We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel, extremely kind staff”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
“Amazing Hotel, extremely kind staff”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This was our first trip to Malta. Because of the kindness of the staff in this hotel especially the front desk team: Magda, Pierre & Stuart we were encouraged to visit this great hotel again whenever we decide to travel to Malta.
In addition to the very good location, the rooms were clean, the breakfast was varied and rich, the 2 outdoor pools very clean with friendly waiters that always check if you need anything.
We highly recommend this hotel and we will surely book again there without any hesitation for our next trip!

Room Tip: Rooms are better with sea view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Maria G,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are delighted to hear that your experience at The Victoria was a pleasant and positive one and that the hotel managed to meet your expectations. I will gladly extend your praise personally to Stuart, Front Office Supervisor, Magda and Pierre, Receptionists.

Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Victoria Hotel.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    927
    735
    210
    74
    16
See reviews for
256
1,166
128
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

First trip to Malta and we were very pleased with the hotel. We were booked to stay for 10 nights and on arrival were given a free upgrade to an executive suite in the Palazzo Capua next to the hotel. This room was very good although the soft furnishings in the lounge area require a little TLC! The breakfast each morning was freshly cooked and plenty of it as well as a good select of cereal and fruit and the staff were very attentive. The receptionists on the front desk were very helpful and courteous. The location was excellent with easy access to buses and ferries, although the hotel is on the top of a slight hill. The pool on the roof top was good after a day of sightseeing but it does get busy! We would definitely recommend this hotel and if we ever visit Malta again would consider using this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Carol C,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are delighted to hear that your experience at The Victoria was a pleasant and positive one and that the hotel managed to meet your expectations. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Victoria Hotel.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east kilbride, glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This was our second visit to the Victoria and we found it even better than last year. From the minute we walked through the door we were made to feel extremely welcome. I had asked for a room on a high floor with a sea view if possible and we were given a suite which was really lovely. Charles on reception acknowledged that we had stayed before and made us feel really welcome. Every single member of staff was helpful and extremely friendly and nothing was ever too much trouble. The room was very clean and comfortable, food good, wine reasonably priced and the dining room and bar staff very helpful. Albert has got to be a 'one off' first class, great fun barman. The hotel has a well equipped gym, a spa, an indoor pool (out of commission for maintenance during our visit, but not a problem as we probably wouldn't have used it), and two great outdoor pools. The 9th floor infinity pool is just amazing. Amanda from Guest Services was always around to check that guests were happy and readily took on feedback. She was very friendly and even took the time to see us off when we left. A bit of a walk uphill from the seafront, but if you can live with that I would highly recommend it. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on high floors have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenmorton21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear helenmorton21,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are delighted to hear that your experience at The Victoria was a pleasant and positive one and that the hotel managed to meet your expectations. I will gladly extend your praise personally to Charles our Front Office Manager, Albert our barman at Penny Black and Amanda Guest Relations Officer.

Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Victoria Hotel.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olstykke, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We went here for our Holiday this summer, one week at the nicest hotel you can imagine. Close to the city and still very quiet. We only experienced kindness, friendlyness and hospitality from the hotelstaff. We will recommend this fantastic hotel to everyone WHO wants to go to Malta. By the way, they have a fantastic pool lounge on the roof!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear Dennis F,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with you presence. Furthermore, we are very grateful for the fact that you have found the time to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been appreciated by all.

We are truly delighted to read that your experience at The Victoria has been such a positive one. The hotel has embarked on a number of major projects, hence to guarantee our esteemed guests, the best facilities and a quality level of service. Such comments truly encourage and entice our motivation to persevere in this mission.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely hope to have the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Victoria.

Best Regards,

Charles Portelli
Front Office Manager
charles.portelli@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The staff was very helpful from beginning to end. They prepared the place as we asked them to prepare it and were very friendly throughout the event. The environment was relaxing and pleasant and the people invited to our event were all very impressed with the layout and the place. Food and drinks were also very good. Food was reasonably priced, drinks a bit on the expensive side however the cocktails were not small ones. Definitely a hotel to go to.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We booked Hotel Victoria in Jan 2013 for a 7 night stay in August. I actually wanted to stay at The Palace but the cost was a little more than I wanted to pay. As it turned out, The Victoria is a sister hotel adjoining The Palace sharing the roof top pool and the 7th floor gym. Based on previous reviews, we asked for a sea view room on the 6th or 7th floor which was kindly provided although we couldn’t see that much of the sea!

The hotel is a little dated and tired. The bedroom and bathroom were well proportioned. There was a CRT TV (not flatscreen) and internet was only wired (cable provided by reception) with wi-fi available in reception or on roof top. The lighting was not really bright enough in the bedroom or bathroom when trying to get ready to go out. The air conditioning unit was noisy and quite weak, just about being able to keep the temperature acceptable and there was no power adjustment (either on or off). Some of the painted trim on the wardrobe was peeling off and a couple of the plastic fittings were loose. After a wedding, we returned at 3am to find that the card to open the room didn’t work. We had to be moved to another room until the problem was resolved in the morning. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful.

We paid 70 euro in January 2013 for a room in August. This did not include breakfast. When we arrived we were offered a discount on breakfast from the standard rate of 11.50 to 6.50 euro but we didn’t partake so can’t comment. We were told that the breakfast in The Palace (cost 12 euro from 18) was ordinary.

Overall, The Victoria was a pleasant and comfortable stay with a very nice roof top pool and good location in Sliema. I think around 70 euro is decent value but if you are prepared to spend a bit more, then I believe there are better hotels with more modern accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Dear Norcs,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence. Furthermore, we would like to extend our sense of appreciation for taking the time to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers.

We are glad to hear that your overall experience at The Victoria was a positive one. Your direct feedback is very important for us because it is through such constructive comments which enables us to rectify certain situations, naturally whenever possible. Kindly note that the hotel has embarked on a series of major projects, hence to extend the best level of service at all times.
To substintiate this, at present, the Indoor Facilities area is being upgraded. Furthermore, the hotel will also be investing in a very high technology internet system, hence the hotel will have WIFI access throughout

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcomining and hosting you once again at The Victoria.

Best Regards,

Charles Portelli
Front Office Manager
charles.portelli@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We recently enjoyed a wonderful two week stay at The Victoria Hotel. This was our 2nd visit in two years and we were not disappointed. We checked in late in the evening and the receptionist on duty informed us that Charles Portelli the Reception Manager had upgraded us from our booked junior suite to a suite in the next door Pallazo Capua. Our suite was amazing and the Pallazo is a beautiful building with a lot of history. Charles and his team on reception are a credit to the hotel and they really do make the guests feel special. We were on a half board basis and the Copperfield Restaurant is excellent especially the lovely evening meals. Delicous salad bar and wide range of tasty mains and desserts, all under the watchful eye of the lovely Charles Abela Restaurant Manager and Kurt and the team. We knew the service would be first class at the Victoria from our previous visit and we were not let down. From the reception staff to the restaurant staff to the 9th floor pool staff and to the bar staff we could find no faults. We look forward to our next stay there and thank you to all the staff for making our holiday very special.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrackyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear TrackyJ,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are so delighted to read that your experience at The Victoria has been such a positive and pleasant one. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Victoria Hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.2 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,903 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 28 in Sliema
1,223 reviews
1.0 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Property: The Victoria Hotel
Address: Gorg Borg Olivier Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1807, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#2 Family Hotel in Sliema
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sliema
Victoria Hotel Malta
The Victoria Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing