We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Budget Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Perfect Budget Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

A friend and I stayed at this hotel for three nights while visiting Malta. We were looking for a cheap, comfortable, clean hotel and we got so much more with the Carlton. First, the location is perfect. In a quiet section of Sliema but within walking distance of Paceville and right along the waterfront boardwalk. We walked to the Sliema ferry to Valetta and to Paceville with no problems. And with its location we ended up with a room and balcony overlooking the water and the harbour - it was spectacular. Second, the staff were amazing. Very friendly and eager to help and make recommendations. It was also a very safe hotel as there was always someone at reception. Finally, the price just simply cannot be beat. For what we paid we were not expecting the five star service and location. The room is definitely basic and small but it was very clean and modern looking. And the buffet breakfast was delicious and the perfect way to start the day. We also spent a couple of hours in the sun on the rooftop terrace/swimming pool one day and it was lovely. Overall, we got more than our monies worth at the Carlton and would highly recommend it to anyone. One negative - the hotel is not sound proof and with marble stairs and flip flops it can get quite loud.

Room Tip: Pay the extra few dollars for a seaview room - most definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbug1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    221
    146
    50
    34
See reviews for
63
272
53
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
231 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in the beginning of May. The room itself is quite basic but clean. The location is superb - right on the promenade (close to St Julian) and with the bus stop right next to it. The breakfast was quite good but lacking variety in hot food.

Given the price, I think this is worthwhile option in Malta and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

Stayed in Malta for a Week, on Day one had slight problem, but was moved to another Room, Hotel is situated near the Plaza Hotel, it's 15 Mins Walk to St Julians 20 Mins walk to Silema front, where all the boat rides and excursions are. It has Free Wi-Fi and TV, Excellent Sea View Across the bay, you have 2 good Restaurants opposite, the Plough and Anchor Bar next Door. There is next to the Hotel is a street, 60 seconds away is a Mini Market, where I bought My Razor cheap, and next to the Hotel has a Cash Point! I didn't have Breakfast but for a mere 1.50 Euros, you get a buffet style Breakfast served from 7.30am, all round this is a great Hotel where the Staff are exceptional!!! I will be back in OCT/NOV! :)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pth1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

We chose this hotel for its location and the good reviews it had received, and we were happy with our choice.

Its a basic hotel, but we were on a weeks holidays so only wanted something well priced, and clean. Thats what we got!

Our flight was a late one, and it seemed alot of people on it were staying at the same hotel. The girl at reception was lovely. The couple in front of us had a bit of hassle with the hotel apparently being over booked, but once they got their issue sorted, we were checked in within minutes. We had requested a room on the top floor, which we got, so v happy.

The room is basic, and there are no toiletries provided. Hairdryer, tv remote, and safe key can be got at reception for a deposit. Our 'double' bed was 2 singles pushed together, so not ideal. Towels are provided and were changed everyday. The tv only had 2 english channels (cnn & bbc) and had terrible reception, but we didnt have much interest in tv anyway.

The sun/pool area was lovely. Smallish, I'd say it could get crowded in peak season. They could do with more sun loungers and a few umbrellas up there. The pool is tiny, but for swimming we opted for the tiny beach across the road.

Breakfast was fine.......juices, cereals, breads, hams, cheese, egg, bacon and beans etc. Good for starting a day of sightseeing and sun bathing.

A number of nice restaurants in the area...Frescos (across the road), Vino Veritas (a 5 min walk along tower road towards sliema ferries). Also the tour operators next door are very helpful, we booked a sightseeing bus and trip to the blue lagoon with them.

Finally, a special mention to the staff, who were all lovely and v helpful.

Things I would like to see in the future include, bolting the room safe down. we didn't use the safe, didn't see the point when someone could walk away with it!?! Only changing the towels when they are on the floor and don't change when they are left hanging up, its pretty wasteful to change the towels everyday. Get fresh fruit for breakfast, all that was there was tinned fruit cocktail. Get some parasols on the roof.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Alot of traffic in the area, so a top floor room is probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

If you want a hotel that offers all the frills this is not for you. If you value good service from enthusiastic staff stay here. The hotel is small and basic but the staff are exceptional. I don't think I have ever come across a set of staff with such pride in their work and genuine friendly service. The rooms are comfortable but kept extremely clean. Fresh towels every day. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of options both hot and cold food. The hotel is well located with lovely restaurants both right next door and within walking distance.Thank you to everyone in the Carlton for a fantastic holiday. You should all be very proud of the atmosphere you all created. We were always happy to return to our lovely hotel after a days sightseeing. I hope the hotel goes from strength to strength. The manager of this hotel should be extremely proud of their staff.Stay here for a great holiday experience. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dublinboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed here for a 4 night break in March
We had a sea-view room on a B&B basis - there was a good choice at breakfast both hot and cold dishes - the hotel was very popular with the Italians!
The views were fantastic - there are 2 nice restaurants opposite the hotel - had a couple of nice lunches
We had en-suite shower room - Towels were replaced every day
Would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: Ask for room above 3rd floor to get best of view Try lunch directly opposite hotel - the pizza rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed here for a 4-day break in Malta, selecting it for its location and the exceptional rate we received (€30/night). We weren't sure what to expect based on the rate we paid, and while this is not a luxury hotel, it met our needs. We had booked a double bed, sea-front room; but, we were allocated a sea-front room with two twin beds pushed together, presumably because we arrived on a late flight. The bedroom was furnished with a desk, wardrobe and the beds. The tv was wall-mounted, and a deposit is required to use the remote control, though you can still use the tv without the remote (deposits are also required for use of the safe key and hairdryers). The beds were reasonably comfortable, though they were made up with separate bottom sheets for each bed, a shared top sheet and separate bedspreads. The furnishings were fairly basic, though the room was pretty comfortable. The bathroom featured a shower room, basin and toilet; and, hand soap was the only toiletry provided. The only complaint about the bathroom was that it wasn't very well lit. With the exception of a bit of dust, the room as a whole was clean. Because it was warm during our from the street below, particularly cars racing around in the early hours of the morning. The walls were a bit thin, and the door wasn't very solid, so we did hear other guests and the housekeeping staff quite clearly in the mornings.

There is a nice rooftop terrace with a small swimming pool, seating and fantastic views of the sea and surrounding area. We also had great views of the bay from our room. We had no complaints with the service we received - the staff was always helpful and courteous. One morning we forgot to remove the 'do not disturb' sign from our door when we went out, and when we came back that evening, the housekeeper had left a pack of clean towels, which we thought was a nice touch. The hotel is in a really convenient location for exploring on foot or by bus (there is a stop right outside the hotel that goes to the ferry port in the north of the island). There are a
few restaurants in the area, and we particularly enjoyed the Italian restaurant next to the hotel. Overall, we enjoyed our time at The Carlton - it's not luxury but it is good value.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T_R_Grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.7 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.5 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Property: Carlton Hotel
Address: 261 Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1600, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Beach Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sliema
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Hotel in Sliema Malta is a newly refurbished modern value boutique hotel, situated on the popular Tower Road seafront promenade of Sliema. The hotel houses 47 luxury modern, yet elegant, rooms with private bathroom or shower, each finished to high standard. All rooms are furnished in a stylish wenge wood finish, and features include either one double bed or two twin beds, 24" LED TV with satellite, individually controlled air-conditioning, supreme quality orthopaedic mattresses, black out curtains, free WIFI, and an in-room safe. The seafront balcony room have a balcony overlooking majestic open sea views. To compliment this hotel is a lovely swimming pool and sunbathing deck on the top level as well as breakfast room situated on the 7th floor both of which with beautiful sea view. Breakfast is of un upgraded continental buffet type and includes a selection of breads, cereals, hams, cheeses, tea, coffee etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing