We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary!!!...”
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Extraordinary!!!...”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

If you are looking for a good price, location and the same time excelent service and it provides WI-FI!!!!...this the right hotel in Sliema, Malta. The people that work at the hotel are so nice that they make you feel like home. The breakfast if you decided to get it, is excelent as well as the service. I highly recommend this hotel, it is clean and very comfortable, it is not a luxiry hotel but it is wonderful for the time that you are going to spend in your room and enjoy beautiful Malta. You would not regret it. Berta

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bliss0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    230
    157
    53
    35
See reviews for
66
291
56
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Everything worked about my choice of hotel for this first visit to Malta. The location was ideal, offering a great seaview, Proximity to restaurants, public transportation and tour buses was great, The staff was extremely helpful and very friendly. The room (with a view!) was clean, comfortable and spacious. Great full breakfast every morning, free Wi-Fi access (a must!), I think the reviewer who said his stay was 'horrible' must have been staying at a different hotel! No complaints here and I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Book a room with a view...it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Britsoulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
consettgashead
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We had four nights in the Carlton which proved a very good location for us - plenty of places to eat in the evening and easy access to the buses which run past its door and allowed us to explore with ease.

We had a room with a sea view (more a tree view) but it suited us well as it was a good size. The en suite was fine for a bath, but the shower mounted low down so you had the choice of crouching to shower or risk spraying widely on a hand-held basis. Only bars of soap provided, no shampoo or gel.

The lift is rather small, but it did us no harm to use the stairs - we put on enough weight as it was!

Staff at reception and breakfast were all very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast good at a very reasonable rate.

The truth is that the Carlton is not an exceptional hotel - quite dull in fact - but it has three great qualities; helpful staff, excellent location and a very reasonable price. We'd certainly use it again because it provided exactly what we needed, but as a hotel it won't live on in the mind.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank consettgashead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My elderly Father recently spent 3 weeks here in December 2011-Jan 2012 and says he couldn`t fault the service here, particularly from Mr Zarb (General Manger).

My father wasn`t entirely happy with his allocated room, but was immediately given an alternative room without any quibbles, he was perfectly happy with this one.

Being a lone-traveller, my Father was treated like a family member and was royally looked after. Mr Zarb even sorted out a problem with My Fathers return air ticket by contacting the airline - How good is that??!!

Facilities and location were great, with excellent breakfast and clean room with good, fresh towels.

Room Tip: Tell staff if you have an issue or preference,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pablo_Sulty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We made the mistake of choosing this substandard fleabag for the first two nights of our vacation. Don't stay here if you value a good night sleep and some level of comfort. I was mislead by the postive reviews on this site. Don't be hoodwinked like I was. My college dorm had more amenities. The lock on the door is like the lock on your bathroom door at home. We slept with a chair wedged under the door to make us feel more secure. It's in a very loud location and although we were there in November off season it was like party town all night long outside with screaming drunks outside on the street. What ever you do, do not prebook on the internet. We booked two nights and we were unable to get to Malta because we missed our flight because of snow at the end of October. I thought I was doing the right thing so the night before check in from our missed connection hotel I called our travel agent to inform them that we would not be able to check into the hotel the first night. The travel agency called over to the Carlton Hotel to inform them and they told us the manager was not there and he was the only one to decide if I could be given some kind of refund for the first night which was missed. When I got there the front desk clerk was very dismissive and said the manager was still away and to take it up with the travel agency. When I got home the travel agency was finally able to get in touch with the allusive manager. Needless to say, the Carlton denied me any me any type of refund although I gave them a day's notice in good faith. When we got there for the second we were informed they were fully booked so someone else enjoyed my room (because I had the decency to let them know well in advance) and the hotel got paid twice. The water in the bathtub in the room was like reused pool water, it smelled like chlorine and chemicals and had a yellowish hue quite similar to urine. The towel rack was even hanging off the wall. It was dirty. We slept ontop of the bed, which was like sleeping on rocks, because we were concerned about the grimy sheets. It would appear this was not the only room that had problems. While in the lobby we witnessed another suffering guest who was attempting to find relief from the front desk because his wife was so disgusted about the filth of the room and noise level that she left him there. I was elated to check out of of this room which should have been condemned years a go and head to a respectible establishment. We've been to Malta previously and this by far the worst of the worst.

Room Tip: There are no rooms at the Carlton Hotel worthy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FloridaTravelfiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sliema hotels

Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed at a standard room, it was very basic, the shower was just a hole in the floor, no shower gel/shampoo provided, the interior decoration a bit gloomy. But on the other hand, it was cleaned every day, towels were clean, it was not too noisy, the staff were amiable, and one cannot really complain taking into consideration the price we paid.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank i-reve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

we had to visit my wifes sister who was on holiday and ended up in the matre dei hospital intensive care unit. the manager and staff were excellent in their understanding of why we were here. i cannot say enough of their help.she was on holiday and took ill. we were accomodated and made to feel part of the family. unfortunately. it was a sad ending on xmas eve. but i cannot thank the staff and especially the manager for their help while we were there. on a more upbeat note we will definitely be visiting malta and especially the carlton hotel next year.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.7 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,018 reviews
0.5 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.5 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,095 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Property: Carlton Hotel
Address: 261 Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1600, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Beach Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Hotel in Sliema Malta is a newly refurbished modern value boutique hotel, situated on the popular Tower Road seafront promenade of Sliema. The hotel houses 47 luxury modern, yet elegant, rooms with private bathroom or shower, each finished to high standard. All rooms are furnished in a stylish wenge wood finish, and features include either one double bed or two twin beds, 24" LED TV with satellite, individually controlled air-conditioning, supreme quality orthopaedic mattresses, black out curtains, free WIFI, and an in-room safe. The seafront balcony room have a balcony overlooking majestic open sea views. To compliment this hotel is a lovely swimming pool and sunbathing deck on the top level as well as breakfast room situated on the 7th floor both of which with beautiful sea view. Breakfast is of un upgraded continental buffet type and includes a selection of breads, cereals, hams, cheeses, tea, coffee etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Lastminute, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing