We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, friendly staff, great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, friendly staff, great food”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed a week at the Preluna with family celebrating a 60th birthday. The hotel was lovely, very clean and the staff were fantastic - nothing was too much trouble for them. We asked at reception if they could arrange a birthday cake to be made for us to present with our evening meal - this was superbly organized by both reception and dining staff.
The hotel is on a fantastic location right on the seafront, with great views of Sliema - especially from the Sky lounge on the 13th floor.
Rooms were very comfortable and were cleaned to a good standard every day. We all agreed though that the highlight was definately the food. There is lots of variety and tasted great - especially the desserts - all home made. We were planning to eat out at one or two restaurants throughout the week for a bit of a change, but due to the high quality food on offer in the hotel, stayed for every breakfast, lunch and dinner!!
We were all inclusive and given cards that need to be produced for meals and drinks orders, but we changed for a wrist band for convenience. Pool area nice, but quite shaded but not a problem as there are plenty of other areas on the sea front to catch the sun.
Overall, we had a lovely stay at the Preluna. Fully recommend, and will plan to come back in the near future.

Room Tip: Upgrade to sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    802
    490
    202
    109
See reviews for
363
940
180
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed at the Preluna for 4 nights in June. The photo on the website and in travel brochures is slightly misleading as it shows the newer Preluna Towers part of the hotel. Our room was on the 2nd floor in the original part of the hotel and while quite spacious and clean was a bit tired. Having said that the bathroom had been updated and was well appointed with an excellent shower. We had a small sofa in the room as well as a safe, air conditioning and a ceiling fan.

Breakfast was very busy but there was a good selection of hot and cold food as well as cereals and fruit. Could imagine the breakfast experience being quite hectic during July and August as the hotel is large. Check in and check out were fine and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel has a bar on the 13th floor with far reaching views and swimming pools for the use of guests are located across the road (can't comment on the pools as we didn't use them).

The hotel is well situated in that the buses to Valletta, Sliema Harbour, St Julian's etc stop just outside and the taxi rank is opposite. The hotel faces the sea so the views are lovely and the promenade was opposite for easy walking to St Julian's where there were some lovely restaurants. However, the downside for us was that the road was very busy and being on the 2nd floor we heard all the traffic noise. Sitting on our balcony we felt as if we were almost on the street so it wasn't the most relaxing place. A room on a higher floor would probably solve this problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor to avoid the noise from the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph6058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

The rating system needs reviewing. This hotel offers many things to earn its star rating. Yes it's clean and staff friendly but
If you provide air con, leave instructions on operation. I was in room 6204. It was noisy, confusing to use
If you provide a tv don't make it the smallest tv in the world. I'm sick of TVs around the world that only offer English news programs.
If you offer wifi make it work properly, not just in the lobby or in the toilet.
Beds. What we need most of all but not £30 divans bought from Argos.
Sheets. At least have fitted sheets
Pillows. Make them soft and comfortable as a minimum.
So if you offer all these services make them, useable, desirable and comfortable. Oh and if you offer a spa and indoor pool, don't close it for maintainence without notification.
If you offer a pool make it exclusive and don't sell off the sun beds to all and sundry leaving none for the paying guests.
This hotel offers much but provides the bare minimum and customers fall for it

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
13 Thank Baroncustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sliema hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Arrived at the hotel and still standing at reception with issues needing resolved. We had booked two rooms on a high floor in the refurbished part of the hotel, in January. Yes that's over 6 months ago. Guess what. We arrived and the rooms are on different floors. With small children that is utterly unacceptable. Offered upgrades to compensate but makes no difference as we still need two rooms together. Utter disorganization. Now have to spend one night with the family on different floors with a possibility of two rooms together tomorrow. Means we can't unpack. First day a mess. Thanks preluna. Will update this review over time if I ever make it away from reception to a room of any kind! By the way we are not the only people with problems at reception. On the plus side the receptionist is trying her heart out to deal with a difficult situation that someone has put her in.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
11 Thank trevor m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We arrived at lunchtime and reception staff were very welcoming. We had booked the All-Inclusive and where able to start enjoying the facilities while waiting for our room.
Our room was clean, well presented with a great view over the bay.
Buffet Restaurant has all you would expect but the highlight is certainly the Sushi Restaurant. Limited selection which is a downside. But food is great.
Beach club is good, sea water pool. Sun beds are limited, usual story lots of towels reserving beds and not being used.
Over all would recommend this hotel as excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chefbenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed at the Preluna for 10 days in June. Had a recently refurbished room on the 12th floor with balcony and sea view. The lifts were new. It was a large comfortable room with modern furniture, large bed, a table and two chairs plus a fridge, in room safe, TV and aircon plus a ceiling fan. Good sized bathroom, The room was clean and serviced each day. The sea view was wonderful and we could relax on the balcony watching the boats go by and ships coming out of Valetta. We found the staff to be very polite and helpful especially the reception and dining room staff. Stayed half board and found the food in Triton's restaurant to be of good quality with large and varied selections for both breakfast and evening meal. The menu varied each day. Entertainment in the Sky room was very good especially the singer and keyboard player on the Mondays. We found the bar prices to be very reasonable as were food and drink prices in Malta generally. Location was good with buses regularly passing to Valletta and shops and entertainment within walking distance or short bus ride. There is a vending machine for water and drinks and snacks also an ice machine. We didn't use all the hotel facilities. The lifts and landings at the rear of the hotel looked ready for refurbishment and there were one or two minor niggles but nothing to put us off. We would definitely return as we enjoyed the hotel, the location and Malta and the Maltese in general.

Room Tip: Choose the sea view rooms on the front with balcony because they appear to have been refurbished and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul_Julian2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We've stayed at the Preluna Hotel several times over the years and the standards have remained very high. The hotel is well situated looking out over the Mediterranean and a short distance to the shops. The staff are knowledgeable, professional and very friendly with an excellent knowledge of English. The restaurant and food is of the highest standard with a wide choice to suit everyone. Rooms are clean and have a safe, fridge and air conditioning. We will stay at the Preluna again and would recommend it to all holiday makers.

Room Tip: Select a room with a sea view and watch the sun rise over the Med every morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,354 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,903 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fortina Spa Resort
Fortina Spa Resort
#8 of 28 in Sliema
1,359 reviews
0.6 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preluna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preluna Hotel & Spa

Property: Preluna Hotel & Spa
Address: 124, Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta 1000, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Preluna Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Sliema’s seafront, Malta’s Preluna Hotel & Spa features 3 restaurants, a spa, and a private beach. The spectacular Penthouse Lounge on the rooftop is open all day. The spacious rooms have views of the city or the Mediterranean Sea.All rooms at the Preluna are air-conditioned and feature a tea/coffee maker, a satellite TV, and a private bathroom with bath and shower. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.The well-equipped private beach features a large swimming pool, a kid’s pool, and a bar and grill. A diving school is available and a huge variety of water sports can be practised.The spa includes an indoor swimming pool with 2 large hot tubs, and a wide range of fitness and relaxation facilities. Hot tubs are also available on Preluna’s stunning roof terrace, which also features a mini-golf course.The restaurants are open for lunch and dinner. One offers a varied buffet, and the other 2 specialise in Italian and Japanese cuisine. A free Flavours of Malta dancing evening is arranged weekly, ideal to sample Maltese foods, wines and liqueurs, and learn about the local heritage and traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TravelUp, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Preluna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preluna Hotel And Spa
Preluna Hotel Malta
Preluna Malta
Hotel Malta Preluna
Preluna Hotel Sliema
Preluna Hotel & Spa Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing