We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MUCH less than 4 stars”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“MUCH less than 4 stars”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Good for a two-star hotel, ok for a 3-star, but it’s listed and priced as 4 stars. The room was small, the only wi-fi was in the downstairs “business lounge” next to the lobby, the room safe cost €2 a day, and I had to ask for them to bring up the mini-bar supposedly included with the room. The air conditioning control didn’t work, meaning it was too cold at night. I had to use a blanket in July. The worst was the bathroom. The toilet broke twice – wouldn’t stop running - and the shower leaked. I left big puddles of water all over the bathroom every time I took a shower – and don’t tell me that management didn’t know, the cleaning staff had to mop up every morning I was there. Breakfast was abundant but with some of the worst coffee I’ve ever drunk – even for a vending-machine style dispenser. The staff was very friendly and very helpful but that doesn't alter the main reason for staying at a hotel - the quality of the room itself.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear David G,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time to submit your review on Trip Advisor.

Whilst thanking you so much for your time and contribution, we are concerned to read that unfortunately, the hotel did not fully meet your expactations. Kindly accept our sincere aplogies for any inconvenience that you may have encountered. To this effect, and because we truly care, I would kinly like you to contact me on my personal email address, hence to discuss the matter further.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, I look forward to hearing from you and to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Victoria.

Best Regards,

Charles Portelli
Front Office Manager
charles.portelli@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    845
    683
    201
    72
    16
See reviews for
230
1,076
124
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Highly recommended Hotel.

The appearance of the hotel was great from the moment we entered the door.

We arrived earlier then check in time and we were able to leave our bags in a secure room adjacent to the Reception and were advised that we were welcome to use the pool and amenities.

Our room was on the 7th floor and was great. Massive bed that was so huge but the room was still spacious. We had a Balcony and a big clean bathroom. The shower was really powerful and the perfect temperature.

There is a good gym (although we didn't use it) and the indoor pool was closed to refurbishment but who wants to be indoors on a sunny day.

The roof top pool is outstanding and very clean. Lots of sunbeds and seating.

The staff are attentive and polite.

We had a couple of meals on the roof top and the food we had was absolutely lovely as was the local wine we drank.

There is a local shop/Delicatessen/fruit and veg just up the road from the hotel (opposite the red telephone box) which sells an assortment of yummy goodies if you want to buy your own food/wine and the owner is fab.

No fault found about this hotel and we had a brilliant stay and we were really pleased we booked into The Victoria and we will defo stay again.

Totally Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CazJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear CazJam,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence. Furthermore, thank you so much for taking the time to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your exprience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are delighted to read that the hotel has met your expectations all round. Such positive comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our mission, that is the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Victoria.

Best Regards,

Charles Portelli
Front Office Manager
charles.portelli@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

We booked the Victoria based on its no 2 ranking on Trip Adviser, so rather disappointed to find that our room was in desperate need of a makeover. It was, however, extremely spacious, clean and quiet. On the plus side, the breakfast and dinners in the restaurant were wonderful. The four course dinners had plenty of choice for everyone and we dined there every night. Wine was good value and the bar staff in the Penny Bar were very friendly. Hotel was in a good location in Sliema and great for visiting Valletta and the rest of the island. Do visit Mdina!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Dear Fiona W777,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence. We would also like to thank you so much for taking the time to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers.

We have extended your positive comments to all concerned, a gesture which has been greatly appreciated. Having said this, we are truly concerned that we have not fully managed to meet your expectations, particularly as far as the room is concerned. Due to the fact that your comments mean so much to us, I would kindly like you to email me on my personal email address, hence to discuss the matter further.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, I look forward to hearing from you and to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Victoria.

Best Regards,

Charles Portelli
Front Office Manager
charles.portelli@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Prior to our arrival, having read tips from other travellers on Tripadvisor, I emailed reception to ask if we could be allocated a room on 7th Floor with a balcony and sea view. Reception responded within 24 hours to my email saying it would do its best to meet my request. When we arrived we indeed had a room on the 7th floor with a balcony, sea view and air conditioning. Furthermore, throughout our stay the staff on the reception desk could not do enough for us. The customer service was efficient and friendly at all times. This extended to the service received at breakfast, in the restaurants and by the pool. As this hotel shares some facilities with the 5 star Palace Hotel we had use of two pools on the roof. Both had stunning views of the surrounding area. The indoor pool was closed for refurbishment but this did not matter to us because we still had two pools to choose from and the sea is only a few minutes walk away. The breakfast was very good with a variety of buffet and cooked breakfast choices including Maltese offerings like Imqaret (date slices) and Pastizzi (ricotta cheese pies). We did not have to queue for breakfast which has happened previously in two 5 star Maltese hotels we have stayed in. The recently refurbished lifts were quick and smooth. At the Victoria Hotel you pay 4 star prices for 5 star facilities. It is well worth a visit as the location in Sliema is so convenient. Shops, restaurants, buses and ferries are just a few minutes walk away. We would definitely stay in this hotel again. Well done to all the staff! :)

Room Tip: Rooms on 7th floor with a balcony and sea view. Rooms on lower floors do not have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJAC2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Dear MJAC2001,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence. Furthermore, thank you so much for finding the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, a gesture which has been appreciated by all concerned.

We are so delighted to read your very kind comments re the staff and sevices of the hotel, but most of all, that the hotel has met your expectations all round. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our mission, that is the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Victoria.

Best Regards,

Charles Portelli
Front Office Manager
charles.portelli@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Stayed at The Victoria for the first time from 30 June - 14 July 2013. Having stayed elsewhere in Sliema before we would have no hestiation in going back to The Victoria again. Staff were superb from reception, to pool, to restaurant and maids. Arrived early and were able to leave our luggage in a secure room next to reception until our rooms were ready - no qualms with that at all. Rooms were more than adequate - yes some of the fixtures were a bit tired but in all honesty we spent very litte time in them and the main thing was they were comfortable. Food overall was good, varied and plentiful. The indoor pool was being refurbished but that was of no consequence given the fabulous out door pools on floors 8 and 9. Location was great - not too far from the bustle of the town but set in a quiet area so not affected by ecessive noise (fireworks aside - but that is one of the 'joys' in Malta!!). Would definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th and 7th floors in rooms overlooking the hospital - decent views and with small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Dear Pam S,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence. We would also like to extend our appreciation for taking the time to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience at The Victoria with other viewers,

We are so delighted to read your positive comments, that is as far as the staff and the services provided are concerned. We have taken the liberty of extending them to all concerned. Such comments mean so much and surely entice our motivation to persevere in our mission, meaning guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely hope to have the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Victoria.

Best Regards,

Charles Portelli
Front Office Manager
charles.portelli@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

The friendly and helpful staff are this hotel's USP; nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are fine, if a little 'tired'. I do hope they get rid of the carpets if they refurbish soon. We loved the empty minibar fridge in the rooms, which means you can stock up from the local supermarket. Breakfast is good; all the staff being helpful and not making you feel rushed. The pool on the roof is fabulous; we absolutely love swimming there. The bar was not in use when we were there, but it was not a problem because cocktails are served on the roof, plus the adjoining sister hotel has a nice bar too. We have been before, and (fingers crossed) we will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hurrahholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear hurrahholiday,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us once again with your presence. We have also appreciated the fact that you have taken the time to submit your review on TripAdvisor, hence sharing your experience at the hotel with other viewers.

We are glad to read that the staff and services have met your expectations We have embarked on a series of projects and your kind and constructive comments surely boost our motivation to look forward and persevere in our mission, that is the guest full satisfaction

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, The Victoria looks forward to the pleasure of your return

Best Regards,

Charles Portelli
Front Office Manager
charlesportelli@axhotelsmaltacom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Indoor swimming pool was under demolition, Indoor bar left shut, as duty manager informed us that it was not cost effective too open and had too see his point of view, duty manager being martin.
Only stayed a week, and on four occasions in that week we got pushed out of our pool area for functions.
Also on arrival after our long flight, we couldn't get into our room until 3 o clock, and had too leave our luggage in a insecure room by the side of the reception, and had too get changed in the toilet of the swimming pool.
Treat like second class citizens compared too the palace their sister hotel.
VERY POOR SHOW!!!!!!

Room Tip: We didn't get a choice of room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Judith T,

First and foremost, I would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us at The Victoria Hotel. We really appreciate your comments, because it is only through comments like these that we can improve our products.

Currently, we are undergoing major refurbishment works in the indoor pool which includes a complete revamp on the decor and design. We have chosen to do these works in the hot summer periods due to the low demand of the indoor pool against the high demand of the outdoor pool. Works will be soon finalised.

Due to the popular demand of our Terrace area we serve drinks and snacks alfresco in The Terrace Bar and Grill while the cosy Penny Black bar operates in the colder and winter days.

Like any another hotel on the island our check in time is at 3pm. When rooms are available allocations are done even in the mornings but this is not always possible when the hotel is full. Please rest assured that our luggage room is equipped with CCTV equipment and we never had any incident in this room.

Whilst appologising again for not meeting your expectations, please feel free to contact me on the below email.

Best regards

James Galea

Operations Executive
Victoria Hotel
james.galea@axhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Property: The Victoria Hotel
Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1807, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#2 Family Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sliema
Victoria Hotel Malta
The Victoria Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing