We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good value”
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We booked a family room, 2+1, here having been impressed by the price.

Turned out to give us good value. Big room, huge bathroom, free wifi and good location very close to a few really good restaurants.

The second floor (rear) room was a little noisier than we'd have liked, but hey this is a city, a seafront, so you have to expect a bit of noise.

We didn't take the breakfast - Peppi's across the road was sufficient and catered for some vegetarian needs.

Staff were very helpful in assisting us locate bus stops and advise on visits, etc.

All In all, a very good hotel which we'd use again

Room Tip: The higher up in the hotel the quieter traffic noise, probably
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HorseWorld_Marketing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

My room wasn't ready so I took what was available that had a view of the bay. The room was ok, it seemed old and depressing (AC turned off by itself). The bathroom was clean but the shower was small. Service was good, front desk was very helpful with directions, bus routes, maps, and the usual tourist info. Overall, it's the location that is amazing! Close to many bars and restaurants, view of the bay, and the bus stops right in front. You can walk to the other areas that have all the bars and nightlife.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Globaltrotter5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

After having read some of the reviews and then having spent 1 week at this Hotel back in late September 2013, I must say I am kind of floored by the gap.
I loved the location, the super friendly staff and the convenience of having everything at your doorstep (stores, beach-y area, bus stop, restaurants etc.).
Of course it is not a 5 star Hotel, but if you have the budget to go to a Palace, why would you bother with a 3 star and then complain for silly things?

Rooms are spacious and with a good lay-out, ours even had a small balcony.
A big plus for me: I particularly appreciated the heavy and thick curtains that close perfectly and shut out the light of day completely!
Bathrooms are clean and modern, equipped with a hair-dryer.
If I had something a bit less good to say, I would mention that the Housekeeping staff is a bit stingy when it comes to towels (only one per person and changed every other day).
We only took the room without breakfast so I don’t know how the food is, but the people who stayed there when I was seemed pleased with it.
If you go to the 7th floor, you can enjoy a beautiful view of the bay and there is even a small pool with some lounge chairs when you can sunbathe.

The area is pretty quiet but if you walk 20 minutes you can get to the lively (and noisy) neighborhood of Paceville and St Julian’s.
In other words, I definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: If you are given a room overlooking the little backstreet, you may want to be careful to what you we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Italian-mony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Myself and a friend stayed here for a week in September. Excellent value for money, we were £163 each for b&b. Rooms are a good size, modern and clean, air con worked perfectly. we had a balcony, which was a little small, but fits the purpose. breakfast was good each day, with selection of hot and cold, cereals, fruit juices etc. The rooftop terrace is perfect for a quiet sunbathe with a small pool which was great for cooling down in. Room was cleaned and fresh towels everyday. Location is brilliant, minutes walk from St Julians (which is full of nightlife) Staff were helpful and friendly!
All in all i would rate this hotel 10/10 for the purpose of our stay - meeting in with friends whilst visiting the island! We will definately be back. Thank you to all staff!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 133LaurenA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed at the Carlton for three nights on May as we wanted to visit Malta and Gozo. It's cheap, we payed €137 breakfast included. It was an average buffet breakfast, but enough to set you ready for a sightseeing day. Wondeful views of the bay from the room, but if you don't have a seaview room you can always go to the top floor, where there is a small swimmingpool and stunning views. Walking distance to St. Julian's but rather quiet area at night (May). No parking available, so good luck on the Sliema streets! Recommended if you are in a budget and want to visit the island.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms if possible. Nice view and quiet (May)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RomanetJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Basic hotel which needs a make-over. Rooms were small but clean. Hotel centrally located between St Julians and Sliema with beautiful views of the Bay - well worth paying more for a sea view. Bus stops outside so ideal for getting about the island - particularly if you are a first time visitor. Breakfast was buffet style and pretty mediocore. Staff on the whole were very helpful and knowledge about the area.

Room Tip: Got to have a sea view.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank WelshJudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I stayed here for 8 weeks during january and february 2013. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is only open between 7am- 9.30am if I remember correctly, which is a bit too early according to me. The old man serving the breakfast was a bit grumpy and pissed, but the lady was wonderful and so was all of the people working in the reception as well. I paid for a room without view but I still got a room with a balcony and side sea view which was great. No noise at all from the road below. Very modern and fresh bedrooms with a cleaning lady knocking on door every day. Access to rooftop and pool were available even during the winter. The rooms were a bit cold and there wasn't really any warm blankets, but I had the AC on every night with heat instead. Usually reception turned my AC off during the night, but it was fine since the room got warm within an hour or two. Honestly, it was great and I couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.7 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#7 of 28 in Sliema
1,075 reviews
0 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.5 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.4 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
2,078 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Address: 261 Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1600, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Beach Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £18 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Hotel in Sliema Malta is a newly refurbished modern value boutique hotel, situated on the popular Tower Road seafront promenade of Sliema. The hotel houses 47 luxury modern, yet elegant, rooms with private bathroom or shower, each finished to high standard. All rooms are furnished in a stylish wenge wood finish, and features include either one double bed or two twin beds, 24" LED TV with satellite, individually controlled air-conditioning, supreme quality orthopaedic mattresses, black out curtains, free WIFI, and an in-room safe. The seafront balcony room have a balcony overlooking majestic open sea views. To compliment this hotel is a lovely swimming pool and sunbathing deck on the top level as well as breakfast room situated on the 7th floor both of which with beautiful sea view. Breakfast is of un upgraded continental buffet type and includes a selection of breads, cereals, hams, cheeses, tea, coffee etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing