We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at the Carlton”
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My wife and I spent two weeks at the Carlton in July and could not speak highly enough of our stay.

Malta presents an abundance of places to visit and short of staying in Valetta at a much more expensive hotel the Carlton provides a great base for all your activities. The bus stop is right outside the hotel, the bus service is excellent and the price unbelievable.

Our room was very simple with everything we needed on hand apart from a kettle, but we had known this beforehand and took a travel kettle with us. The room was kept beautifully clean and towels and bedding were changed regularly. The cleaning staff were friendly and anxious to please. The air-conditioning was excellent and meant that we got some wonderful sleeps. The view from our sea-facing window was lovely and the balcony though small was quite adequate. The TV was functional but of limited value with only a small number of channels. We were however easily able to connect a little HDMI lead from our tablet to watch some late-night films! The internet was excellent and meant we could stream a little bit of the World Cup without problem!

We had read before our trip that noise could be an issue. We did hear some traffic noise but didn't find this a problem at night. The only difficulty we did have with noise came from other guests one night early on in our stay, but they thankfully moved on!

The lift is small but quite big enough for the four people it is intended to carry. It presented no problem to us when moving our luggage and was usually available for the upward trip to the fourth floor. We note other folk raising concerns about the stairs but we simply don't see any problem.

We had opted to take the buffet breakfast during the whole of our stay and were not disappointed. There was an abundance of choice. The food was well presented and great care was taken to replenish the different items as needed.We found the breakfast excellent value for money and it left us needing little for lunch. The staff in the breakfast room were so attentive and friendly and did their utmost to see that we were pleased.

On the roof of the hotel there is a small terrace with an even smaller pool. We did use this a couple of times but this was not a strong selling-point and on one occasion we wondered if some of the people present were actually guests at all.

Opposite the Hotel is a beach area which actually has some sand - Malta is not of course known for its sandy-beaches! The little bay the hotel sits in is lovely and there is plenty of room to sunbathe and swim. There is also abundant cover to sit and watch the world go by. Add to this there are several very nice restaurants within a few hundred metres and a ten-minute walk into St Julians provides a great variety more. We found the location of the hotel to be excellent as has been described by others.

Mention has been made of the helpfulness of the reception staff and we would like to underline this. All without exception were helpful but special mention should perhaps be made of Carl who was so polite and so anxious to please.

We would stay again at the Carlton without any hesitation.

Room Tip: Fourth floor and above for the view
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
There are newer reviews for Carlton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

As my first stay in Malta the main criterion was the location, which is the access to public transportation and not needing to rent a car, as parking spaces are next to impossible to find and if you find one, very expensive…

The Carlton is, like many reviews indicate, an average hotel. However, the location, in Sliema is excellent for access to the beach, to restaurants and to public transportation that takes you anywhere.

The rooms are nice and clean and staff very helpful and friendly. There is a pool on the roof top, and even if not very big, it is big enough to cool down from the heat. Air conditioning in the room worked fine, despite the constant outside + 30 - 35 C daytime temperature and as our room was facing towards the back street the traffic on Tower road was no particular problem.

The Carlton is in our view good value for money and definitely to be recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mietzner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

I spent my Christmas holydays in Sliema last year and I found this hotel very nice, clean and strategically positioned, with a bus stop just in the iter siderale of the road! The staff was really friendly and helpful, my room was simple but clean and I think I will choose this place again for a future visit of this beautiful island! Thanks a lot :)

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Lui90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel between the 7th and 14th July, during this stay we noticed a number of defects with this hotel which mean that at the present time I recommend that people do not stay at this hotel for their own safety. In addition the Malta Tourism Authority is currently carrying out an investigation into this hotel, and a further site visit by them is planned next week.

In particular the balconies on this building are in a very poor state of repair, yet the management continue to rent rooms, which they know are unsafe. Here is what happened on our last day of our stay at the hotel.

We were woken at 8 a.m. in the morning by the sound of a workman directly outside our 4th floor room, using a chisel to remove poor quality cement from the balcony above ours. When we opened the curtains he was looking directly into our room, as you will see from the photos included in this review.

On discovering this situation, I went to reception, as the intercom did not work and discussed the situation with the manager. The manager explained that a member of the public had reported the hotel to the police as concrete was falling off the building, and as a result emergency work was needed to the building. The manager admitted that they had known about the situation the day before, and also accepted that the state of the balconies had been very poor for a significant length of time (see photos of previous substandard repairs to the balconies).

Despite knowing that work was needed to the building, no attempt was made to inform us of the situation, or to arrange an alternative room prior to work starting.

On returning to our room, the manager called me after some time to offer me a free breakfast, given the scale of the issue, I refused, the manager after I explained the situation again offered to provide us with an alternative room. As we had only just been woken up, we were in no position to immediately change rooms, so at this point I declined the offer, and continued to state my dissatisfaction. By this point there was concrete debris all over the balcony, and the noise was continuing, along with the workman looking into our room. As the repair work progressed wet concrete was also splattered across the windows.

At this point I decided to go downstairs again to speak with the manager to express my unhappiness with the situation, again he offered us an alternative room. I asked the manager to come to our room to see what we were experiencing. After some time the manager arrived and we again discussed the situation. He said he had to go and speak with his manager, after returning to the reception the manager called us on the intercom to offer us a free transfer to the airport, given this was our last day on Malta and we actually wanted to see more than wet concrete and dust, we accepted this, and the alternative room as the best we could achieve without wasting our day negotiating.

On arriving in the new room, we discovered that this was directly below our previous room, and so we continued to have the noise associated with the work, this was soon added to by an old lady screaming in pain, as the workmen had failed to cordon off their worksite and she had fallen over next to the crane, in time an ambulance arrived to take her to hospital. Given this we had no opportunity to get any sleep, and so decided to leave the hotel as soon as possible.

On leaving the hotel we noticed that the workman had now begun to work on the balcony of our previous room.

To be clear, this hotel felt it was appropriate to rent a room to customers, knowing that the balcony was in such a poor state of repair that it needed immediate, emergency repairs.

As you will see from the photos there were a number of serious structural issues with the balconies which leads me to feel that these rooms should not be available for rent until good quality repairs are undertaken.

Aside from these problems, I would also like to highlight the very narrow stairway within the building, which is the only fire exit, which I believe would be very unsafe if a fire was to occur. In addition the lift is so small that it is impossible for more than 2 people to get into the lift, and I am doubtful if it is of sufficient size to carry a wheelchair.

As for the staff at the hotel, in general these were friendly and helpful, however this meant little given the other problems we experienced.

The location of the hotel was good. However the bathrooms were not as clean as they could be.

The breakfast offered at this hotel was quite poor, in particular the 'hot' food, was under-cooked, the fruit juices were made from syrup concentrate, which meant it was like drinking water with sugar. The fruits were past their best.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room that does not have a balcony, due to the safety issues. However these rooms are...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alasdair555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for 3 nights, noticed the cleaner comes with only a pail of water which is used to clean the entire floor. Bathroom floor was rather sticky had to use my slippers. Bring your shower gel because they don't provide it every day. Friendly staffs and very strategic location. Breakfast is simple and tasty.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Neethiya Pooven... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife stopped in this hotel for our second visit to Malta.

The hotel is great value for money and is a no thrills hotel but a comfortable stay in a very good location with good access to buses.

The hotel is kept clean and our room was cleaned every day along with fresh bedding and towels changed each day.

Staff were very polite, friendly and helpful.

There is a small roof top terrace with pool which is nice and was never busy but you do have the beach on your doorstep but bear in mind this is not a sandy beach but you will still be able to go for a swim and Sun bathe on the flat rocks.

Personally, the only draw back for me was the breakfast. It is more a continental style breakfast and although people say there is bacon, sausage and eggs it didn't seem to be good quality or very fresh. However, the restaurant does have nice views. I would however highly recommend the cafe a couple of doors down called Cara's which is very nice for a bite to eat at very reasonable price, this is where the locals go.

I would recommend this hotel as it is great value for money if your not after everything in one place.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank englishmalteser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just came back from a 4 nights stay at Carlton. I definetly expected more for the money we payed. The only things the hotel excelled at was location, location is really really good and the staff was also very helpful. Other than that, linens weren't changed once during our stay, and had some small stains on it. Furniture and doors are dated, they really should change the doors. Breakfast was ok. I can't say this was the worst experience of this kind in my life, but you really shouldn't have high expectations if you choose Carlton.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.7 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,031 reviews
0.5 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.0 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,473 reviews
0.5 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Address: 261 Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1600, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Beach Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £23 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Hotel in Sliema Malta is a newly refurbished modern value boutique hotel, situated on the popular Tower Road seafront promenade of Sliema. The hotel houses 47 luxury modern, yet elegant, rooms with private bathroom or shower, each finished to high standard. All rooms are furnished in a stylish wenge wood finish, and features include either one double bed or two twin beds, 24" LED TV with satellite, individually controlled air-conditioning, supreme quality orthopaedic mattresses, black out curtains, free WIFI, and an in-room safe. The seafront balcony room have a balcony overlooking majestic open sea views. To compliment this hotel is a lovely swimming pool and sunbathing deck on the top level as well as breakfast room situated on the 7th floor both of which with beautiful sea view. Breakfast is of un upgraded continental buffet type and includes a selection of breads, cereals, hams, cheeses, tea, coffee etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing