We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Palace(Sliema)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Park Hotel(Sliema)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,151)
Filter reviews
2,151 results
Traveller rating
1,043
798
218
76
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,043
798
218
76
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspenny black barcharles portellirooftop poolsister hoteljunior suitelovely hotelfront office managerair consea frontreception staffquiet areapalazzo capuanice balconyasian restaurantvery pleasant staytop floorbreakfast and dinner
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,332 - 1,337 of 2,151 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Definitely would not stay in this hotel again. I can only assume that those who praise this hotel have not stayed in nice hotels before!

The rooms were old, the carpets were coming up and beds had wafer thin mattresses.

The bathroom was terrible, dated, rusty and a bit smelly. No toiletries were provided except for hand wash and showergel in questionable containers on the wall.

The Walls were extremely thin and you could here everything from both sides and above, including all water noises, pipes etc.

No safe was provided and the air con did not work and was very noisy.

Our room was not the exception; we were with friends whose room was the same.

Breakfast was of low quality; no fresh juice, cold eggs and just a general cheap feeling.

The pool at the sister hotel the palace was ok but the drains need clearing out as there was a strong smell of sewage.

The only positive is the friendly staff, however this is probably as a result of this being the general way of the Maltese people as opposed to the standards set by the hotel.

Avoid this hotel and spend a touch more to get higher quality elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anon1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 July 2011

Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for taking your time to give us your constructive comments on our services.

It is only through your feedback and suggestions that we keep improving our product to ensure expectations are met. I would like to take this opportunity to reassure you that your comments have been discussed during our weekly operations meeting and have taken the necessary actions accordingly.

Please be advised that we would be more than happy to be of good service to you as we first intended. Should you decide to give us a second chance to please you with our services, we encourage you to contact us, to see to your needs accordingly. We would be very happy to upgrade your accommodation and treat you especially, as a returned guest of ours. Kindly refer to this letter to our reservations when placing your request.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Victoria Hotel, I would like to thank you once again for your comments.



Best Regards
Kenneth Fenech

Reservations Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We stayed at The Victoria Hotel in June 2011. We really enjoyed our stay there. The room was big and clean, and the staff very nice and helpful. The harbour and the ferry to Valletta was just a short walk away from the hotel.
We also liked the little gym and the pool on the roof. We recommend The Victoria hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UllisSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 July 2011

Dear Guests,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us during your visit to Malta. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided you with, which we truly appreciate.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Victoria Hotel, I would like to thank you once again for your comments.



Best Regards
Kenneth Fenech

Reservations Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

The only good things about this hotel are the location and the staff and most particularly the very nice ladies who are every day cleaning the rooms. The breakfast has very poor quality. The room was dating and bathroom in poor condition. The shower leaked water, no fridge and mini bar in the room. It is fortunate Victoria shares the Gym and the Spas facilities of its sister hotel “Palace”. It is better to spend more and stay at the Palace. Does not disserve its 4 stars rating.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nathkingcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 July 2011

Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for taking your time to give us your constructive comments on our services.

It is only through your feedback and suggestions that we keep improving our product to ensure expectations are met. I would like to take this opportunity to reassure you that your comments have been discussed during our weekly operations meeting and have taken the necessary actions accordingly.

Please be advised that we would be more than happy to be of good service to you as we first intended. Should you decide to give us a second chance to please you with our services, we encourage you to contact us, to see to your needs accordingly. We would be very happy to upgrade your accommodation and treat you especially, as a returned guest of ours. Kindly refer to this letter to our reservations when placing your request.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Victoria Hotel, I would like to thank you once again for your comments.



Best Regards
Kenneth Fenech

Reservations Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

we arrived at 15:10 but our room wasn't ready that time.
we was tired from the long long flight, but we had to wait for 30 minutes.
Our room was the end of corridor.

* Room - dark, sunless, airless, wet carpets, worn out furniture and bedclothes.

* Bathroom - the toilet dosen't flush well. the towels has yellow stains were shabby. the liquid soaps reeked of cheap men's perfume. the toilet papers were extremely rough.

* Mini bar - the refrigerator's temperature was fixed 15 derees C. we had to drink tepid water all the way. the inside of the electric kettle was really dirty.

* House keeping - one day a dirty wet rag was on the table. the next day they didn't empty the ashtray. the chairs in the balcony were covered with dust.

* Breakfast buffet - food had very little taste, dried bread, undrinkable coffee and juice.

* Dinner buffet - about 20 Euro per person, it didn't have enen an ounce of WORST.

* Reception desk - the young bald headed man was really rude.

*Location - Not good. there was't any restaurant near the hotel. many restaurants and cafes were about 10 minutes on foot distant.

* WIFI - NOT free of charge and only at the lobby.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hotelmarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 July 2011

Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for taking your time to give us your constructive comments on our services.

It is only through your feedback and suggestions that we keep improving our product to ensure expectations are met. I would like to take this opportunity to reassure you that your comments have been discussed during our weekly operations meeting and have taken the necessary actions accordingly.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Victoria Hotel, I would like to thank you once again for your comments.


Best Regards
Kenneth Fenech

Reservations Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We stayed for 7 nights and couldn't fault the hotel. The room was big and comfortable. A leg fell off one of the beds but was repaired immediately when reported. The room had a small fridge, aircon and a decent bathroom with shower. We paid for a balcony room but never used the balcony as it overlooked the street and other buildings. The hotel is not on the seafront and it a few mins walk uphill into town. A nice quiet location. The buffet breakfast was well stocked and had a superb selection of hot and cold items. The hotel had indoor and outdoor pools although we didn't have time to try them. Reception staff were helpful. The only negative aspect for me was that there was only wifi in the reception area and cabled internet in the bedrooms, all of which were chargable.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying extra for a balcony!
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Metrolad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 July 2011

Dear Guests,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us during your visit to Malta. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided you with, which we truly appreciate.

Our ultimate objective is to serve and satisfy you with your expectations. It is in fact only through your comments and suggestions that we may achieve what we are striving for.

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Victoria Hotel, I would like to thank you once again for your comments.


Best Regards
Kenneth Fenech

Reservations Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews