We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average, not clean” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average, not clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for 3 nights, noticed the cleaner comes with only a pail of water which is used to clean the entire floor. Bathroom floor was rather sticky had to use my slippers. Bring your shower gel because they don't provide it every day. Friendly staffs and very strategic location. Breakfast is simple and tasty.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Neethiya Pooven... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    220
    146
    50
    34
See reviews for
63
271
53
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife stopped in this hotel for our second visit to Malta.

The hotel is great value for money and is a no thrills hotel but a comfortable stay in a very good location with good access to buses.

The hotel is kept clean and our room was cleaned every day along with fresh bedding and towels changed each day.

Staff were very polite, friendly and helpful.

There is a small roof top terrace with pool which is nice and was never busy but you do have the beach on your doorstep but bear in mind this is not a sandy beach but you will still be able to go for a swim and Sun bathe on the flat rocks.

Personally, the only draw back for me was the breakfast. It is more a continental style breakfast and although people say there is bacon, sausage and eggs it didn't seem to be good quality or very fresh. However, the restaurant does have nice views. I would however highly recommend the cafe a couple of doors down called Cara's which is very nice for a bite to eat at very reasonable price, this is where the locals go.

I would recommend this hotel as it is great value for money if your not after everything in one place.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank englishmalteser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chisinau, Moldova
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just came back from a 4 nights stay at Carlton. I definetly expected more for the money we payed. The only things the hotel excelled at was location, location is really really good and the staff was also very helpful. Other than that, linens weren't changed once during our stay, and had some small stains on it. Furniture and doors are dated, they really should change the doors. Breakfast was ok. I can't say this was the worst experience of this kind in my life, but you really shouldn't have high expectations if you choose Carlton.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

If u don't require anything fancy or special, this might be the hotel for you.

The location is very good and the staff were really friendly. Breakfast was also ok: eggs, sausages, bacon, bread, tomatoes, cucumber, tea, coffee, yoghurt, cereals, fruit and some cakes.

The room was a bit small, but enough for us. I could easily go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kallaliina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just come back from a week here, if you like exploring and seeing everything this is the perfect hotel. It's in a great place right in the middle of everything, and a bus stop just outside. The staff are all really friendly and helpful, they give you lots of info when you arrive and will help you at anytime with bus times and numbers. We were in room 10 first floor at the back of the hotel, nice big room and very clean. It was good being at the back as we went to bed quite early and up early in morning. Road outside quite busy so would have been noisy at front on the first floor. Breakfast was lovely lots of choice hot and cold, so suited both of us. The only thing I missed was having a coffee in my room but just made do with water from supermarket just up the road only 85c for big bottle. There is a small pool on the roof but we only went up a couple of times as it's not our thing but there was people up there sun bathing and cooling off in the pool. Which ever hotel you decide to stay in a real must is the weekly bus ticket which you can get from driver first time you use any bus €6.50 each for a weekly ticket, fantastic service all over the island hop on and off as you like. (We nearly wore ours out) also great pub next door george is the landlord I've never seen so many bottles in a little pub. Peppis restaurant across the road was lovely too, ice cream parlour a couple of doors away. Sea just across the road so all in all everything you will need for a great holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Nice clean hotel with friendly staff - room cleaned and towels/sheets changed daily. We had a good sized room with balcony overlooking the sea. Breakfast is buffet style with a wide variety for all tastes - bacon, eggs, muesli, cereals, meats, cheeses, breads, fruit, yoghurt. Good location opposite small bathing area and small pool on roof which is a sun trap. Next door is an traditional pub (Plough and Anchor) which is really cheap and has a massive range of spirits! Recommended places to eat - Exiles Beach on the headland in Sliema and Huggins Pub in Paceville.

A week's bus pass is Euro6.50 which is an absolute bargain and you can use any bus (except 11.30pm-4.00am). You can buy the ticket from the bus driver. We used it to travel to sites that would cost a fortune to reach via taxi or taken too long on the hop on-hop off buses. Each bus stop has a name and most buses had a display which showed the next bus stop. Google maps shows the name of the bus stops so I was able to identify the name of the bus stop I needed and could count them down from the map I'd printed. Alternatively just ask the bus driver to tell you when to get off!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sage L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

My wife and I went to Malta for the first time to celebrate our 40th Anniversay.We had been recommended to stay in Sliema as its a bit flatter for walking around.I picked the Carlton Hotel as its location looked ideal.The Hotel staff were very polite and friendly , the downside is its on the corner of a very busy road and right next to the main coast road --gets noisy.Rooms are quite small but functional. Another downside is you have to pay 6 euros each for breakfast ,we didn`t as there cafe`s either side and you can feed two for 6euro`s.
Malta itself is full of history and the buses are great , you can get anywhere on the island by bus and very cheap.

Overall I would recommend Malta to people but check hotel locations first. Hope this is of help .

Room Tip: Do not get one overlooking the sea front---noisy even with triple glazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.7 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.5 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Property: Carlton Hotel
Address: 261 Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1600, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Beach Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sliema
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Hotel in Sliema Malta is a newly refurbished modern value boutique hotel, situated on the popular Tower Road seafront promenade of Sliema. The hotel houses 47 luxury modern, yet elegant, rooms with private bathroom or shower, each finished to high standard. All rooms are furnished in a stylish wenge wood finish, and features include either one double bed or two twin beds, 24" LED TV with satellite, individually controlled air-conditioning, supreme quality orthopaedic mattresses, black out curtains, free WIFI, and an in-room safe. The seafront balcony room have a balcony overlooking majestic open sea views. To compliment this hotel is a lovely swimming pool and sunbathing deck on the top level as well as breakfast room situated on the 7th floor both of which with beautiful sea view. Breakfast is of un upgraded continental buffet type and includes a selection of breads, cereals, hams, cheeses, tea, coffee etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Lastminute so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing