We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Tbilisi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location and staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Good location. Friendly staff. Many thanks to manager Karl Zubi. He always is ready to help. A bus stop is near. Use the buses to visit all nice island! The price of week ticket is only 12 euro. Good restaurant on the other side. Beautiful view from the room. Small pool, but you can rest there. Not good wi-fi in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikheil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    220
    146
    50
    34
See reviews for
63
271
53
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Reasonably priced hotel friendly staff breakfast was fine and had the roof terrace to ourselves mostly - so far so good! Good bus service and two good bars/eateries directly opposite Frescos and Peppis and superb ice cream parlour just out of hotel turn left

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank no.1jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

the location is good. there is a bus stop in front of the hotel so you can visit the whole island. the beach is just across the road. next to cafes and restaurants.

we asked for blankets but they dont have any so we got cold. the room door wasnt locked properly and when closing the door makes so much noise. the swimming pool is so so so small and dirty, only two person can fit in the pool. its better to say they dont have a pool.

Room Tip: its worth to pay more to a sea view room on the upper floors. but not fifth floor because on the six...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hande k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
164 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We booked this hotel mainly due to other reveiwers and it seemed to be the best in this price range. On arrival Carl was extremely helpful and we were checked in very quickly. The room had a wonderful view with a small balcony overlooking the sea and St Julians - perfect. It is so nice to wake up to a view like that on holiday!
The room had adequate storage with an extra bed which we found helpful for all our stuff. Sadly we didn't have any bath towels so had to go to reception to ask and they had none either so that is a small critisicm- we didn't actually get a full set until the 4th day. There was no hot water in the sink- the tap had been adjusted so that the water stopped when you tried to turn it for hot, like the shower. Not really a huge problem in summer but maybe in winter it would be.
The shower was a hand held one which we thought was a bit odd but we managed quite well and the pressure was good and we had hot water 95% of the time.
Wifi in the room was very good and the tv had a selection of programs to suit various languages. The beds were 2 singles pushed together and we slept well for the whole week. Air con was available too and we used it a few times as the road down below was quite noisy so you woudn't want to open the windows when you are trying to sleep.The noise wasn't a problem and it was worth the few blaring horns and sqeal of tyres for the view anyway.
There was a pool on the roof with sun beds but no towels so take your own. We didn't use it as we have one at home so this was a exploring type of holiday.
The situation of the hotel was its best feature. Well placed for buses into Sliema ferries and to St Julinas in the other direction. If you are fit you can walk to both but for me it was a bit hot to do that .
Breakfast was on the 6th floor directly above our room. At first we thought it was a pain to hear all the chairs scrapping but on reflection we felt it better to have the noise when we are getting up rather than have noisy people above us at any time of day. The rooms were very well soundproofed actually and we only heard noise from the passage outside the room. With only 8 rooms on each floor it was never overly noisy.
Back to the breakfast and it was very good. A large choice of items with a machine providing whatever drinks you wanted. Each day was the same products so by the end of the week you wanted something different but that would be the same in most hotels.
The lift was very small but worked every day. The hotel looked after our cases when we checked out of the room so we could stroll around the area before getting back to the airport.

Room Tip: We had room 55- some rooms face the back and are probably cheaper. If you can afford the extra book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mummybearSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Really helpful staff, they swapped rooms for us straight away from one on the first floor to one on the third (read reviews saying a higher floor was better). Great location as the bus stop is just outside. Lovely airy and bright room for breakfast. Room cleaned everyday to a good standard. Nothing to complain about at all!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed on the fifth floor with room with sea view. Fantastic view although the balcony is very small. Friendly and helpful staff. Good value for money. The area is very nice with easy access to the buses and crowded with good resraurants.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GrimmanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Arrived late Friday evening , night reception fine, lift to room extreamly small. Room poor.
bathroom mouldy , balcony so small only one person would be able to fit on it if you were brave enought to go out on it. Bed quiet comfy although the sheet was blood stained! and the throw had seen better days. Who does their decorating? why just two lenghts of paper in the middle of a wall? strange! Extremly noise l woak thinking l was either in the coridor or on the pavement out side...this hotel needs sound proofing and re decorating.Breakfast was not very appetising, well not the cooked anyway! And we save the best till last THE POOL..best described as a large bath. WHAT A JOKE!

Room Tip: avoid this hotel if you are use to decent quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gill w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sliema hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.7 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.5 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Property: Carlton Hotel
Address: 261 Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1600, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Beach Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sliema
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Hotel in Sliema Malta is a newly refurbished modern value boutique hotel, situated on the popular Tower Road seafront promenade of Sliema. The hotel houses 47 luxury modern, yet elegant, rooms with private bathroom or shower, each finished to high standard. All rooms are furnished in a stylish wenge wood finish, and features include either one double bed or two twin beds, 24" LED TV with satellite, individually controlled air-conditioning, supreme quality orthopaedic mattresses, black out curtains, free WIFI, and an in-room safe. The seafront balcony room have a balcony overlooking majestic open sea views. To compliment this hotel is a lovely swimming pool and sunbathing deck on the top level as well as breakfast room situated on the 7th floor both of which with beautiful sea view. Breakfast is of un upgraded continental buffet type and includes a selection of breads, cereals, hams, cheeses, tea, coffee etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia and Lastminute so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing