We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Palace(Sliema)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Park Hotel(Sliema)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,151)
Filter reviews
2,151 results
Traveller rating
1,043
798
218
76
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,043
798
218
76
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspenny black barcharles portellirooftop poolsister hoteljunior suitelovely hotelfront office managerair consea frontreception staffquiet areapalazzo capuanice balconyasian restaurantvery pleasant staytop floorbreakfast and dinner
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,366 - 1,371 of 2,151 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2011

My partner took me away for five nights for my 40th birthday and we picked this hotel on a Bed & Breakfast basis. It was excellent value for money and on arrival was far more "grand" than I expected for the price. The hotel is beautiful, the staff are very welcoming and friendly, the room was very large and spotlessly clean. It was only a short walk to Sliema Bay for bus and boat connections to pretty much anywhere and we walked into St Julian's some evenings for dinner which took about 15/20 minutes. The Penny Black bar in The Victoria was very comfortable and the staff were lovely. We made use of the pool, sauna, steam room, gym (the gym only once - we were not that good!) and if we had been there for longer would have used the spa (the prices were quite reasonable). It was the perfect hotel for our February stay and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie19641971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 April 2011

Dear Guests

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us during your visit to Malta. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided you with and also to mention our outlets and strategic poistion, which we truly appreciate.

Our ultimate objective is to serve and satisfy you with your expectations. It is in fact only through your comments and suggestions that we may achieve what we are striving for.

Whilst, thanking you for your kind words and feedback, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings. Furthermore should you wish to receive our latest news or hotel rates, kindly send us your email address.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Palace, I would like to thank you once again for your comments.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Yours sincerely

Kenneth Fenech
Reservations Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

now this hotel was nice,better than the palace hotel,and the staff are top notch,real friendly,and the food was great,lovely bar,especially the barman mario,i think,lovely bloke he is,nice rooms,although they may need an update,but still love that antique look of the place,never had any problems during my stay,next time i come to malta,i come here,and i usually stay at the savoy in london,so my tastes are quite high,and probally thats why i like this place,it has that savoy look about it,

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayedavid53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Had a few problems when we arrived which were immediately corrected and amended.
Hotel is in the central area of Sliema, just a 5 minute walk away from the water front, making it a quieter location.
Hotel rooms have good facilities; fridge, hairdryer and safe. Decor is fine but getting a bit tired. Room was immaculately cleaned every day, fresh towels if required, daily.
Buffet style breakfast and dinner, both have great selections and in abundance.
Outdoor and indoor swimming pools, sauna and steam rooms, adequate small gym.
Staff were wonderful, friendly, polite and very obliging.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DawnPirie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We have just returned from another week in The Victoria Hotel in Sliema, Malta. The hotel has had 100% occupancy since January which speaks volumes for the hotel. We have had several rooms over the last four years and have no complaints on any, they all are comfortable and have tea and coffee making facilities, fridge, safe, TV and hair dryer. The staff are wonderful especially the reception and restaurant staff and nothing is too much trouble, they are always friendly and professional. The buffet dinner is very good with three alternatives for main course. Breakfast similarly has a varied selection and unless you are extremely picky will be satisfied with what is on offer. Returning in July for our usual 2 weeks and it cannot come soon enough. In our opinion this is the best hotel in Malta and we would not wish to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaltaFanatics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Stayed at the Victoria for four nights in February. Very clean pleasant hotel situated at the top of the hill in Sliema.
The staff were very helpful in all areas. There is a nice bar and the breakfast was perfectly adequate. The hotel has very nice decoration in an older style and must have been very grand in it's day, it still has a lot of charm.
The free underground car park was very handy for our hire car and there was always plenty of space even though the hotel was full.
There was no real view from our room and I can't imagine the other rooms would have a view as the hotel is quite a distance from the promenade.
I would definitely recommend the Victoria, especially to someone wanting to tour around Malta. It is also ideally placed for day or evening trips into Valletta.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifeboatles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews