We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay at this superb hotel, which is hard to beat.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Another great stay at this superb hotel, which is hard to beat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

I have now stayed at this excellent hotel on several occasions. I have always found it the best hotel on the Island in which I have ever stayed and there have been quite a few. Recent reviews of this hotel have left me little to add in the way of superlatives, but that won’t stop me!

This time I will add a few pictures to help those who might consider a stay at The Victoria.

Currently the hotel is undergoing an upgrade although as a guest you will experience no disruption. You may have read about one lift being out of action. This was so for a while, but as the hotel was unusually 100% full (for this time of the year) the management had put the second lift back into action. The replacement of both lifts with double capacity state of the art facilities is due for completion in the Spring I was told.

All rooms are currently being refurbished and mine had new curtains, mattress and bedding and had been repainted. There was, I was told, still more improvements to follow.

The self service breakfast has been restyled and remains a great feature of this hotel, with all tastes catered for. I have campaigned for some time for the orange juice to be improved and this has now been done. A wise move by the management as comments had appeared on this site about it! Although I don’t drink coffee, I understand that a better quality product is now being used. The staff here are great and most have been there for some years.

Returning to my arrival, I must say that the reception in The Victoria is the best I have experienced in Malta in over 25 years. Often, if not always in my experience in Malta, the guest is looked upon as an irritation by reception. Here it is the complete opposite; the staff, service and welcome are well above anything ever received elsewhere in Malta. You don’t get a second chance to make a first impression and at The Victoria and the first impression here is always superb. Nothing is too much trouble for Charles and his great team, advice, assistance, information are all offered with a smile, even for an interfering return client like me!

I will end my report there as recent comments from other guests compliment what I have experienced and I don’t want to become boring!

Hotels in Malta can be mixed in quality, but if you don’t want to chance being disappointed just stay here, as I will in the future. Well done to The Victoria Staff and Management and thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: I have stayed several times and have always had a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SIRNED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Mr.Simmons,

Thank you for being a loyal and regular guest of The Victoria Hotel. It has always been our pleasure to welcome you back at our hotel, which results to be a very good sign that the hotel standards are constantly in place.

We also would like to thank you for constructive comments and suggestions, from which we must admit that we have taken some good ideas and implemented accordingly in order to improve guest satisfaction.

Looking forward to have you back with us shortly!

Best Regards,
Matthew Calleja
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    671
    198
    72
    15
See reviews for
224
1,058
123
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

During my stay, one lift was out of order, so one was often taken away from my intended floor or could not board as the lift was already full. The toilet lid would not stay up which is annoying for gentlemen but apparently a bonus for the ladies. Only one comfortable chair provided in a double room, sometimes both guests like to sit at the same time with back support. The balcony was a good size and caught the sun at times, a small table would enhance it, however do not expect views from the odd numbered rooms. The beds are very comfortable but my room would be better with more light, possibly overhead. I cannot comment on the roof top pools as the area was closed off. The reasons I would stay here again are the location and gym facilities, the buffet breakfasts provided a very good choice. The buffet dinners were good as well but perhaps an extra vegetable choice could be provided. I have left the best to last and that is the friendly and helpful staff, who provided quick polite responses to all my little problems and questions.

Room Tip: Possibly a high floor even numbered room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Criticalparanoiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Sir,

While we are glad that you would reconsider to stay at The Victoria Hotel, we would like to apologise for the inconvenience of having only one guest lift available. However please note that we are currently in the process of installing two elevators of the latest technology by OTIS LIFTS accomodating ten persons each rather than the current lift capacity of four persons per elevator. Our future hotel guests will benefit from this investement.

I would appreciate if you could contact me on my personal email, dutymanager@victoriahotel.com in order to provide us with more information such as room number of the room you had been allocated in order to follow up certain issues mentioned in your review.

We sincerly look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Victoria Hotel in the future.

Best Regards,
Matthew Calleja
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

A warm welcome a waits visitors from helpful and friendly staff. The hotel is in a great location and has easy access to the sea front from where you can get buses to Mdina/Rebat and also get buses and ferry's to Velletta as well as boat trips around the harbour and island. The Hotel food is good quality, plentiful and reasonably priced, as is the the hotel bar. The rooms are spacicious but more lighting would have been benificial. Would definetly return to the Vicoria in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

This has been our 9th visit to Malta and the last 7 times our stay has been at this Hotel. We presently wouldn't stay anywhere else. It is perfectly placed in Sliema in a quiet residential area. Comfortable,clean and well furnished. We have always found the staff to be pleasant and very helpful. During our stay one lift was permanently out of action and this would have been our only complaint as we were on the 7th floor. We were informed,however, that both lifts were due to be renewed and would be ready before our next visit..

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ken m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you for your positive review, just to confirm that we are currently replacing the two old elevators to two completely brand new lifts.

We look forward to your next visit at the Victoria Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

This was a nice hotel with a nice bar and the front desk was very helpful. The hotel is in Sliema but several blocks from the water. If you are looking for a a hotel that is closer to the action/nightlife, then chose one in St. Julian's area or closer to the waterfront. But, this was centrally located enough where we could walk to many places and/or get a bus pretty easily. One thing I will say is skip the spa at this hotel. I didn't have a very good massage experience there. I wondered if the therapist was even licensed!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

It was a pleasure to find on our return that the Penny Black Bar has been refurbished and the dining area re-designed to a high standard and still very relaxing to enjoy an after dinner drink.
The bar is well stocked & the bar staff are very professional and obliging,nice atmosphere

Kevin Callus The Hotel Manager leads a team of dedicated staff and the reception headed by Charles Portelli are very efficient and as they say-
You arrive as Guests and leave as Friends.
This is a truthfull account of the Victoria Hotel Sliema.

Room Tip: All the rooms and suites are well furbished & clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Junemoonboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, UK
Level Contributor
199 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Very good quality for money.
Rooms are spacious and furnished in a vintage style.
Breakfast buffet is good too.
Service is excellent.
Roof pool (with a great view) and hotel spa are a big bonus.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arimaior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.9 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#8 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Property: The Victoria Hotel
Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1807, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#2 Family Hotel in Sliema
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, BookMalta.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sliema
Victoria Hotel Malta
The Victoria Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing