We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service but tired rooms”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I stayed here on business at the end of June 2013. The common areas are really, really nice and the pools are very good. The service was outstanding and staff very amenable and helpful at all times. The room I had was very tired though, with threadbare linen and curtains and the carpet and furniture was pretty poor. The carpets in the corridor were torn in a lot of places. The air con is not very effective either. The room was clean, however, but in real need of a refit.

The location is good though and you can park in the basement for just 2 Euros a day. It's an odd hotel because a lot of effort has obviously gone into the facilities, which feel pretty high end, but the room was a disappointment to me. I expected basic but not as worn out as it was.

The price was good and when you look at the website it will feel like a real bargain. If I had paid to go there on a holiday, I would have been very disappointed by the room, but not by the facilities or location or the service.

Not sure I would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear Andrew R,

On behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for finding the time to submit your review on Trip Advisor, a gesture which has truly been appreciated.

Further to your comments, we would like to thank you for your positive comments and also for your constructive criticism. Your direct feedback is valuable for us because it enables us to persevere in our quest to meet guest satisfaction at all times. To substintiate my argument, unless it is too much of an inconvenience, and because we truly care, I would kindly like you to contact me on the below email address, hence to discuss the matter further.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely hope to have the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Victoria.

Best Regards,

Charles Portelli
Front Office Manager
charles.portelli@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,095)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,019 - 1,025 of 2,095 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

Stayed for two weeks 16th-30th July. We like the quiet location & enjoy the walk down to the seafront (uphill on the way back but good exercise!). Beds are very comfortable. Aircon also good. Rooms are clean & the chambermaids do a good job. We had a balcony & although the view isn't brilliant, still glad we had it. Breakfast is still average though & because of that we didn't eat at the hotel restaurant. All the staff are friendly & helpful. The Victoria shares pool & spa with the Palace but the Palace is 5 star so more expensive. Prefer the the atmosphere of Victoria, more relaxing. If we go back to Sliema we would stay at the Victoria.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Joy061,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us once again with your presence and for taking the time to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers.

We are delighted to read that your experience was a positive one and that we have managed to meet your expectations to the extent that you will, without any hesitation, return to The Victoria. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in the quest of accomplishing guest satsfaction at all times. On a different note, we are slightly concerned re your comment about the food. Due to the fact that your comments are important for us and that we truly care, should it not be too much of an inconvenience, I would like you to contact me on my personal email address, hence to discuss the matter further.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Victoria.

Best Regards,

Charles Portelli
Front Office Manager
charles.portelli@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Since visiting and staying here, I can believe all the mixed reviews on here for the same place. Some people receive exemplary service, others like myself and my friend did not! The service on the front desk is hit and miss, depending on who you are talking with and the staff cover is very varied so there is a lack of continuity. Our stay was problematic from the outset, our room was not ready until 3pm when we arrived at 11.30am.
The food is excellent, such a wide choice both morning and evening. The only real problem is that the evening meal does not include a drink, not even water in its price. Breakfast on the other hand has ample amounts of choice.
The location of the hotel is good, the hills do keep you in shape, but it is a pleasant stroll to and from the hotel.
Our room was dated and the balcony faced other apartments around us, so there was little privacy.
The indoor pool was under construction in July and not in use, we were not informed and the indoor bar they advertise is only open in the 'off peak' part of the year. This is not mentioned on the website. The theme nights they have in the hotel cause a lot of chaos if you want to use the 8th floor pool. They set these events up around you and make you feel rather uncomfortable in doing this.
I have a list of other complaints that I have emailed the hotel directly with, two weeks ago and I have had no response from them in any form. This highlights the level of service received by us during our stay!
I would not recommend this hotel to others due to my experience and would only consider returning if it was free!

Room Tip: No tips as its pot luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank m1ch216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed at the Victoria as a part of our Cosmos package between 27th July-3rd August 2013.

Good points
Location – 5 mins walk to the main shops and restaurants however it is up hill on the way back.
Large room with comfy twin beds (which we pushed together).
Use of computers throughout the hotel with internet.
TV in rooms (but only has two English channels, expect to watch a lot of documentaries of the discovery channel!)
Tea, coffee and milk in rooms.
Fresh towels every day.
Provided with two towel tickets for the pool which can be exchanged on the top floor pool. Don’t lose the tokens or you will be charged to replace the towels.
The facilities in the Palace Hotel are very nice (which are shared with The Victoria)
I had a lovely free shoulder and neck massage at the spa which I would recommend to all guests.

Bad Points
Air conditioning is very poor and room was extremely hot and stuffy. The air con will not work if you open the doors and in the day the warm air through the doors makes it worse. We complained to the hotel and they said it was centrally controlled due to being “eco-friendly” and they would send maintenance up to take a look which as far as we know never happened.
The hotel claims to be” eco-friendly” but every time housekeeping cleaned our room they left the bathroom light on which could be on for the whole day until our return.
The bathroom floods when the shower is on (no matter how long you are in there). The bathroom floor ends up covered in water and takes all four towels to mop up! The hotel request you don’t change your towels every day because they are eco-friendly but this is impossible when all four towels are used to mop up the mess from the shower.
It was too hot to have the curtains open so we spent the whole time in the room in darkness with poor lighting.
The toilet was a bit funny and needed quite a few flushes before it would work.
The pool on the top floor is nice but is extremely crowded. Getting a sun bed is very tricky as the pool is busy by 8.30am! Only went up once and decided against it for the rest of the holiday. We were there during peak season but just a warning as it is not as big as we anticipated for two hotels of 6 floors each.

We had an amazing holiday and Sliema is defiantly the place to stay and explore on the island. We were a little disappointed with the hotel rating it more of a 3 star than a 4 star. However this did not deter us from having a great stay on Malta!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heaferbeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear heaferbeast,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence.

Further to your comments, which we are very grateful for, we would initially like to thank you for the positive points as well as for the ones which are not so positive. Having mentioned the latter, we would like to apologise for not fully meeting your expecations and for any inconvenience caused. Due to the fact that we truly care, I would kindly like you to contact me on my personal email address, hence to discuss the matter further. In the meantime, these points are also being discussed by the relevant departments.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, I look forward to hear from you and to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Victoria.

Best Regards,

Charles Portelli
Front Office Manager
charles.portelli@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

fair 3 star hotel stayed for 10 days 15 to 25 july, room was very dated (614) paid extra £120 for balcony to find the view of the local hospital. the staff and rooftop pool are great, food was ok best meal was the wed night special by the pool in the palace and the Salisbury arms bar around the corner.The bar staff at the terrace bar are great had a few drinks here as we found the nightlife in Sliema very poor, plenty to do in the day, some good trips,drinks and food cheap but would not go back to malta. will stick to Tenerife.

Room Tip: high rooms the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raymond h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Dear raymond h,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for finding the time to submit your review on Trip Advisor.

Further to your comments, it is a shame to hear that your overall opinion of the hotel and Malta was not as one would have expected. As far as the hotel is concerned, the hotel is featured and sold as a city hotel due to the fact that it is situated in a residential area. Having mentioned this, the top floor rooms enjoy a distant sea view. As far as the hotel is concerned, it has embarked on a series of projects in order to maintain its standards and to present that unique ambience..

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, once again, thank you so much for having chosen The Victoria Hotel.

Best Regards,

Charles Portelli
Front Office Manager
charles.portelli@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

All i can think is that some reviewers must have paid alot more for a week in the Victoria than we did. we booked a standard room through Mercury Direct who were flawless as was their rep Jonathan. Our room was a very good size with a good bathroom,yes the water did come under the shower screen onto the floor a little but I didn't have to mop it up!! The beds were large and very comfortable.
There was some building work going on in the alley under our room (517) which was ideal as they started at 8.30am so it got me up and into breakfast early. My only complaint was that they didn't work on Sundays so I overslepted, missed breakfast and lost half a day of my holiday.
The staff were all very friendly and the chambermaids seemed to spend all day singing.
The rooftop pool was amazing, plenty of sunbeds to go round and nice and clean. The penny black bar was closed for the summer so in the early evening we went out of the hotel, turned left and left again and went in the pub. Cheap beer and football on the telly!!
Hotel location was exellent and made access to sliema very easy.
Is it a 4* hotel?....Who cares, for what we paid it made great base for a very enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Dear Carl A,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for finding the time to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers.

We are glad to hear that your experience at The Victoria was a positive one, but most of all, that we have managed to meet your expectations. Such comments entice our motivation to persevere in our mission. The hotel has embarked on a series of projects, in order to maintain its standards but most of all to guarantee that wonderful and special experience.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting yu again at The Victoria.

Best Regards,

Charles Portelli
Front Office Manager
charles.portelli@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Excellent hotel. Great location. Very friendly and efficient staff. Room was good. Only drawback to room was that there was no proper shower just a hand held run off the mixer tap. Curtains and nets were a bit theadbare. We stayed in room 613 which had no balcony and the view was not great. Rooftop pools and bar were awesome with great views over Sliema and over to Valetta.We stayed B&B so can only comment on the breakfast which was good plain food. Out and about there is plenty to do and see. Would recommend a harbour cruise. Also visit the Salisbury Arms bar just round the corner. Very friendly and good food.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jewksmwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Dear Jewksmwk,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers.

We are so delighted to read that your experience at The Victoria was a positive one, but most of all, that we have managed to meet your expectations. Such comments encourage us to persevere in maintaining the desired standards in order to assure the guests' full satisfaction.

Whilst also assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Victoria.

Best Regards,

Charles Portelli
Front Office Manager
charles.portelli@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,624 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.2 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#6 of 28 in Sliema
2,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 28 in Sliema
1,310 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,068 reviews
1 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#6 of 15 in Valletta
4,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Address: Gorg Borg Olivier Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1807, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £72 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Hotel revels in comfort and charm with the loyal staff’s help embracing a harmonious feeling of the homelike environment. Elegant Rooms, Luxury Spa Facilities and multi-purpose Conference Halls with free Wi-Fi and underground parking facilities for your ultimate convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sliema
Victoria Hotel Malta
The Victoria Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing