We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality of service swings it”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

If you want to feel that you are genuinely being well looked after then give the Victoria a try. Charles Portelli takes the service issue very personally and he looked after our group in a very friendly, professional manner right from the first contact when booking last year. The rest of the staff follow his example. We were using this as a base for family and friends for a wedding.
The hotel shares its spa and pool facilities with its 5 star sister next door. These facilities and reception are excellent but some areas now need some reinvestment. Our junior suite at a low level was dark without views and the fabric was tired including the bathroom and towels. A similar room at a high level was excellent by comparison because of the light and view.
Breakfast and dinner were all buffet style and some might find this tedious. However they were good value with variation each evening. There was also flexibility to take lunch rather than dinner then visit one of the good range of restaurants in the area.
The position is very good as it allows easy access to the Sliema facilities and St Julians Bay area.
One thing did take us by surprise when we were asked to pay for our accommodation on arrival rather than at the end of our stay.
Overall well done Charles and your team.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cardin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Cardin10,

On behalf of all members of Management & staff, including Charles and his team at Front Office, allow me to extend best wishes on the occasion of your wedding.

It is with great pleasure that we read of your bridal group choosing to stay at The Victoria Hotel for this memorable occasion.

May we look ahead to hosting you all for further pleasant stays in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,095)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

891 - 897 of 2,095 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

We have just returned from this lovely hotel after a week there. We had never been to Malta before so we were not sure what to expect.
The general rooms are good and the pool areas, both indoor and out are stunning but the rooms themselves are a little tired and in need of a revamp.
That said the outstanding feature of this hotel is undoubtably its staff; they are so friendly and helpful. We were travelling in a party with two small children and the staff could not have been more welcoming or helpful. Of particular note were Charles and Magda in reception and in the Penny Black bar; Jo and Martin were superb. Although we have individually named these members of staff all the staff were equally warm and welcoming.
The buffet food was good quality and plentiful and again the restaurant staff were efficient and attentive. The extended party was there for a wedding and again all the staff went out of their way to be helpful.
The location lies at the top of the hill which is in between both the coast and the harbour which made for very easy access to buses and boats.
Would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Try for a sea view balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear lynnewalley,

On behalf of all Management & staff, including the ones you mentioned by name, Magda & Charles from from Front Office and Joe and Martin from Penny Black, I thank you for placing your lovely review about your stay at The Victoria Hotel on TripAdvisor.

The revamp you mentioned is currently underway, with some completed areas and others still in plan form but destined for fruition in the coming months.

Relishing the pleasure of having you back at the newly refurbished Victoria Hotel for more relaxing times.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus,
Hotel Manager,
info@axhotelmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

There is no doubt that the Victoria is a decent hotel, but it is not outstanding - the room I had was of a good size, clean and decently furnished, but dark and a little bit tired, and sadly a twin rather than the requested double. The bathroom was very good - clean and with a full-sized bath.

The room featured a safe which was charged out at €2 per day (not advertised) and was very small - I have an 11" MacBook Air which just fitted, but a larger laptop would be no good - and when I questioned staff they stated that other rooms have even smaller safes and the hotel safe is too small for laptops too. Wifi internet access is €3 per day.

The public areas are fine, if a little dingy, and the bar and restaurant are starting to show their age. The bar food was good & reasonably-priced, but the breakfast, whilst reasonable value isn't the most inspiring of buffets.

The pools (both indoor and out) were clean, bright and modern, with nice lounging / sunbathing areas, and the view from the roof is great.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will-HE_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Will-HE_UK,

You visited The Victoria Hotel at a time when extensive refurbishments works were being carried out, and there are yet more in the pipeline. This is meant to give the hotel a fresh look, whilst keeping in tune with the hotel's English Pub & Club Rooms running theme.

We hope to have you back at The Victoria Hotel in order to sample the newly refurbished rooms etc;.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Very good hotel in the area of ​​Sliema (tourist area on the sea). The room is not very large with a nice balcony with seaview , bathroom not very nice, not very big wardrobe, minibar empty, safety deposit box on request. Free internet only in the lobby.
Breakfast good as far as the salty but not many sweets. In just a few minutes from the stop of the car (twenty minutes from La Valletta) less than 10 minutes from Sliema.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oinotnaflaminio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear oinotnaflaminio,

From your words I gather you were not fully satisfied with your stay at THe Victoria Hotel.

Allow me to say that the hotel is undergoing an extensive refurbishment. Therefore I invite you to give us another try, that way we may prove ourselves with you.

Your comments have been reviewed at management level as we always take our guests' feedback in consideration.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus,
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The excellent ratings achieved by this hotel is thoroughly deserved. Our first trip to Malta but it won't be the last and we would certainly return to the Victoria.
The hotel's biggest asset is it's staff. Everybody, no matter what their job, we spoke to had a warm greeting and could not do enough for us, gave us advice and help, or just asked what sort of a day we've had and where we had been.
If staff is it's biggest asset then food must be next. Excellent menus, varied every day, cooked and presented just the way you want them. It was a shame to actually cut the sweets but the regret didn't last long - they were delicious.
Our room was large, clean and comfortable - what more could you want.
The only reason for the lower four star rating on the spa is that we only looked at it and didn't have the time to take advantage - perhaps next time.
The staff really make you want to return.
Thank you Hotel Victoria for a memorable stay.
Till the next time - Sahha.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Mike M,

Make sure your next stay is longer, that way you may also have the opportunity to spend leisure time sampling the indoor pool, spa, steam room/sauna area as these have been newly refurbished and are extremely popular with guests.

As for meals, there is something to suit all tastes at The Victoria Hotel, and we even cater for food intolerances etc;

Looking forward to your next visit in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus,
Hotel Manager,
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Second stay at the Victoria and once again greatly enjoyed. This is a very comfortable hotel, and exceptionally good value. All the staff are friendly and polite, plus good food and service without being too formal. Ideal location for a city break with Valetta just a few minutes ferry wide away, the sea front just 3 or 4 minutes in the other direction. This year's stay was all the more enjoyable with sunshine all week and warm enough for some sunbathing on the roof terrace.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gb-warwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Graham B,

I am delighted to see that you even managed to enjoy some sun on our rooftop terrace during what you say was your second stay at The Victoria Hotel.

It is flattering to know that you chose to stay with us a second time, and rest assured that we look forward to welcoming you back for your third, fourth, fifth etc; at The Victoria Hotel for further pleasantly relaxing times.

Thanking you for placing your review on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus,
Hotel Manager,
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Once again we have just returned from a wonderful holiday in Malta made even more special by the Victoria Hotel.We have stayed at this hotel most years since it first opened and have always received a very warm welcome.
They have now started to do improvements to the hotel furnishings, we were on the sixth floor and the carpet had just been refitted in the corridor and I believe the intention is to carry out further refurbishments throughout the hotel.
The staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Charles Portelli Front of House Manager arranged our booking and was there to welcome us when we arrived. Nothing is too much trouble for him and no matter how busy he is he always has a smile and a welcome greeting when he sees you. Dorianne Camilleri Customer Relations Manager remembered us as soon as she saw us, even though we had not seen her for the past two years, and went out of her way to make us feel welcome and special. Alfred, Joseph and Martin made us feel special
in the Penny Black Bar and Charles Restaurant Manager made sure everything was alright in the Restaurant and when he knew I had no soya milk (I suffer from lactose intolerance) for my last morning there he went out of his way to get some for me. With this type of staff you are sure of a lovely stay.
Our room was lovely and being on the sixth floor you could look over at the sea. It was very clean, well laid out and also quiet.
If you are looking for a hotel that is well located, with excellent staff and good food then this is definitely the hotel for you.
.

Room Tip: For a sea view you need to ask for a room on the the private hospital side and from the fifth floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Andrea2906,

Positive reviews such as yours are much appreciated by all at The Victoria Hotel.
Our policy is to treat our guests like royalty and it is gratifying to know that we achieved this goal on not one, but several occasions, in your case.

On behalf of all Management and members of staff, inlcuding those you mentioned by name, being Charles Portelli, Dorianne Camilleri, Charles Abela, Alfred, Martin and Joseph, we thank you for placing your complimentary review about you latest stay at The Victoria Hotel on TripAdvisor.

May we look ahead to the pleasure of welcoming you back for further pleasant stays at The Victoria Hotel.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus,
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,624 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.2 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#6 of 28 in Sliema
2,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 28 in Sliema
1,310 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,068 reviews
1 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#6 of 15 in Valletta
4,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Address: Gorg Borg Olivier Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1807, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £72 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Hotel revels in comfort and charm with the loyal staff’s help embracing a harmonious feeling of the homelike environment. Elegant Rooms, Luxury Spa Facilities and multi-purpose Conference Halls with free Wi-Fi and underground parking facilities for your ultimate convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sliema
Victoria Hotel Malta
The Victoria Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing