We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victoria Hotel Sliema , Malta”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Victoria Hotel Sliema , Malta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

we stayed here for a week and loved every minute. The staff were not only friendly and extremely helpful but behaved as though they really cared that we enjoyed our stay.Their courtesy and good humour was a pleasant change from some London hotels we've stayed in recently. I would say it probably wouldn't appeal to party animals but for quiet comfort it gets 10 out of 10 every time

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
Dear Mr William S

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you for your recommendations and for sharing your positive experience with us on Trip Advisor. I am particularly gratefull for your comments regarding our staff.

In the meantime, thank you for your time and do hope to welcome you back with us at The Victoria,

Best Regards
James Galea
Operations Executive
james.galea@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    849
    686
    201
    72
    16
See reviews for
231
1,080
124
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southport
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

Good points:
- Good location in sliema, short walk to the sea front, where there are ferries and many restaurants. Fairly quiet location. There is a good supermarket around the corner.
- Small indoor pool and slightly larger pool on roof. In April it was very cold in the outdoor pool and windy on the roof, but would be great in warmer weather.
- Spectacular views from the roof area.
- There is a good selection at breakfast. Minor complaint was the coffee is from a machine and some days it wasn't good.
- In general the staff are cheerful and do a good job, especially at the reception desk.
- There is free wifi in the lobby.
- Firm beds, good shower, comfortable room. I think all rooms have a balcony but there was not much of a view even from a 5th floor room.

Bad points:
- the air con was not working in April and I found it too hot to sleep. I assume it comes on later in the season.
- there was only 1 working lift - the other was being fixed.

Overall I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dominicp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
Dear Dominic P,

Thank you for sharing your positve experience with us following your recent stay at our hotel. We are really glad you enjoyed our facilities, services and food.

On the other hand, I do understand that it could have been a bit warm in the room. As you rightly said, the temperatures outside in April was still chilly and windy so the AC was still operating in the heating mode and wasnt yet switched to the chill mode. With regards to the lifts as you rightly said, we were operating on one lift only which was installed 8 months ago and we are currently working on the second lift. I can now say that the new second lift will be operational as of next week.

While i would like to once again thank you for your contribution, we do hope to have the possibility of welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Best regards

James Galea
Operations Executive
james.galea@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

Stayed at this Hotel for a month, on business and will probably return due to its fantastic corporate rates. Part of the AX Group, the 4 star Victoria Hotel is back to back with the 5 star Palace, allowing shared use of both an indoor and outdoor swimming pool, gymnasium, Marion Mizzi spa and the excellent Temptasian restaurant. Access the Palace via the walkway on the first floor.
Having stayed in both hotels, I am able to make a direct comparison between the two.
The Palace has the brand new rooms, the swanky restaurant and wifi everywhere, but something is missing. It's the effort, the commitment, the comedy and the will to go that extra mile on customer service, that its more modestly priced cousin has in abundance. At the front desk is Charles, always welcoming and friendly, going out of his way to solve a range of environmental issues and to enrich every travelers experience of Malta. In the Penny Black Bar, is the ever thoughtful, entertaining and cheeky Martin together with Albert who sings, often hilariously in the evenings to a CD of Queen.
The rooms are of the older style and a bit dark, but I especially like the Luzzu boat picture on my wall and the fact that my bathroom is always gleaming. No it's not marble and brass, with 5 star products like the Palace, but its always spotless. The Laundry service is excellent and Housekeeping friendly and proactive, asking if I prefer more tea to coffee, always replacing my bottled water and writing notes to let me know the best time to drop my laundry. Offers of interesting trips at reasonable price and welcome drinks are popped under your door in the evenings.
Breakfast is always hot and plentiful and as someone who's often fallen foul of bad fried or scrambled eggs abroad, I can testify to their quality.
Location is good for the Sliema shops and sea front. but the return walk is up hill and will give you a good work out.
Visit the SPCA shop half way down the road, if you are an avid reader, they have an excellent selection of cheap secondhand books, which you can recycle when you go home.
Some tips :-
If you are exceptionally susceptible to road noise, ask for an high floor and a room on the side.
If you are carrying an ultrabook with no ethernet port, make sure you bring a USB to ethernet adaptor with you, otherwise you will be working in the lobby or the first floor. April to October is the mosquito season, so don't leave your balcony doors wide open and bring bracelet or spray repellent.
In summary, see you all at the Victoria next month, to experience the best of Maltese hospitality at excellent rates.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are side rooms. Corner rooms are slightly larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hotelaholic63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Opearations Executive at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
Dear Hotelaholic,

On behalf of all the management and the staff of The Victoria Hotel I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. I am really glad that we made your one month stay with us while on business much enjoyable. Thank you also for recommending Charles, Alfred and Martin who do a fantastic job in their respective positions.

Whilst thanking you once again for your time, we do look forward to have you back with us. Please do not hesitate to contact myself or Charles Portelli prior to placing your next reservation.

Best regards
James Galea
Operations Executive
james.galea@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the Victoria hotel for one week in April.
Rooms slightly dated but perfectly acceptable. No fridge/mini bar which was a shame, also no wifi in rooms
Our shower broke on the first day (the head snapped off) BUT the hotel staff were really helpful and by the time we got back a few hours later it was fixed
Small balcony outside the room but close to the next person so quite awkward if you're both out there!
No iron/board in room but at our request one was bought up to us and we were allowed it for the week!
Lovely pool, indoor and out
Relaxation spa is joint with the hotel, expensive treatments but we were offered a deal and managed to get a 30min massage for €20
If you're room is located at the front of the hotel then the vehicle noise is quite bad but the French doors do help dampen it!
Parking facilities are fantastic!
Didn't try the food because we had read bad reviews so can't comment on that
Lift is a nightmare, takes age BUT there are signs up saying they are getting a new bigger lift etc so shouldn't be too much of a problem
Bad eggy smell from the bathroom every now and again
Best thing about the hotel are the staff and facilities !
Location isn't bad either.
Would definitely stay again if we return to sliema

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicefussybristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Alicefussybristol

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us during your visit to Malta. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided you with, which we truly appreciate.

Our ultimate objective is to serve and satisfy you with your expectations. It is in fact only through your comments and suggestions that we may achieve what we are striving for. Rest assured that all your comments have been discussed in our operations meeting.

I am glad also to hear that your maintance and room requests were attended to immediately.
With regards to internet, we currenlty have ADSL connection in all the rooms whilst we will be very shortly embarking on a new project to have WIFI in all the rooms. I can also now say that the project of the new lifts have now been finalised and now both

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Victoria Hotel, I would like to thank you once again for your comments and suggestions.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Yours sincerely

James Galea
Operations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Stayed in a suite, nice and roomy, clean, classic look. Gym is a good size with all the basics you will need and the rooftop terrace / pool area is really nice for chilling out in the sun with really interesting views. Breakfast buffet was rather nice too.
All round this is a good hotel and I would go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrightonBecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Brighton Becki,

On behalf of staff and management of The Victoria Hotel, I would like to take take the opportunity fo thank you for choosing us to spend your holidays in Malta and for taking your time to share your experiences on TripAdvisor.

We are really glad you enjoyes your stay with us and will be looking forward to have you back with us.

Best regards

James Galea
Operations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

+ Nice location, close to supermarket and the Strand of Sliema. About 20-30 mins walk from Hilton - Portomaso tower.
+ The hotel was quite clean, everything was great.
+ Breakfast was nice.
+ The rooftop pool and the view are also worth checking.

In general a good experience, nothing to complain.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevebil1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear SteveBil1983

Thank you so much for choosing The Victoria Hotel to spend your holidays in Malta and for sharing your experiences on Trip Advisor.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us whilst we are looking forward to have you back with us.

Best regards

James Galea
Operations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huddersfield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Visiting Malta for the first timefor a 4 day stay on the 10th of April ,we were very impressed on our first impression of our hotel when arriving. Stuart on reception was so welcoming .Classic Maltese Hotel,lovely room on the 6th floor,Beautiful infinity pool and sun beds,and views over the bay,and Valetta.Excellent service from start to finish of our holiday.Cannot wait to go back as ideal location and such a beautiful island.Will be back. Thank you for making our visit so memorable.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Property: The Victoria Hotel
Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1807, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#2 Family Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sliema
Victoria Hotel Malta
The Victoria Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing