We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and price”
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in the beginning of May. The room itself is quite basic but clean. The location is superb - right on the promenade (close to St Julian) and with the bus stop right next to it. The breakfast was quite good but lacking variety in hot food.

Given the price, I think this is worthwhile option in Malta and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank goshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
There are newer reviews for Carlton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2012

Stayed in Malta for a Week, on Day one had slight problem, but was moved to another Room, Hotel is situated near the Plaza Hotel, it's 15 Mins Walk to St Julians 20 Mins walk to Silema front, where all the boat rides and excursions are. It has Free Wi-Fi and TV, Excellent Sea View Across the bay, you have 2 good Restaurants opposite, the Plough and Anchor Bar next Door. There is next to the Hotel is a street, 60 seconds away is a Mini Market, where I bought My Razor cheap, and next to the Hotel has a Cash Point! I didn't have Breakfast but for a mere 1.50 Euros, you get a buffet style Breakfast served from 7.30am, all round this is a great Hotel where the Staff are exceptional!!! I will be back in OCT/NOV! :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pth1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We chose this hotel for its location and the good reviews it had received, and we were happy with our choice.

Its a basic hotel, but we were on a weeks holidays so only wanted something well priced, and clean. Thats what we got!

Our flight was a late one, and it seemed alot of people on it were staying at the same hotel. The girl at reception was lovely. The couple in front of us had a bit of hassle with the hotel apparently being over booked, but once they got their issue sorted, we were checked in within minutes. We had requested a room on the top floor, which we got, so v happy.

The room is basic, and there are no toiletries provided. Hairdryer, tv remote, and safe key can be got at reception for a deposit. Our 'double' bed was 2 singles pushed together, so not ideal. Towels are provided and were changed everyday. The tv only had 2 english channels (cnn & bbc) and had terrible reception, but we didnt have much interest in tv anyway.

The sun/pool area was lovely. Smallish, I'd say it could get crowded in peak season. They could do with more sun loungers and a few umbrellas up there. The pool is tiny, but for swimming we opted for the tiny beach across the road.

Breakfast was fine.......juices, cereals, breads, hams, cheese, egg, bacon and beans etc. Good for starting a day of sightseeing and sun bathing.

A number of nice restaurants in the area...Frescos (across the road), Vino Veritas (a 5 min walk along tower road towards sliema ferries). Also the tour operators next door are very helpful, we booked a sightseeing bus and trip to the blue lagoon with them.

Finally, a special mention to the staff, who were all lovely and v helpful.

Things I would like to see in the future include, bolting the room safe down. we didn't use the safe, didn't see the point when someone could walk away with it!?! Only changing the towels when they are on the floor and don't change when they are left hanging up, its pretty wasteful to change the towels everyday. Get fresh fruit for breakfast, all that was there was tinned fruit cocktail. Get some parasols on the roof.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Alot of traffic in the area, so a top floor room is probably quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

If you want a hotel that offers all the frills this is not for you. If you value good service from enthusiastic staff stay here. The hotel is small and basic but the staff are exceptional. I don't think I have ever come across a set of staff with such pride in their work and genuine friendly service. The rooms are comfortable but kept extremely clean. Fresh towels every day. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of options both hot and cold food. The hotel is well located with lovely restaurants both right next door and within walking distance.Thank you to everyone in the Carlton for a fantastic holiday. You should all be very proud of the atmosphere you all created. We were always happy to return to our lovely hotel after a days sightseeing. I hope the hotel goes from strength to strength. The manager of this hotel should be extremely proud of their staff.Stay here for a great holiday experience. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dublinboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed here for a 4 night break in March
We had a sea-view room on a B&B basis - there was a good choice at breakfast both hot and cold dishes - the hotel was very popular with the Italians!
The views were fantastic - there are 2 nice restaurants opposite the hotel - had a couple of nice lunches
We had en-suite shower room - Towels were replaced every day
Would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: Ask for room above 3rd floor to get best of view Try lunch directly opposite hotel - the pizza rest...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed here for a 4-day break in Malta, selecting it for its location and the exceptional rate we received (€30/night). We weren't sure what to expect based on the rate we paid, and while this is not a luxury hotel, it met our needs. We had booked a double bed, sea-front room; but, we were allocated a sea-front room with two twin beds pushed together, presumably because we arrived on a late flight. The bedroom was furnished with a desk, wardrobe and the beds. The tv was wall-mounted, and a deposit is required to use the remote control, though you can still use the tv without the remote (deposits are also required for use of the safe key and hairdryers). The beds were reasonably comfortable, though they were made up with separate bottom sheets for each bed, a shared top sheet and separate bedspreads. The furnishings were fairly basic, though the room was pretty comfortable. The bathroom featured a shower room, basin and toilet; and, hand soap was the only toiletry provided. The only complaint about the bathroom was that it wasn't very well lit. With the exception of a bit of dust, the room as a whole was clean. Because it was warm during our from the street below, particularly cars racing around in the early hours of the morning. The walls were a bit thin, and the door wasn't very solid, so we did hear other guests and the housekeeping staff quite clearly in the mornings.

There is a nice rooftop terrace with a small swimming pool, seating and fantastic views of the sea and surrounding area. We also had great views of the bay from our room. We had no complaints with the service we received - the staff was always helpful and courteous. One morning we forgot to remove the 'do not disturb' sign from our door when we went out, and when we came back that evening, the housekeeper had left a pack of clean towels, which we thought was a nice touch. The hotel is in a really convenient location for exploring on foot or by bus (there is a stop right outside the hotel that goes to the ferry port in the north of the island). There are a
few restaurants in the area, and we particularly enjoyed the Italian restaurant next to the hotel. Overall, we enjoyed our time at The Carlton - it's not luxury but it is good value.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T_R_Grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Our first time to visit Malta. We read a lot of reviews before booking this hotel, and most of them were positive. I would like to add our experience to the list, and say that the hotel did not let us down.
It is situated about a 20 minute walk ( all flat ) from the night life of St Julians, where there are lot's of bars pub's restraunts and entertainment. We booked for bed and breakfast, the room on the third floor, was a good size, double bed, a small balcony with a Great Sea view of the bay.

The staff of the hotel were all "BRILLIANT", right from the receptionist to the cleaners, everyone was very helpfull and very polite, which you don't get, at a lot of other hotels, so top marks to everyone for makeing our stay a very good and enjoyable one.

The rooms were clean and tidy, the cleaners came in everyday, the towells were changed every other day, breakfast was a continental, of hot and cold and plenty of it, very nice.

We toured the whole Island on the hop on hop of bus for 15 euros each (on each trip) and a free harbour tour to go with it. We booked them with Oasis Tours, the shop is right outside of the hotel, the tour rep (Kim) whom we booked them with was very helpful and polite, no pressure sale's to book with him, not like othe company's which was a pain, and made you very uncomfortable. We visited the north of the island first and then the south of the island on two seperate days.

What a Fantastic island, the scenary and views were breathtaking and good value for the money, I'd recommend doing the hop on, hop off tours with Oasis Tours, it gives you freedom and the time, to what you want to do. If we ever visit Malta again then the Carlton will be the Hotel that we would definately return to. I hope this review helps you, and have a great holiday :-)

Room Tip: Make sure that you book a Gauranteed Sea View or you will end up with a room facing the side or the...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PaulJanEbbwVale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.7 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,031 reviews
0.5 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.0 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,470 reviews
0.5 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Address: 261 Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1600, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Beach Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £23 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Hotel in Sliema Malta is a newly refurbished modern value boutique hotel, situated on the popular Tower Road seafront promenade of Sliema. The hotel houses 47 luxury modern, yet elegant, rooms with private bathroom or shower, each finished to high standard. All rooms are furnished in a stylish wenge wood finish, and features include either one double bed or two twin beds, 24" LED TV with satellite, individually controlled air-conditioning, supreme quality orthopaedic mattresses, black out curtains, free WIFI, and an in-room safe. The seafront balcony room have a balcony overlooking majestic open sea views. To compliment this hotel is a lovely swimming pool and sunbathing deck on the top level as well as breakfast room situated on the 7th floor both of which with beautiful sea view. Breakfast is of un upgraded continental buffet type and includes a selection of breads, cereals, hams, cheeses, tea, coffee etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing