We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,453)
Filter reviews
2,453 results
Traveller rating
537
956
577
246
137
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
537
956
577
246
137
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sky room triton restaurant sea view beach club across the road sun terrace outdoor pool tower block evening entertainment sea front half board st julians rooftop bar bed and breakfast basis buffet style bus stop steam room just returned from a week
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 2,453 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Looks a little dated from the outside but inside just what you would expect, very helpful & happy staff both on reception & all other areas (my favourite was Vince the bar man) we were B & B so can only review breakfast which was very good, plenty of food and a very good selection which should suit everybody. True the winds were incredibly strong & the sea pool was badly damaged but the staff worked incredibly hard & it was up & running again within 24 hours of the storm clearing. Room (2111) was good with a terrific view, yes the mini bar was empty but there was a note saying they would fill at the guests request it is well worth paying a little extra up front for a sea view. Location is just perfect with silema within 5 mins walk & a great new mall within easy walking distance. The spa is very well equipped and deserves to be used more (instead of moaning about the weather get down to the spa). Evening entertainment (6 nights) was great for us but we are oldies & perhaps younger people might find it a bit dated. The staff are so dedicated that when I stupidly left my wallet containing £100+ & my phone in the room when we left they found them and returned them by recorded delivery within 5 days now that's what I call customer service! (special thanks to Amanda Preca)

Room Tip: Sea view is a must, slightly more expensive but always is
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrelunaHotel, Manager at Preluna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Richard O,

Thank you for your positive review, and for sharing your experience at The Preluna, with TripAdvisor.
Your time and comments are appreciated by all of the Team, and are reviewed by our executive team!
We look forward to welcome you in the near future at The Preluna Hotel & Spa.

Many best regards
Christabelle Rapinett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

We booked the Preluna with Mercury and it was a very good price with flights from Bristol with Air Malta.Yes we has bad weather the week we were there but that's not the hotels fault. We booked a superior sea view room and I can say the room was good with welcome water and a bottle of wine on arrival. The negative is that the bathroom is a bit tired and needs a refurb. The view was brilliant and as advertised. We stayed half board and found the evening meals were of good choice and catered well for vegetarians. The wine is reasonable price too. The themed meal nights were better than the ordinary nights, Maltese night, tex mex night and Italian night were very good. The breakfast also had good choices but the negative was coffee out of a machine that was not very good. The restaurant staff especially were very helpful and professional, as were all staff we met. The Preluna is in a good location for public buses and restaurants, just opposite on the promenade is Masons where had a few light lunches. We bought a Talinja card for 21 euros for a weeks bus travel anywhere which we used well to travel the island. Just a note if you book with Mercury the Rep, Jonathan, has very useful advise so please attend his reps meeting when you are there.

Room Tip: Superior Sea View room.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrelunaHotel, Manager at Preluna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear J D,

Thank you for your positive review, and for sharing your experience at The Preluna, with TripAdvisor.
Your time and comments are appreciated by all of the Team!

We look forward to welcome you some time soon at The Preluna.
Many best regards
Christabelle Rapinett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

Best thing about this hotel is the view, otherwise the staff are miserable especially the receptionist when checking in, the standard room doesn’t equate to four stars and the mini bar was empty for the whole of our stay. Many of the facilities were closed so can’t comment on them, but why can’t maintenance be carried out in low season? Wasn’t particularly cheap so poor value for money

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank aquarius2663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrelunaHotel, Manager at Preluna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Dear Aquarius2663,

Initially we would like to thank you for your constructive review, following your stay at The Preluna Hotel.

We are sincerely sorry to learn, that your stay with us, did not fully meet your expectations. We strive to offer our guests the best possible experience at our hotel, when visiting Malta.

The management appreciates when, any issues are immediately brought to our attention, so we are able to rectify with immediate affect, whenever possible.

We thank you once again for your feedback, and we do hope that our efforts on improving our services, bring you back to visit us.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

We booked the Preluna based on pictures and facilities, plus reviews.
Unfortunately we couldn't use most of the facilities due to the weather, strong winds, not the beach club or outside pools, the sky top bar or get any appointments at the spa because it was fully booked. Half the trip was about treatments and hanging out by the outside pool just relaxing from the busy life at home. Luckily there was an indoor pool we could use.

We paid quite a lot for a sea view room and breakfast included, Which would have been great if we could use all or most of the facilities we came for. Think in extreme weather like that you should be offered some money back, not worth over €880 for 4 nights!

Hotel was nice and clean, room was good size, beds comfortable, pillows really comfy. Bathroom was nice and balcony very big with a lovely view, unfortunately two evenings we couldn't sit there because of the strong winds.

Breakfast was very nice, lots of choices with continental and English, plus Croissants. and lots of different breads and fruit.

Sushi restaurant located in the hotel was very good, unfortunately sometimes the wait for food can be long even though it wasn't super busy. Still worth a visit, maybe just not to late in the evening.

Outside the hotel there are bus stops to all main parts of the Island. We used the bus to go to the Capital Valletta and Golden Bay on the other side of Malta.

If you have come for a lively hotel and surroundings, maybe pick another town, Sliema is quite quiet and we struggled to find lots of Restaurants outside the hotel.
The clientele at the hotel is an average of 60+ I would guess so if you like quiet this is the hotel for you :).

If we return to Malta we would probably decide to stay elsewhere. Somewhere a bit more lively.
I would say it's an average hotel, but above average or very good if all the facilities are up and running.

A few pictures to show how windy it was, first two are taken from balcony 10th floor. Last one you can see Preluna, the tallest building and the waves crashing in over outside pool area.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Lejon78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrelunaHotel, Manager at Preluna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Dear Lejon78,

Initially we would like to thank you for your constructive review, following your stay at The Preluna Hotel.

We are sincerely sorry to learn, that your stay with us, did not fully meet your expectations. We strive to offer our guests the best possible experience at our hotel, when visiting Malta.

The management appreciates when, any issues are immediately brought to our attention, so we are able to rectify with immediate affect, whenever possible.

The storm and high winds that effected the Maltese islands was beyond our control and the health and safety of our employees and guests was our priority that is why the beach club was closed.

We thank you once again for your feedback, and we do hope that our efforts on improving our services, bring you back to visit us.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

What a Loverly hotel the sea view room had a lovely view and the hotel put a bottle of red wine in our room as it was our 30 wedding anniversary the pool is Loverly the only littl moan there was the evening meal as some night the selection was a little bit limited for us

Stayed: August 2018
1  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrelunaHotel, Manager at Preluna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Dear Robert W,

We would like to thank you for your positive review.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Preluna Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews