We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel and great staff”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Sarnia, Canada
1 review
“Amazing hotel and great staff”
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We had a great stay at The Victoria. The staff was great, helping us with everything we needed, and the breakfast was amazing every day. We stayed in for dinner one night, and got a soup, salad, pasta, entree, and dessert buffet, all for the price of an entree at another restaurant. The night we went to the bar, not the buffet, it was St. Patrick's Day, service was a little slow, but still, great food

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2011
Dear Guests

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us during your visit to Malta. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided you with, which we truly appreciate.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Palace, I would like to thank you once again for your comments.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Yours sincerely

Kenneth Fenech
Reservations Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    893
    715
    206
    73
    16
See reviews for
238
1,134
126
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2011

The other reviews say it all.
The Victoria is much grander than I had expected from the website. So much so that I thought we had gone to the wrong hotel!
The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful. Quality of service is definitely very high on their priority list. Michelle Roux would be proud of them!
We booked a superior room which was spacious, light, and airy, with a good sized balcony and a large bathroom.Unfortunately, all the double rooms were occupied when we checked in, but someone quickly arrived to push our twin beds together to make them into a double.
Our room, and all the public areas were always kept spotlessly clean.
There was a good selection of hot and cold dishes for breakfast which varied daily and were carefully monitored by the staff so that nothing ran out for more than a few minutes, if at all. The only minor downside was that fruit juice and coffee were dispensed from machines.
Yes, the decor is a little bit tired in places, but not enough to give a second thought to. I have stayed in far grander hotels which have been much worse.
At £50 a night for bed and breakfast, the Victoria was outstanding value. Making a booking was the easiest I have ever come across on the internet, particularly as I had to change our travel dates. Just login, change the dates and a confirmation email arrived almost immediately.
We will most definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rimpiattino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2011
Dear Guests

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us during your visit to Malta. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided you with, which we truly appreciate.

Our ultimate objective is to serve and satisfy you with your expectations. It is in fact only through your comments and suggestions that we may achieve what we are striving for.

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta. All my team will surely give their utmost to give you the 5 star service which we constantly strive for.

Whilst, thanking you for your kind words and feedback, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings. Furthermore should you wish to receive our latest news or hotel rates, kindly send us your email address.
On behalf of all the management and staff at The Palace, I would like to thank you once again for your comments.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Yours sincerely

Kenneth Fenech
Reservations Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

My partner took me away for five nights for my 40th birthday and we picked this hotel on a Bed & Breakfast basis. It was excellent value for money and on arrival was far more "grand" than I expected for the price. The hotel is beautiful, the staff are very welcoming and friendly, the room was very large and spotlessly clean. It was only a short walk to Sliema Bay for bus and boat connections to pretty much anywhere and we walked into St Julian's some evenings for dinner which took about 15/20 minutes. The Penny Black bar in The Victoria was very comfortable and the staff were lovely. We made use of the pool, sauna, steam room, gym (the gym only once - we were not that good!) and if we had been there for longer would have used the spa (the prices were quite reasonable). It was the perfect hotel for our February stay and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie19641971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2011
Dear Guests

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us during your visit to Malta. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided you with and also to mention our outlets and strategic poistion, which we truly appreciate.

Our ultimate objective is to serve and satisfy you with your expectations. It is in fact only through your comments and suggestions that we may achieve what we are striving for.

Whilst, thanking you for your kind words and feedback, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings. Furthermore should you wish to receive our latest news or hotel rates, kindly send us your email address.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Palace, I would like to thank you once again for your comments.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Yours sincerely

Kenneth Fenech
Reservations Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

now this hotel was nice,better than the palace hotel,and the staff are top notch,real friendly,and the food was great,lovely bar,especially the barman mario,i think,lovely bloke he is,nice rooms,although they may need an update,but still love that antique look of the place,never had any problems during my stay,next time i come to malta,i come here,and i usually stay at the savoy in london,so my tastes are quite high,and probally thats why i like this place,it has that savoy look about it,

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayedavid53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Had a few problems when we arrived which were immediately corrected and amended.
Hotel is in the central area of Sliema, just a 5 minute walk away from the water front, making it a quieter location.
Hotel rooms have good facilities; fridge, hairdryer and safe. Decor is fine but getting a bit tired. Room was immaculately cleaned every day, fresh towels if required, daily.
Buffet style breakfast and dinner, both have great selections and in abundance.
Outdoor and indoor swimming pools, sauna and steam rooms, adequate small gym.
Staff were wonderful, friendly, polite and very obliging.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnPirie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyldesley MANCHESTER
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We have just returned from another week in The Victoria Hotel in Sliema, Malta. The hotel has had 100% occupancy since January which speaks volumes for the hotel. We have had several rooms over the last four years and have no complaints on any, they all are comfortable and have tea and coffee making facilities, fridge, safe, TV and hair dryer. The staff are wonderful especially the reception and restaurant staff and nothing is too much trouble, they are always friendly and professional. The buffet dinner is very good with three alternatives for main course. Breakfast similarly has a varied selection and unless you are extremely picky will be satisfied with what is on offer. Returning in July for our usual 2 weeks and it cannot come soon enough. In our opinion this is the best hotel in Malta and we would not wish to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaltaFanatics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Stayed at the Victoria for four nights in February. Very clean pleasant hotel situated at the top of the hill in Sliema.
The staff were very helpful in all areas. There is a nice bar and the breakfast was perfectly adequate. The hotel has very nice decoration in an older style and must have been very grand in it's day, it still has a lot of charm.
The free underground car park was very handy for our hire car and there was always plenty of space even though the hotel was full.
There was no real view from our room and I can't imagine the other rooms would have a view as the hotel is quite a distance from the promenade.
I would definitely recommend the Victoria, especially to someone wanting to tour around Malta. It is also ideally placed for day or evening trips into Valletta.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifeboatles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,040 reviews
1.0 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,845 reviews
0.4 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Property: The Victoria Hotel
Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1807, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#2 Family Hotel in Sliema
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sliema
Victoria Hotel Malta
The Victoria Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing