We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor, dated hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Poor, dated hotel”
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Definitely would not stay in this hotel again. I can only assume that those who praise this hotel have not stayed in nice hotels before!

The rooms were old, the carpets were coming up and beds had wafer thin mattresses.

The bathroom was terrible, dated, rusty and a bit smelly. No toiletries were provided except for hand wash and showergel in questionable containers on the wall.

The Walls were extremely thin and you could here everything from both sides and above, including all water noises, pipes etc.

No safe was provided and the air con did not work and was very noisy.

Our room was not the exception; we were with friends whose room was the same.

Breakfast was of low quality; no fresh juice, cold eggs and just a general cheap feeling.

The pool at the sister hotel the palace was ok but the drains need clearing out as there was a strong smell of sewage.

The only positive is the friendly staff, however this is probably as a result of this being the general way of the Maltese people as opposed to the standards set by the hotel.

Avoid this hotel and spend a touch more to get higher quality elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for taking your time to give us your constructive comments on our services.

It is only through your feedback and suggestions that we keep improving our product to ensure expectations are met. I would like to take this opportunity to reassure you that your comments have been discussed during our weekly operations meeting and have taken the necessary actions accordingly.

Please be advised that we would be more than happy to be of good service to you as we first intended. Should you decide to give us a second chance to please you with our services, we encourage you to contact us, to see to your needs accordingly. We would be very happy to upgrade your accommodation and treat you especially, as a returned guest of ours. Kindly refer to this letter to our reservations when placing your request.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Victoria Hotel, I would like to thank you once again for your comments.



Best Regards
Kenneth Fenech

Reservations Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    845
    683
    200
    72
    16
See reviews for
230
1,075
124
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We stayed at The Victoria Hotel in June 2011. We really enjoyed our stay there. The room was big and clean, and the staff very nice and helpful. The harbour and the ferry to Valletta was just a short walk away from the hotel.
We also liked the little gym and the pool on the roof. We recommend The Victoria hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UllisSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Dear Guests,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us during your visit to Malta. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided you with, which we truly appreciate.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Victoria Hotel, I would like to thank you once again for your comments.



Best Regards
Kenneth Fenech

Reservations Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

The only good things about this hotel are the location and the staff and most particularly the very nice ladies who are every day cleaning the rooms. The breakfast has very poor quality. The room was dating and bathroom in poor condition. The shower leaked water, no fridge and mini bar in the room. It is fortunate Victoria shares the Gym and the Spas facilities of its sister hotel “Palace”. It is better to spend more and stay at the Palace. Does not disserve its 4 stars rating.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nathkingcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for taking your time to give us your constructive comments on our services.

It is only through your feedback and suggestions that we keep improving our product to ensure expectations are met. I would like to take this opportunity to reassure you that your comments have been discussed during our weekly operations meeting and have taken the necessary actions accordingly.

Please be advised that we would be more than happy to be of good service to you as we first intended. Should you decide to give us a second chance to please you with our services, we encourage you to contact us, to see to your needs accordingly. We would be very happy to upgrade your accommodation and treat you especially, as a returned guest of ours. Kindly refer to this letter to our reservations when placing your request.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Victoria Hotel, I would like to thank you once again for your comments.



Best Regards
Kenneth Fenech

Reservations Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

we arrived at 15:10 but our room wasn't ready that time.
we was tired from the long long flight, but we had to wait for 30 minutes.
Our room was the end of corridor.

* Room - dark, sunless, airless, wet carpets, worn out furniture and bedclothes.

* Bathroom - the toilet dosen't flush well. the towels has yellow stains were shabby. the liquid soaps reeked of cheap men's perfume. the toilet papers were extremely rough.

* Mini bar - the refrigerator's temperature was fixed 15 derees C. we had to drink tepid water all the way. the inside of the electric kettle was really dirty.

* House keeping - one day a dirty wet rag was on the table. the next day they didn't empty the ashtray. the chairs in the balcony were covered with dust.

* Breakfast buffet - food had very little taste, dried bread, undrinkable coffee and juice.

* Dinner buffet - about 20 Euro per person, it didn't have enen an ounce of WORST.

* Reception desk - the young bald headed man was really rude.

*Location - Not good. there was't any restaurant near the hotel. many restaurants and cafes were about 10 minutes on foot distant.

* WIFI - NOT free of charge and only at the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hotelmarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for taking your time to give us your constructive comments on our services.

It is only through your feedback and suggestions that we keep improving our product to ensure expectations are met. I would like to take this opportunity to reassure you that your comments have been discussed during our weekly operations meeting and have taken the necessary actions accordingly.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Victoria Hotel, I would like to thank you once again for your comments.


Best Regards
Kenneth Fenech

Reservations Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We stayed for 7 nights and couldn't fault the hotel. The room was big and comfortable. A leg fell off one of the beds but was repaired immediately when reported. The room had a small fridge, aircon and a decent bathroom with shower. We paid for a balcony room but never used the balcony as it overlooked the street and other buildings. The hotel is not on the seafront and it a few mins walk uphill into town. A nice quiet location. The buffet breakfast was well stocked and had a superb selection of hot and cold items. The hotel had indoor and outdoor pools although we didn't have time to try them. Reception staff were helpful. The only negative aspect for me was that there was only wifi in the reception area and cabled internet in the bedrooms, all of which were chargable.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying extra for a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Metrolad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Dear Guests,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us during your visit to Malta. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided you with, which we truly appreciate.

Our ultimate objective is to serve and satisfy you with your expectations. It is in fact only through your comments and suggestions that we may achieve what we are striving for.

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Victoria Hotel, I would like to thank you once again for your comments.


Best Regards
Kenneth Fenech

Reservations Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perugia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

As coordinator of a European project meeting , I can confirm on behalf of the whole group that everyone has been very well in this hotel, both as meeting facilities and as accommodation, restaurant and leisure facilities (very appreciated the swimming pool and sun terrasse).
Everybody appreciated very much the courtesy and professional competence of all the staff members.
Both management and staff have excellent professionality also in arranging any problem by always smiling so that you feel so good even if you think your problem is unresolvable.
Coming back to Malta later this year and any other time I certainly will stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bibi49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Dear Guests,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us during your visit to Malta. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided you with, which we truly appreciate.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Victoria Hotel, I would like to thank you once again for your comments.


Best Regards
Kenneth Fenech

Reservations Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

we stayed from 6th to 12th june great hotel, and the service from the staff are the best we ever had and beleave me i have stopped in some hotels world wide with more stars then this one.the rooms are spacious and very clean although a bit dated a few chips and scratches on the furniture but so what have stayed in so called 5 star hotels in Toronto worse then this.
Stayed bed and breakfast, the breakfast has a good selection, good english buffet style and the other country that likes cold meat for breakfast.
Room 618 has a good if restricted view over the town of sliema.
hotel is on a incline down to the harbour but any where you go in Malta if you go down you have to come up again,they do a wednesday night all you can eat pasta with soup as well as dessert for 9.99euros we thought was value for money.
Would i recomed this hotel YES good location and brill staff.
As for Sliema seems be a bit of building work going on cranes in the middle of streets wagons going here there and every where.
The promenade is a good for walking from Sliema ,if you can cross the busy main road and i mean busy, the few proper crossing are hard to see and any way some drivers tend to ignore the red lights so be carefull when crossing.
go on a boat trip its up to you which ones but there is plenty of choice along the bay front.
Try the Hop on Hop off bus (15euros each) but i would advise to take a cushion the roads inland are to say the least rough (pot holes) and the busses suspension can hardly cope.
If you hire a car be aware that in silema you can not find a parking space the side streets are narrow and full of cars .
One other thing if you have trouble walking the narrow street have poor pavements as a active 64 year old i had two falls due to the pavements or the lack of them.
Would i go back to Malta NO the reason being, been,seen,got the T shirt, we dont go back to places once visited .

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james4786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Dear Guests,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us during your visit to Malta. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided you with, which we truly appreciate.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Victoria Hotel, I would like to thank you once again for your comments.


Best Regards
Kenneth Fenech

Reservations Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
3,282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#8 of 29 in Sliema
1,968 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Property: The Victoria Hotel
Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1807, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#2 Family Hotel in Sliema
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sliema
Victoria Hotel Malta
The Victoria Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing