We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (679)
Filter reviews
680 results
Traveller rating
121
264
187
64
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
264
187
64
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the bus sea view st julians pub next door plunge pool mini market breakfast room free wifi both directions small pool excellent location balluta bay dressing table hop on hop tower road sea front busy road
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 680 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 2days from 13th October 2018 dept 15th October 2018 room was clean and beds were comfortable only fault I can find is no were to plug appliances in like phone charger and straighteners you had to remove the TV plug and the light plug on the dressing table to have any plugs at all which is a bit of a nuisance but other than that I would recommend this hotel, breakfast is free but just basic we ate out.
Area is ideal for everything ,excursions we were picked up right outside the Carlton and taken to the harbour for the catamaran over to Sicily which was a full day absolutely beautiful we had an early morning call from reception for our taxi to arrive at 5 a.m. we did not get back to the hotel till about 10:30 that night. We went to the village of Modica and sampled beautiful chocolate ,and breads and oil and visited Mount Etna which was an experience in itself the only downfall was it was not a very nice day and the catamaran back home was a nightmare lots of sick bags out and very rough seas but otherwise lots of souvenir shops and some places to eat while you're there well worth the trip but pick a nice day as it's very cold you're so high up. The two little restaurants at the right-hand side of the Cartlon hotel if you're looking at it from over the roads serve nice breakfast one you get free coffee with.Dont get a taxi to the Hotel from airport it's €20 you can jump on a bus right outside the airport for €2 which puts you off basically outside hotel it does take an hour but there is an express TD2 that takes 20mins for €3 that will put you off outside the church in Selima Malta then there's a ten minute walk to the Hotel so very easy to find.So if you want a Hotel that's clean with okay breakfast and in a place that is in an ideal place for ferries, buses nice promenade to walk down or run down restaurants this is it you carnt go wrong ,it can be noisy at the front of the hotel but they have the best rooms views we were in room 15 and were very pleased with it first floor .There is a pool on the roof but did not go up and see so carnt comment on this.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

Recently returned from my 3rd visit to the Carlton. I can't fault the hotel, location is excellent a short walk either to St Julian's or central Sliema. Rooms are comfortable and cleaned everyday with fresh towels. Amazing view from the rooftop pool. Staff are extremely
friendly. If you're expecting 5 star luxurious surroundings and facilities then don't book. But this hotel is 5 star in what it offers for value and serves as a base to easily get around Malta, don't change Carlton.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. They made our stay very enjoyable. Had a great view of the bay from our 6th floor room.

Loxated by a bus stop and close to many restaurants and shops nearby.

Reception staff always greated with a smile. View from the breakfast room was great across the bay.

We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 911clives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

I stayed here for one night ( thank goodness) The hotel is in need of a major refurbishment. Dark furniture. Dated bathroom and dirty carpets. Breakfast was ok . Yes it is in a good all be it noisy location but there are nicer hotels near by Would not return or recommend to family and friends .

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 280olive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Booked here on the reference of a friend and left disappointed. The location is great, between Sliema and St Julian,s, but that's about all.
It's a clean hotel, but it really is basic at best. There's no reception to speak off, no relaxing areas, no fridge in room and no bar.
The pool area is OK, but too small and always over crowded.
We will be going back to Malta, but the Carlton won't be our first choice.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road are really noisy. The main road becomes a bit of a race track
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews