise there was a constant banter along the harbour front for harbour trips!! You become hardened after a couple of days to them all. There is a good walk along the sea front towatds st julians bay and onwards, quite enjoyable I found.

Room Tip: Stayed on second floor in room 2113 at end and above restaurant so no lift noise just road but not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CornwallGilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    786
    485
    198
    109
See reviews for
357
926
177
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Enjoyed travelling to Malta. I went there for a friend's wedding and was a memorable trip. An amazing wedding destination!

I had taken very few warm clothes thinking it would be quite warm. But April still has the cold spells.

The Island is beautiful. People are relaxed.

The hotel is in a very good location but is definitely not a 4 Star hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger, Higher rooms are with better view (get ones facing the sea for a great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raju B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The hotel is in an ideal location for buses and touring. Decor and cleanliness acceptable Reception staff particularly helpful Paid extra for sea view and enjoyed sitting on the terrace but unable to sleep for traffic noise,which persisted most of the night , from busy main road.The hotel seems to attract a mainly older clientele.The main lounge sitting area is small soulless with old fashioned seating and reminded us of an old folk home. The entertainment is very average with 2 nights an elderly gent playing back ground music in lounge. Hardly inspiring or entertaining ? Dining room staff obliging and choice and standard of food good -- dinner menu offered different choices each evening. Breakfast was very mediocre - although basket of apples and oranges , fruit juice diluted concentrate served from a machine and fruit was tinned-- either pear or peaches. Was assured by Travel Rep that asking for fresh orange or grapefruit segments would not be a problem . However on asking was informed not available and I could slice my own orange ! Cooked breakfast buffet average .Tea and coffee machines positioned wrongly and had to hunt for teaspoons milk and sugar. Hate these make your own "roller machine " toasters .
Think hotels tries hard but dated with very little atmosphere .

Room Tip: Want good nights sleep avoid front rooms or take ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert186518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sliema hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Strommen, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We did not like the hotel.
The room was very old with sticky carpets. The dining area lacked proper hygiene and the staff was uneducated in their profession.
Overall the hotel seemed to be occupated by geriatic guest who did not mind the lack of service, hygiene and high speed internet access.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Comtemaltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Just back from a week at the preluna hotel in sliema, hotel has very good service all round, rooms very clean, even had a bottle of prosseca left in our room on arrival as we where celebrating our anniversary. the hotel does cater for the more older generation than us but that didn't effect us in any way. we stayed on a B&B basis and the breakfast was of a good choice everyday. the restaurant within the hotel called mareluna is a must to visit. the hotel is showing it's age and is undergoing improvement.

Room Tip: upgrade to see view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tattyChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm, Uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Just returned from 4 weeks at the Preluna - overall the hotel is still in pretty good shape but is showing its age in some areas ! This was our second visit so we knew what to expect.
Our room (well-worth paying extra for seaview) on 3rd floor was clean but the shower was old with a NON-moveable head, the wardrobe was also fairly old with badly closing doors and the doors onto the balcony did not seal very well on closing so there was a bit of a draught when windy & some traffic noise - however the beds were clean & comfortable and the heating, TV, mini-bar & hairdryer all in good working order. Room was cleaned daily, plenty of good quality towels & bed linen changed frequently. We were told that the rooms are being re-furbished on a `rolling programme`.
Public areas, bars, reception, etc. clean & comfortable & all staff polite, cheerful & helpful.
Indoor Pool, Sauna & Steam Room - small but clean & adequate - we used pool almost every day for an early morning swim - good long opening hours.
Entertainment - mostly repetative, a bit old-fashioned & not to our taste but a couple of nights were good with younger singers/guitarists.
And finally - FOOD - we were half-board for 4 weeks so good edible food is a must when you stay for that length of time! We ate in the Triton restaurant every breakfast and at least 24 out of 28 evening meals - always plenty of choice - themed evenings were excellent & menus were rotated fortnightly so we never got bored with the same food - there was always soup & 3 other `starters` and main course was at least 3 hot meat dishes and a fish dish as well as the usual salads, cold meats, etc. Dessert - cakes, fresh fruit, jelly, ice-creams, cheese/biscuits.............need I go on! Food was of good quality & freshly cooked, the chefs were keen to advise & help when asked about some of the local specialities and the waiting staff were most attentive (especially David).
All in all I would recommend the Preluna.

Room Tip: Sea-view rooms worth paying extra for. Higher floor = less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRAGON_Yarm_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Visited in September/Oct 13, given the most awful room with no air con and in really high temperatures. We were given a mobile air con unit that leaked and flooded water all over the floor. This went on for several days before we were finally given a decent room that was worthy of a '4* hotel'. Restaurant eating was manic with some rude senior members of staff. The food was very much of the same kind. One guest complained of red insects crawling in the weetabix which was a worry. The maids kept the rooms very clean and were most friendly. Public rooms had no air con during the evenings, making for a very uncomfortable evening with no respite from the heat. The lifts were scary and guests were quite apprehensive about using them and the lifts often broke down with guests trapped in them. During the high season the hotel seems to struggle and unable to cope with high numbers of guests. We felt unwell in the heat with no air con and unsafe in what we felt was an uncaring environment, so we paid for a flight to travel home early. No we would not return!

Room Tip: Make sure to mention working air con if this is important to you in summer heat
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ellen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,324 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fortina Spa Resort
Fortina Spa Resort
#9 of 28 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
0.6 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Diplomat Hotel Malta
#11 of 28 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preluna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preluna Hotel & Spa

Property: Preluna Hotel & Spa
Address: 124, Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta 1000, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#3 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Preluna Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Sliema’s seafront, Malta’s Preluna Hotel & Spa features 3 restaurants, a spa, and a private beach. The spectacular Penthouse Lounge on the rooftop is open all day. The spacious rooms have views of the city or the Mediterranean Sea.All rooms at the Preluna are air-conditioned and feature a tea/coffee maker, a satellite TV, and a private bathroom with bath and shower. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.The well-equipped private beach features a large swimming pool, a kid’s pool, and a bar and grill. A diving school is available and a huge variety of water sports can be practised.The spa includes an indoor swimming pool with 2 large hot tubs, and a wide range of fitness and relaxation facilities. Hot tubs are also available on Preluna’s stunning roof terrace, which also features a mini-golf course.The restaurants are open for lunch and dinner. One offers a varied buffet, and the other 2 specialise in Italian and Japanese cuisine. A free Flavours of Malta dancing evening is arranged weekly, ideal to sample Maltese foods, wines and liqueurs, and learn about the local heritage and traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, HostelWorld, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Preluna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preluna Hotel And Spa
Preluna Hotel Malta
Preluna Malta
Hotel Malta Preluna
Preluna Hotel Sliema
Preluna Hotel & Spa Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing