We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Newport, South Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

The hotel pictures are lovely but if you book a low cost room be prepared to be on the top floor with no balcony, low shower pressure, a broken wardrobe with disintegrating coat hangers and no safe. The lift says it holds 4 people but if you have a bag with you 2 people is really the maximum it can hold. You will need to take extra spending money as normal basics require a €10 deposit - such as the tv remote, hair dryer or a safe key if you are lucky enough to have a safe. The road is busy the windows are not double glazed so you can hear the traffic all the time. The rooftop pool is not large enough to swim in but if you are going in the height of summer it might be ok to cool off in like a plunge pool. Sliema was good for going out in the evening and the local buses are regular and cheap with a bus stop very close to the hotel in either direction. The reception desk is manned 24/7 and the reception staff were courteous. Buffet breakfast - cereals, breads, full English and continental should mean you should be able to find something enjoyable to eat.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    223
    152
    51
    34
See reviews for
65
276
55
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Let's start with the bad points:-

The hotel is on a main road and rooms on the first two floors do NOT have a sea view, just trees. The traffic noise is constant and the hotel is next to a set of traffic lights.

The lift is only big enough for 2 adults at a time.

You have to 'hire' the remote for the telly.

The breakfast gets a bit monotonous after a while - most local places use proper bacon and sausages, why can't they?

AND THE GOOD POINTS? -

The staff are very friendly and helpful.

You have a bus-stop right outside the hotel on both sides of the road; weekly ticket of 10 euros will let you go ANYWHERE on Malta at any time. The bus drivers are ex-F1 drivers and everyone drives in Malta like they own the roads. (They drive on the left as well).

Sliema itself is a bit pricey, but try Bugibba for a great cheap day out. Also visit Gozo if you can.

There are loads of bars and quality restaurants within walking distance of the hotel and a quiet walk back after a night out is recommended.

Try Mr Softy for ice-creams to die for (further up the road towards the ferries).


Not much to say about the hotel - it's very basic, not excessively clean and tidy but at 10 euros a night per room, it's all you need as a base to explore a lovely island full of history!!

Room Tip: Anything above the second floor and you have to request a sea view, otherwise you're at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hearetaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We booked to come to this Hotel, but on arrival were told that it had plumbing problems and were sent over to stay at the St Julian's Bay Hotel (as it would appear quite a few of you have had this too)

The St Julian's Bay Hotel is a complete dump, I would advise not to book at the Carlton Hotel, just in case they mug you off and send you over to St Julian's Bay!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sliema hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

My partner and I were a little bit dubious about staying here as there were a few very uncomplimentary reviews, however we were pleasantly surprised! Only negative was the double bed was really 2 singles attached together. Otherwise, We got an excellent rate (I would even say cheap rate after using trivago). The location is seafront, plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Therefore we didn't use the hotels buffet breakfast. Room was cleaned daily with fresh linen and towels. Excellent bus service right outside door. Air conditioned room was a bonus as it was hot and humid. Balcony was great for drying the towels. When booking we requested a quiet room and we were in a room at the back of the hotel on the fifth floor which was quiet. I would say rooms at the front are noisy due to the street traffic, but they would have an excellent view, but the trade off was worth it for us. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it as a value hotel in a great location with friendly staff, and free wifi, air conditioned room, color flat screen tv and a safe (€20 refundable deposit for use of safe and remote for tv).

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobMcGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taglio di Po, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

I had booked to stay here in early June for 3 nights from 21 September to attend the wedding of a friend: their I DO NOT HAVE RESERVED THE CAMERA! I had booked a double sea view and I was sent to another hotel in a single room with a shower clogged! They found the excuse that broke a pipe staying here but other relatives of the groom and he found there was a break. View randomly moved us 2 and another friend who had booked for the b & b and with different names than the groom. Moreover, despite the complaints were not readily available and peasants. I did not see the rooms but all the relatives of the groom not have done very well: it does not have private rooms with sea view booked for time, in the room there was no smell of mildew and even swept the floor. Bad!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Carlton is a budget hotel with no frills. Very clean and newly decorated in a modern style. I stayed 8 nights in early November and weather was good. High winds may stop the tour boats though and some tours are not done in November. Carlton has a small roof pool but I preferred going to the rocky beach just outside across the road. It's deep though so you need to be a good simmer. Many locals seem to use it during the weekend too. Water is incredibly clear in Malta everywhere.

Hotel breakfast is very basic and nothing is really fresh. But if you're ok with toast and cereal etc then it's fine. There are many restaurants near by - I'd recommend the Barracuda or the one below it - left from hotel to the corner building by the sea with fantastic views. Peppi's just in front of the hotel is a great pub style place with bar food, drinks and sports on tv any time of day. For a cheap glass of wine or a coffee to watch the sun go down go to the seaside park kiosk in front of the hotel 5min walk - wish I had discovered that on the first day! You can make some feline friends on the way as some cats seem to live in the park.

The road below is busy but double doors and heavy curtains on balcony were good. Room is small and didn't have a hairdryer, but towels changed and room cleaned well every day. TV had mostly italian channels but also bbc world and cnn news. Reception very friendly and efficient. Free wifi (a bit weak in my room) and also computer room by the hour access.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terameri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Not a bad hotel at all for the price. Firstly though,the rooms with a proper sea view are very limited.Only 4 rooms on floors 3,4 and 5 have a good sea view, those being 35.36,37 and 38; 45,46,47 and 48 and 55,56,57 and 58.Any rooms below the 3rd floor have a very obstructed view, this being the restaurant across the road. The 6th floor is the dining area and the 7th floor has the best view but no balcony and no double glazing,and boy are they noisy.Some rooms on the side of the hotel have a VERY limited sea view but the predominant view is of the hotel across a very busy side street.The other rooms are all at the rear of the hotel.If you book this hotel make sure you book a sea view and insist on one of the ones mentioned, they are definately worth the extra. Sorry to go on about the rooms but the hotel location is all about the view.
The buffet breakfast is very good with a selection of hot and cold food,served, as mentioned, on the 6th floor with fantastic views over the bay.
The staff seem very friendly and try to resolve most problems, these being mostly about rooms(as most people want the rooms with the view)
Finally,and this is a must. If you are thinking of exploring the island on your own,then you must get a 7 day ticket for the busses.These are available on any bus and cost just 12 euro. For this you can travel on any bus, anywhere, from 5.30am to 11.00pm. The bus stop is right outside the hotel so it is just like having your own personel taxi.We explored the whole island and the busses are every few minutes.

Room Tip: Must have room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.5 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.7 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Property: Carlton Hotel
Address: 261 Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1600, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Beach Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Hotel in Sliema Malta is a newly refurbished modern value boutique hotel, situated on the popular Tower Road seafront promenade of Sliema. The hotel houses 47 luxury modern, yet elegant, rooms with private bathroom or shower, each finished to high standard. All rooms are furnished in a stylish wenge wood finish, and features include either one double bed or two twin beds, 24" LED TV with satellite, individually controlled air-conditioning, supreme quality orthopaedic mattresses, black out curtains, free WIFI, and an in-room safe. The seafront balcony room have a balcony overlooking majestic open sea views. To compliment this hotel is a lovely swimming pool and sunbathing deck on the top level as well as breakfast room situated on the 7th floor both of which with beautiful sea view. Breakfast is of un upgraded continental buffet type and includes a selection of breads, cereals, hams, cheeses, tea, coffee etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing