We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eleanor "saves the day" with care and attention. Excellent service”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The traditional Hotel Victoria and the more contemporary five star Palace Hotel, next door, are more or less the same hotel. Both share some facilities including the wonderful roof terrace and restaurant with 360 degree views of the surrounding city scape. The reception staff at the Victoria deserve strong praise , Eleanor, Stuart and Charles make a great team and nothing is too much trouble for them including helping with bags, organising cars and recommending good places to visit and eat out, although room service was very efficient and the food reasonable. Some of the infrastructure may be ready for a revamp and luckily one is planned for later this year, so go now while you can; as this place will only get better and better and more difficult to book.
Ps . The beds are quite soft so if you like a more firm mattress, then make it known in advance. I'm sure the staff will do their best to help.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Critica l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Critica l,

Eleanor, Stuart and Charles the rest of The Victoria Hotel's Management and staff would like to thank you for placing your positive comments about your recent stay with us at The Victoria Hotel.

We look ahead to hosting you during future stays at The Victoria Hotel.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,095)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

861 - 867 of 2,095 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed here for a week and was rather disappointed. Overall things were fairly satisfactory but too many niggles to earn a really good review. As others have said, the place is in desperate need of refurbishment - the carpets in the corridors were a disgrace and the furniture in the rooms scratched and marked. On two occasions I returned to my room in the afternoon to find it still had not been cleaned. What were they doing for the five hours or more when I was out/ The dining room staff were helpful but there was an amount of confusion owing to the frequent absences of the 2 maîtres d'./ On several occasions the phone as left to ring for minutes on end. Also there was a lack of system in replenishing the buffet, particularly the puddings at dinner. This has the potential to be a really good hotel but where to start. Like Tescos et al, the absence of any senior managerial staff was probably largely responsible for the failings - I never saw one in seven days.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MichaelTait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear MichaelTait,

I am sorry to hear the Hotel was not everything you expected.

Whilst assuring you that your comments will not go unnoticed, allow me to say that there are refurbishments being carried out, some have been completed, such as the indoor pool and sauna, generating pleasantly positive feedback.

A project in the pipeline for this coming winter is that some floors will have all the rooms totally refurbished.

As regards to the housekeeping service, this service is offered till 17:00 as offered internationally in hotels,but should you wish to have the maid service earlier this can be done upon request at front office desk.

We strive for perfection and our clients' full satisfaction makes us proud of our work and motivates us to move forward in providing relaxing and comfortable accommodation within our hotels. Your feedback is highly appreciated and we thank you for taking the time and effort to write.

We hope to have the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Victoria.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was our third stay at the Victoria and it remains an excellent hotel, centrally placed in Sliema, with an outstanding panoramic view of the Island, including Valetta, from its rooftop bar and swimming pool. It is collocated with the 5 Star Palace Hotel and their facilities can be used although for us the older world Victoria had more character than the glass and chrome Palace. There are a multitude of excellent restaurants within walking distance and buses and the ferry to Valetta are only a short walk away. The hotel is, however on top of a short but steepish hill and this might prove challenging for some although the hotel does have its own underground car park.

The staff were excellent and friendly. The lifts were much improved and the pool roof bar excellent. Bar and bar meal prices were reasonable and competitive and the breakfast excellent with a wide choice of both English and Continental fare. The hotel is due a 50% makeover in the Autumn which is timely as some of the rooms are showing signs of age. (e.g The plumbing is a little dated and there are no expel airs in the bathrooms.) However rooms are spacious, comfortable and well maintained and most have balconies. There is a fridge that is not stocked unless by request, which allows you to select your own from the nearby supermarket or street market which takes place close by twice a week. On the downside the hotel charged Euro 2.75 for a litre of still water in your room which seemed excessive; Euro 2 a day for use of the safe in your room which is in any event a permanent fixture and extra for room WiFi although it is free in the public rooms and computers are available for use free in the Palace. All rooms are air conditioned and have TV with BBC World as part of the package.

In summary, an excellent hotel, perhaps creaking a bit but this should be put right with the forthcoming makeover. Would suit the more mature guest who prefers old fashioned courtesy and service over wild entertainment. Those who like to party hard and children might find it a bit boring.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view (limited) go as high as possible (4-6th floor) and on the NE Palazzio side. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank schalichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear schalichfield,

The Victoria Hotel offers old school service with a smile and effortlessly too.

Your positive feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your stay with us at The Victoria Hotel has been very well received by the whole team.

We look forward to seeing you back for more 'royalty' time at The Victoria Hotel.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stay three nights in this hotel at the end of May 2014; the style of the lobby is typical British. the reception is good and the personnel is very kind. That said the room was average and the level of cleanness was just acceptable. definitely needs to be renovated

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear davric,

You kindly took the time to submit your review on TripAdvisor and we thank you for this.

All feedback from guests is appreciated and rest assured that while we enjoy hearing that you had a good stay at The Victoria Hotel, your suggestions are always acknowledged and discussed on Managerial levels.

Projects are in the pipeline for this coming winter to renovate some floors which will have all the rooms totally refurbished.

We hope to have the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Victoria.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Great location within minutes of Sliema Strand or Coastal walk towards St Julian's Bay, but far enough away from the noise of the bars etc on the sea front. Facilities - pools, spa etc were excellent and staff very efficient and friendly. Air conditioner in room was not terribly efficient but did not overly detract from the enjoyment of our stay. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Jim H,

Your positive feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your stay with us at The Victoria Hotel has been very well received by the whole team.

May we have the pleasure of welcoming you back for yet more pleasant stays at The Victoria Hotel.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We chose to stay at the Victoria Hotel, Malta due to it's good location, connections with Sliema and the buses/ferries at the waterfront. We had two quiet and comfortable rooms on half board. Both were spacious with basic facilities provided for but they could do with a general facelift, with attention given to the showers wetting the floor. Overall, housekeeping was good.

The variety of cold and hot food was excellent both in the Copperfields Restaurant and Penny Black Bar. Chefs did a very good job. The front of house and serving staff were friendly, helpful and attentive to our needs and we could not fault them. This alone is a great plus for the hotel. It was also a pleasure to meet and speak with Dorianne, the Guest Relations Manager.

FInally, the proposed revamping of the rooms that we have heard about would be of huge benefit to a good hotel. We would recommend this hotel to others and would indeed consider staying here again ourselves.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Redstar76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Redstar76,

Dorianne ,Chefs & Front office team and the rest of The Victoria Hotel's Management and staff would like to thank you for placing your positive comments about your recent stay with us at The Victoria Hotel.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at The Victoria Hotel for further impressive stays.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus,
Hotel manager,
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I agree with some reviewers that the hotel is in need of renovation and updating - I understand that this is scheduled to begin in November 2014.
However, the hotel is very well located; the pool area is good with really fantastic views; the food is lovely with a wide variety of choices. I also availed of the Spa facilities which was a most enjoyable experience.
But without any doubt, the hotel's greatest asset is its wonderful staff who are ALL (reception, bar, dining room, guest room and pool maintenance) very friendly, courteous and most helpful. A special mention should be made to Maria (dining room staff) and Martin (bar staff).
I hope to return to Malta again in the future and will certainly stay at The Victoria. Guest Relations Manager Dorianne makes sure that she connects with all the guests and is wam and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony at the higher level (Floor 5 and upward)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carmel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Carmel M,

Dorianne,Martin & Maria and the rest of The Victoria Hotel's Management and staff would like to thank you for placing your positive comments about your recent stay with us at The Victoria Hotel.

We look ahead to hosting you during future stays at The Victoria Hotel.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,624 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.2 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#6 of 28 in Sliema
2,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 28 in Sliema
1,311 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,068 reviews
1 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#6 of 15 in Valletta
4,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Address: Gorg Borg Olivier Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1807, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £71 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Hotel revels in comfort and charm with the loyal staff’s help embracing a harmonious feeling of the homelike environment. Elegant Rooms, Luxury Spa Facilities and multi-purpose Conference Halls with free Wi-Fi and underground parking facilities for your ultimate convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sliema
Victoria Hotel Malta
The Victoria Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing