We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carlton Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
St. Julian's Bay Hotel(Saint Julian's)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Le Meridien St. Julians(Saint Julian's)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cavalieri Art Hotel(Saint Julian's)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (626)
Filter reviews
626 results
Traveller rating
115
248
167
56
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
248
167
56
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe bussea viewst julianspub next doorplunge poolbreakfast roombasic star hotelmini markettravel kettlecleaning ladiesreception staff were very friendlyrooms are smallboth directionsballuta bayinternet connectionexcellent locationmain promenade
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 626 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2013

the location is good. there is a bus stop in front of the hotel so you can visit the whole island. the beach is just across the road. next to cafes and restaurants.

we asked for blankets but they dont have any so we got cold. the room door wasnt locked properly and when closing the door makes so much noise. the swimming pool is so so so small and dirty, only two person can fit in the pool. its better to say they dont have a pool.

Room Tip: its worth to pay more to a sea view room on the upper floors. but not fifth floor because on the sixth floor there is breakfast room and so much noise in the morning.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hande k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We booked this hotel mainly due to other reveiwers and it seemed to be the best in this price range. On arrival Carl was extremely helpful and we were checked in very quickly. The room had a wonderful view with a small balcony overlooking the sea and St Julians - perfect. It is so nice to wake up to a view like that on holiday!
The room had adequate storage with an extra bed which we found helpful for all our stuff. Sadly we didn't have any bath towels so had to go to reception to ask and they had none either so that is a small critisicm- we didn't actually get a full set until the 4th day. There was no hot water in the sink- the tap had been adjusted so that the water stopped when you tried to turn it for hot, like the shower. Not really a huge problem in summer but maybe in winter it would be.
The shower was a hand held one which we thought was a bit odd but we managed quite well and the pressure was good and we had hot water 95% of the time.
Wifi in the room was very good and the tv had a selection of programs to suit various languages. The beds were 2 singles pushed together and we slept well for the whole week. Air con was available too and we used it a few times as the road down below was quite noisy so you woudn't want to open the windows when you are trying to sleep.The noise wasn't a problem and it was worth the few blaring horns and sqeal of tyres for the view anyway.
There was a pool on the roof with sun beds but no towels so take your own. We didn't use it as we have one at home so this was a exploring type of holiday.
The situation of the hotel was its best feature. Well placed for buses into Sliema ferries and to St Julinas in the other direction. If you are fit you can walk to both but for me it was a bit hot to do that .
Breakfast was on the 6th floor directly above our room. At first we thought it was a pain to hear all the chairs scrapping but on reflection we felt it better to have the noise when we are getting up rather than have noisy people above us at any time of day. The rooms were very well soundproofed actually and we only heard noise from the passage outside the room. With only 8 rooms on each floor it was never overly noisy.
Back to the breakfast and it was very good. A large choice of items with a machine providing whatever drinks you wanted. Each day was the same products so by the end of the week you wanted something different but that would be the same in most hotels.
The lift was very small but worked every day. The hotel looked after our cases when we checked out of the room so we could stroll around the area before getting back to the airport.

Room Tip: We had room 55- some rooms face the back and are probably cheaper. If you can afford the extra book a front one. There were some trees along the pavement opposite the hotel so lower floors may have an obstructed view plus notice the street noise more.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mummybearSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Really helpful staff, they swapped rooms for us straight away from one on the first floor to one on the third (read reviews saying a higher floor was better). Great location as the bus stop is just outside. Lovely airy and bright room for breakfast. Room cleaned everyday to a good standard. Nothing to complain about at all!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed on the fifth floor with room with sea view. Fantastic view although the balcony is very small. Friendly and helpful staff. Good value for money. The area is very nice with easy access to the buses and crowded with good resraurants.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GrimmanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Arrived late Friday evening , night reception fine, lift to room extreamly small. Room poor.
bathroom mouldy , balcony so small only one person would be able to fit on it if you were brave enought to go out on it. Bed quiet comfy although the sheet was blood stained! and the throw had seen better days. Who does their decorating? why just two lenghts of paper in the middle of a wall? strange! Extremly noise l woak thinking l was either in the coridor or on the pavement out side...this hotel needs sound proofing and re decorating.Breakfast was not very appetising, well not the cooked anyway! And we save the best till last THE POOL..best described as a large bath. WHAT A JOKE!

Room Tip: avoid this hotel if you are use to decent quality
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gill w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews