We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Reasonable Mix”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I liked the Preluna but few would call this place a four star. Three would be appropriate.

There was a problem or two when I arrived. I was arriving late, but, I called (not cheap) in the afternoon from Sicily to say so, and they should hold my room. At 11:30 at night, I arrived, very tired, and they had no reservation for me. I had thought there might be two hotels with the same name - like a Holiday Inn and a Holiday Inn Express.. and the fellow got "snippy" with me. Later they found me a room, but I still complained the next day.

The real test of a hotel is how they respond if you have a problem. The manager, a fellow named Marc Abela, was excellent at smoothing out the wrinkles. Kudos. I would stay there again - because the management was intent on making my stay positive after the rough arrival.

Location was great - very near beaches, restaurants and night life. There is a pool, a spa, and the food is plentiful at breakfast (and dinner if you choose). Other than my initial reception, the staff was first class. Air conditioning worked well, but it is only in the rooms. You will sweat in the lobby in summer. The hotel is outside Valletta, which is either good or bad depending on how long you are in Malta. You can see Valetta in a day or two...so do you want to be near all the cruise ships and touristy stuff if you plan a longer stay? I suppose not.

The rooms and furnishings were a bit dated. The elevator was slow and the floors marked differently on the button than on the lighted number above the door. The wifi was weak in my room, but they changed my room and the wifi was excellent. As I said, I would stay there again - but don't expect a four star.

Room Tip: Wifi was weak in several areas, good in a few areas. Ask for a room with good reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fluglotse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

770 - 776 of 2,208 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel early june with my two teenagers. Lots and lots of elderly people might not be the the best place with kids.

The standard room was not so nice and they did not allow us to change even if I was willing to pay extra. The a/c did not work properly.

The location was good though. But not to be rated as a four star hotel more like three star hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid standar room -go for the one with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Thco40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

If you're looking for location I think this hotel is great, close to the water, close to the shopping and not far from the busy action. However it is an old hotel and it's certainly showing it's age, reception area's are dated and dark and rooms are pretty rough and ready nothing a spruce up wouldn't fix but it's certainly nothing more than average. Can't honestly say I found the staff all that helpful, it was often a wait at reception if you had an issue to discuss.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank ayejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Myself , my husband and our two children stayed for 9 nights from 7th August , on arrival, the lift was broken and had to wait whilst it was being fixed. Eventually after over an hour sitting at the bar we were brought back outside ,up a side street to a "sister hotel" put in a tiny lift with all our baggage and brought to our room, completely different to the room we saw on website!! Room was half the size we expected, years older than it looked on website and with an air conditioning system from hell!!!! Considering we paid almost €1800 for "room only" it was not at all worth the money! Most of the staff were unhelpful and totally unfriendly especially a bar man called Vince! Rude, rude, rude, should NOT be working with in the hospitality industry ! However, Anthony the other bar man was a complete joy and a firm favourite with my children, took time out to chat and a true gentleman, Vince could learn from him! Will not be back to preluna but will definitely be back to Malta! Absolutely LOVED IT!!! Beautiful island ..... Joanne & David... Dublin

Room Tip: Ask if your room is in new or old area of hotel, if in old area, don't bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just returned from a 5 day holiday at Preluna. We're a couple age of 22yr & 23yr.
When we booked the holiday we were given a standard room with no balcony, well I wasn't to happy about this, so on check in I asked if we could have a balcony and the nice man made a few call and we got a balcony, even if the view wasn't lovely.
Food was lovely and lots to choose from.
The pool which is just across the road is nice but not enough sunbeds. It really does need to up its game on the gardening, some beautiful plants would of made the pool area so much nicer then the desert feel.
Location is great with shops just outside of the hotel and a 5-10 min walk to the ferry port.
Valletta is a place to go for the day for everyone, such an amazing and historical city.
Please upgrade on the wifi, connection is awful.
Would we come back? Yes with a doubt!
Thank you Preluna.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason-Essex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I am just back from a weekend at this spa hotel. Yes it is old, yes the location is great and yes the staff very good. 4 star stretches the imagination but not overly so. Be warned that the hairdressers is probably the worse I have ever been to. My delicate colour treated hair was subject to the roughest, scrubbiest hair wash in its life and I could feel strands breaking off. The blow dry was even worse with the girl standing back and literally pulling my air under the dryer. I only wanted it put up for the evening like a bun - she struggled but in fairness managed quite a good one. the cost of the torture was €45 which is extortionate. In Greece and at home I usually pay no more than €25. I am sure my hair is thinner than before- I should have said something at the time and regret I did not.

Room Tip: Choose a balcony and order the mini bar as soon as you get there - check fridge works. Be wary if us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jac1AR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My cousin has just stayed at the Preluna during which time he had to be hospitalised for an emergency condition. I have nothing but praise for the way the hotel handled the situation, both during the emergency and after my cousin returned to continue his vacation.

The Preluna staff went far beyond professional standards - their patience and caring was beyond belief in spite of all our phonecalls, our relative's various needs and our cancellations and re-bookings.

The room was well-decorated - it had obviously been refurbished - and much more spacious than most city hotels. The seaview is to die for and breakfasts were generous, offering an excellent selection. Still it is the value, service and genuine welcome that the Preluna gives to its guests that make it stand out - well done Preluna staff!

Room Tip: Choose a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Baroque5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,575 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
2,057 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 28 in Sliema
1,281 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,921 reviews
0.6 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preluna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preluna Hotel & Spa

Address: 124, Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta 1000, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#2 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £46 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Preluna Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Sliema’s seafront, Malta’s Preluna Hotel & Spa features 3 restaurants, a spa, and a private beach. The spectacular Penthouse Lounge on the rooftop is open all day. The spacious rooms have views of the city or the Mediterranean Sea.All rooms at the Preluna are air-conditioned and feature a tea/coffee maker, a satellite TV, and a private bathroom with bath and shower. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.The well-equipped private beach features a large swimming pool, a kid’s pool, and a bar and grill. A diving school is available and a huge variety of water sports can be practised.The spa includes an indoor swimming pool with 2 large hot tubs, and a wide range of fitness and relaxation facilities. Hot tubs are also available on Preluna’s stunning roof terrace, which also features a mini-golf course.The restaurants are open for lunch and dinner. One offers a varied buffet, and the other 2 specialise in Italian and Japanese cuisine. A free Flavours of Malta dancing evening is arranged weekly, ideal to sample Maltese foods, wines and liqueurs, and learn about the local heritage and traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Preluna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preluna Hotel And Spa
Preluna Hotel Malta
Preluna Malta
Hotel Malta Preluna
Preluna Hotel Sliema
Preluna Hotel & Spa Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing