We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old favourite with high standards.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We returned earlier this week from a further visit to the Preluna Hotel, Malta. It is, I believe, almost impossible to review the hotel without making reference to its general setting within the area as when it comes to making recommendations (or otherwise), the surroundings may be of great importance.
The island of Malta, to my mind, is an absolute jewel in the Mediterranean. I would admit that parts of it are not the prettiest but this is usually due to its lack of rainfall causing it to look less verdant than other holiday locations. But, if you want a holiday with very little chance of your time being spoilt by rain then this is the place for you. Having said that there is a lack of rainfall you will find in many places that central reservations on roads are planted with beautiful hibiscus flowers which survive the dry conditions very well. There has also been a lot of work carried out by local growers to irrigate land by use of, I believe, bore holes and other methods. There is a thriving wine industry and the greenery of the vineyards is welcome.
Historically Malta has much to offer and there is plenty to explore apart from organised displays, museums etc.
The Preluna Hotel itself is a sea-front hotel and in this case it is one of the seafront promenades which has had the great benefits of European investment and good planning. The result has been a wide, level promenade set with benches where one can sit and digest ones evening meal while engaging in a little 'people watching'. The Maltese are a very family oriented people and it is nice to see couples and whole families strolling by, interspersed with more active joggers and walkers of all ages and both sexes, some of whom move at surprising speed - be careful!
It is worth noting that Sliema, the area in which the hotel is situated, is really in two parts. The higher part is the hotel area and then slightly further around the coast is the lower part, a pleasant walk. Known as The Strand. It is here that one will find the pleasure boats plying their trade and then across from the waterfront, in the town area is a shopping area which has become quite sophisticated in its shops and traders over the years.
Returning to the hotel, this has benefited greatly from having the main lifts upgraded - no more refusing to operate with a relatively small load. The usual high standards of cleanliness have been maintained throughout the hotel, although I did note - and reported to the hotel on their own customer satisfaction sheet- that the tile work at the edge of the 'lido', situated across the street could do with a clean up. Having said that, the lido itself, consisting of the pool, a sun lounge area, a bar serving drinks and snacks and an area of tables and chairs is quite pleasant for a few 'lazy' hours.
Within the hotel, the Triton restaurant continues to produce food of good variety and quantity, and attended by pleasant staff always happy to assist. There is also a Japanese restaurant and an Italian style restaurant within the complex but we have tried neither and so cannot give an opinion on these.
The Skyroom is excellent for evening drinks and pleasant entertainment - nothing hectic, just pleasantly 'grown up'.
One of the things that always seems to 'make' this hotel are the staff. They are a most helpful and cheerful bunch, ready when their duties permit to talk in favourable terms about their hotel, their Island and, where appropriate, themselves. The reception staff are particularly helpful and efficient. I have had conversations with two or three of them and one, John, always strikes me as particularly proud of the hotel and his work and he has a particular love (as, it should be said, have many of the Maltese still) of the British. In this he becomes, himself. an exceptional ambassador for his own country, his countrymen and, indeed, the hotel.
Malta and, I hope, the Preluna, have not seen the last of us and I have no hesitation in recommending it to other prospective visitors.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front of the hotel have a more pleasant aspect but can be noisy due to road noise. With...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Puffing_Billy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

822 - 828 of 2,237 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

As above plus rooms were clean, service was great, plenty to do. Pool and sea location was great. Only drawback was the hall smelt of smoke and pool bar food was over priced.

We had a lovely time drinking wine in happy hour, eating the free peanuts and singing oh Danny boy....

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tarrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed a week at the Preluna with family celebrating a 60th birthday. The hotel was lovely, very clean and the staff were fantastic - nothing was too much trouble for them. We asked at reception if they could arrange a birthday cake to be made for us to present with our evening meal - this was superbly organized by both reception and dining staff.
The hotel is on a fantastic location right on the seafront, with great views of Sliema - especially from the Sky lounge on the 13th floor.
Rooms were very comfortable and were cleaned to a good standard every day. We all agreed though that the highlight was definately the food. There is lots of variety and tasted great - especially the desserts - all home made. We were planning to eat out at one or two restaurants throughout the week for a bit of a change, but due to the high quality food on offer in the hotel, stayed for every breakfast, lunch and dinner!!
We were all inclusive and given cards that need to be produced for meals and drinks orders, but we changed for a wrist band for convenience. Pool area nice, but quite shaded but not a problem as there are plenty of other areas on the sea front to catch the sun.
Overall, we had a lovely stay at the Preluna. Fully recommend, and will plan to come back in the near future.

Room Tip: Upgrade to sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed at the Preluna for 4 nights in June. The photo on the website and in travel brochures is slightly misleading as it shows the newer Preluna Towers part of the hotel. Our room was on the 2nd floor in the original part of the hotel and while quite spacious and clean was a bit tired. Having said that the bathroom had been updated and was well appointed with an excellent shower. We had a small sofa in the room as well as a safe, air conditioning and a ceiling fan.

Breakfast was very busy but there was a good selection of hot and cold food as well as cereals and fruit. Could imagine the breakfast experience being quite hectic during July and August as the hotel is large. Check in and check out were fine and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel has a bar on the 13th floor with far reaching views and swimming pools for the use of guests are located across the road (can't comment on the pools as we didn't use them).

The hotel is well situated in that the buses to Valletta, Sliema Harbour, St Julian's etc stop just outside and the taxi rank is opposite. The hotel faces the sea so the views are lovely and the promenade was opposite for easy walking to St Julian's where there were some lovely restaurants. However, the downside for us was that the road was very busy and being on the 2nd floor we heard all the traffic noise. Sitting on our balcony we felt as if we were almost on the street so it wasn't the most relaxing place. A room on a higher floor would probably solve this problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor to avoid the noise from the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Steph6058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The rating system needs reviewing. This hotel offers many things to earn its star rating. Yes it's clean and staff friendly but
If you provide air con, leave instructions on operation. I was in room 6204. It was noisy, confusing to use
If you provide a tv don't make it the smallest tv in the world. I'm sick of TVs around the world that only offer English news programs.
If you offer wifi make it work properly, not just in the lobby or in the toilet.
Beds. What we need most of all but not £30 divans bought from Argos.
Sheets. At least have fitted sheets
Pillows. Make them soft and comfortable as a minimum.
So if you offer all these services make them, useable, desirable and comfortable. Oh and if you offer a spa and indoor pool, don't close it for maintainence without notification.
If you offer a pool make it exclusive and don't sell off the sun beds to all and sundry leaving none for the paying guests.
This hotel offers much but provides the bare minimum and customers fall for it

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
13  Thank Baroncustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Arrived at the hotel and still standing at reception with issues needing resolved. We had booked two rooms on a high floor in the refurbished part of the hotel, in January. Yes that's over 6 months ago. Guess what. We arrived and the rooms are on different floors. With small children that is utterly unacceptable. Offered upgrades to compensate but makes no difference as we still need two rooms together. Utter disorganization. Now have to spend one night with the family on different floors with a possibility of two rooms together tomorrow. Means we can't unpack. First day a mess. Thanks preluna. Will update this review over time if I ever make it away from reception to a room of any kind! By the way we are not the only people with problems at reception. On the plus side the receptionist is trying her heart out to deal with a difficult situation that someone has put her in.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
11  Thank trevor m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We arrived at lunchtime and reception staff were very welcoming. We had booked the All-Inclusive and where able to start enjoying the facilities while waiting for our room.
Our room was clean, well presented with a great view over the bay.
Buffet Restaurant has all you would expect but the highlight is certainly the Sushi Restaurant. Limited selection which is a downside. But food is great.
Beach club is good, sea water pool. Sun beds are limited, usual story lots of towels reserving beds and not being used.
Over all would recommend this hotel as excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chefbenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,596 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
2,079 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 28 in Sliema
1,297 reviews
0.6 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
1.1 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preluna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preluna Hotel & Spa

Address: 124, Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta 1000, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £46 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Preluna Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Sliema’s seafront, Malta’s Preluna Hotel & Spa features 3 restaurants, a spa, and a private beach. The spectacular Penthouse Lounge on the rooftop is open all day. The spacious rooms have views of the city or the Mediterranean Sea.All rooms at the Preluna are air-conditioned and feature a tea/coffee maker, a satellite TV, and a private bathroom with bath and shower. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.The well-equipped private beach features a large swimming pool, a kid’s pool, and a bar and grill. A diving school is available and a huge variety of water sports can be practised.The spa includes an indoor swimming pool with 2 large hot tubs, and a wide range of fitness and relaxation facilities. Hot tubs are also available on Preluna’s stunning roof terrace, which also features a mini-golf course.The restaurants are open for lunch and dinner. One offers a varied buffet, and the other 2 specialise in Italian and Japanese cuisine. A free Flavours of Malta dancing evening is arranged weekly, ideal to sample Maltese foods, wines and liqueurs, and learn about the local heritage and traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Preluna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preluna Hotel And Spa
Preluna Hotel Malta
Preluna Malta
Hotel Malta Preluna
Preluna Hotel Sliema
Preluna Hotel & Spa Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing