We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly staff, food is of excellent quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly staff, food is of excellent quality”
Reviewed 16 August 2009

Didn't really know what to expect on arrival at this hotel as had read mixed reviews. However on arrival we were not disappointed. We were upgraded to a family room on arrival at no extra charge, which was brilliant when travelling with a little one as you need all the space you can get. The room itself and bathroom were a little dated, but it was clean. Also I would say that the public areas on the upper floors in the hotel could do with a bit of a revamp.
However, we booked the half board food option which was well worth it. There was always a wide variety of food available, cooked fresh and was always piping hot. The staff in the restaurant were excellent, very polite and helpful. Also there were stunning views from the restaurant over the bay if you managed to get one of the tables at the front.
A little disappointing that the outdoor pool is across a busy main road, however the indoor pool and spa facilities were very nice.
The bar in the sky lounge was excellent with stunning night time views over Malta with a very relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thiscaseisheavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    812
    500
    206
    112
See reviews for
371
955
180
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (680)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North West England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

The Perluna Hotel is in two parts - the Perluna Hotel and the Perluna Towers. The Towers is the new part and is the bit shown in most literature and the web site. The rooms in there are of a very high standard. Our room was in the other part of the hotel which was a litle old fashioned and the rooms were smaller and not as nice. We were given the option to pay to be upgraded. Water leaked out of our air conditioning vents. When my daughter first turned on the shower, the water was brown. We had to let it run clean. Some of the evening entertainment I felt was aimed at the over 50's. The resort of Sleima is really nice. Good for shopping. We had a nice trip over to Valetta on the taxi ferry. It was 1 euro 85 for two of us. The buses are cheap too. I found drinks very expensive almost every where though. The beaches are nice but rocky, not sandy. The hotel has a private strip of beach with a beachside pool. This is located across the main road from the hotel. The road is very busy but does have a zebra crossing.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirl099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

The hotel is nicely located for the sea front, with fantastic views if you book a room overlooking the sea. The out door pool is over the road from the hotel, and rather small in size considering the size of the hotel, (watch out for the time share touts outside the main entrance waiting to pounce). The indoor pool / gymnasium was closed to the public for the first 4 days of our stay, which made the outdoor pool even more overcrowded. The hotel itself was very nice, but in need of updating, as was our room, but it was of a good size. The food could not be faulted, with plenty of choices.
The staff were all very nice and friendly, and ready to help you should you need them.
although we enjoyed our holiday, I do not think we shall be returning.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shuffty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2009

The hotel was lovely,our rooms were standard but clean and spacious.The spa was a great place to chill out and relax.We stayed on half board and the food was great.The skyroom penthouse lounge was a really nice place to have a drink in comfort and on some nights listen to live entertainment.The outdoor swimming pool was over the road from the hotel,would of been better if it was joined onto the hotel but wasnt a big probem.The pool area is nice and preluna guests get sun loungers free but have to pay 3 euro's for a parasol,there is a bar area where you can get food and drink.We really enjoyed our stay and would return again to the preluna.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zanyzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

Finding a hotel in Malta that satisfies in every department is pretty difficult, unless of course, you opt for the five start luxury afforded by some of the larger chains.

However, ours have been business trips and after trying several of the local hotels around Sliema, we're now pretty settled at the Preluna.

Celebrating it's 40th anniversary this year, this hotel is as good as it gets for the price.

This trip, we were allocated sea view rooms in the Preluna Towers, which are an improvement over the original hotel, where the rooms seem a little more basic and dated, though are still good value.

Our rooms were 2408, 2410 and 2402, overlooking Sliema Bay.

Room 2402 had a rather restricted view - in fact, for a sea view room, it's a little disappointing, since the main view is a white wall opposite. Other than that though, it was more than adequate.

Each room had a flat screen TV, a fridge, a safe and plenty of storage room.

The sun rises on this elevation of the hotel each morning and soon heats up the room as a consequence.

Although facing the main road, the traffic noise is hardly noticable, which is not the case in the original hotel, nor in any other hotel we've experienced in Sliema.

We didn't arrive until 4am and the night porter, John, was his usual friendly and helpful self, welcoming us back as though we were old friends.

Breakfast choice was large and plentiful, with real tea, as opposed to the vending machines common in other hotels in this price range.

This time round, we ate at Nina's restaurant, a part of the hotel, which turned out to be a bit of a hidden gem, with well cooked, fresh food. We ate there twice and everything was good.

Across the road from the hotel, the Preluna has a beach bar and swimming / sunbathing area for residents. Although it says it's open till 6:30pm, it was a bit disappointing that the bar closed each day at 4:30pm on the dot, especially as it was somewhere we'd go to relax after a day's work.

The outside pool was a bit disappointing - the water was covered in dead flies (thousands of them) and the grease line around the edge wasn't cleaned at all during our visit.

Although we're not big pool users, this would have been a major issue had we been staying as holiday visitors, especially if we'd had the kids with us.

We didn't use the indoor pool at all, but visitors in July won't get the option, since it's being closed for essential maintenance at the beginning of the month for 8 days, according to the signs in the hotel.

The staff at the Preluna more than make up for any shortcomings though. Without exception, they are friendly, attentive and motivated.

It's small wonder that the hotel has survived 40 years under the same management. It's a well run hotel and we've already booked for July - just hope we get the Towers again, for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eggbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2009

Best food on the Island of Malta, staff excellent, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnLfifers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2009

Very Nice hotel and resort.

The food was superb, the rooms were slightly dirty as the maids never cleaned properly... In fact rather grubby in some places... ive deffo had better and noticed this straight away..

We had a sea view which was requested and very nice too..

Yes i would recomend this hotel and resort.

Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bettybooy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,387 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,941 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fortina Spa Resort
Fortina Spa Resort
#8 of 28 in Sliema
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.6 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preluna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preluna Hotel & Spa

Property: Preluna Hotel & Spa
Address: 124, Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta 1000, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#2 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Preluna Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Sliema’s seafront, Malta’s Preluna Hotel & Spa features 3 restaurants, a spa, and a private beach. The spectacular Penthouse Lounge on the rooftop is open all day. The spacious rooms have views of the city or the Mediterranean Sea.All rooms at the Preluna are air-conditioned and feature a tea/coffee maker, a satellite TV, and a private bathroom with bath and shower. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.The well-equipped private beach features a large swimming pool, a kid’s pool, and a bar and grill. A diving school is available and a huge variety of water sports can be practised.The spa includes an indoor swimming pool with 2 large hot tubs, and a wide range of fitness and relaxation facilities. Hot tubs are also available on Preluna’s stunning roof terrace, which also features a mini-golf course.The restaurants are open for lunch and dinner. One offers a varied buffet, and the other 2 specialise in Italian and Japanese cuisine. A free Flavours of Malta dancing evening is arranged weekly, ideal to sample Maltese foods, wines and liqueurs, and learn about the local heritage and traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, TravelUp, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Preluna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preluna Hotel And Spa
Preluna Hotel Malta
Preluna Malta
Hotel Malta Preluna
Preluna Hotel Sliema
Preluna Hotel & Spa Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing