We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everlasting love”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Everlasting love”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We just cannot stay away. Still, over a decade after we first came here, many of the same staff members are still there and that says something about the hotel's warm atmosphere. The hotel is ever improving. Every year there are bits that have been upgraded, extended or newly opened (just missed a new Italian restaurant they're opening this month). If you are, like us, looking for a welcoming place to unwind without any fuss and amongst people who genuinely wish to make your stay a good one, stop looking. We're already looking forward to next year.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RTM1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear RTM1908,

The Victoria Hotel offers old school service with a smile and effortlessly too.

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to seeing you back for more 'royalty' time at The Victoria Hotel.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    845
    683
    200
    72
    16
See reviews for
230
1,075
124
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Just returned from both my first trip to Malta and to The Victoria Hotel. All in all a fabulous thumbs up to both. Check-in at the Hotel was quick and efficient, was given a map of the area along with details of the ferry and bus services which was really handy. Was given room 210, which was really spacious and had a large bathroom as well, the terrace was small but that seems to be a feature with most hotels in Malta. Had read before we went about some rooms being really tired and dated but I certainly couldn't see that. The Hotel is situated in a nice quiet area, just 5 minutes up a slight hill from the main promenades. We were on Bed and Breakfast Basis and there was plenty of choice at Breakfast (fresh fruit, yoghurt, good selection of breads, variety of eggs plus bacon and sausages and even Salad!!). We ate in Penny Black bar once, which had a good menu choice and we also ate in Talk of the Town in the Palace Hotel (the sister Hotel to the Victoria) twice, again which was really good with a good menu choice and cocktail choice. The 2 hotels adjoin which is great and you can use the facilities at both, it is worth going up to the Terrace just to see the infinity pool and also for the great views over to Valetta. There is a great little shop in the Victoria for lovely jewellery at very very reasonable prices and for great gifts as well.

I would definitely recommend both The Victoria Hotel and Malta.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 63MichelleM16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear 63MichelleM16,

The fact that you were so satisfied with all facilities and amenities on offer at The Victoria Hotel is motivating and encouraging to all the staff.

At The Victoria Hotel, we like to adhere to what the hotel's name implies, and treat our guests like royalty.

We look ahead to hosting you during future stays at The Victoria Hotel.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel is has the most wonderful staff. In reception and the dining room they would go out of their way to help you. The room itself was spacious and clean. The bathroom is very tired looking and the water from the shower would end up on the floor. I have however found out that renovations are taking place in November and the bathrooms will be fixed. A great location not from from the ocean, public transport and tour guide operations. The pool areas where lovely and once again very helpful staff. I would defianetly come back once the renovations take place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Sheryl M,

Many thanks for placing your positive review about your stay at The Victoria Hotel on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is of utmost importance to all the Management and staff.

Projects are in the pipeline for this coming winter some floors will have all the rooms totally refurbished.

We hope to have the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Victoria.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We have just returned from the Victoria - we had our wedding there on the 6th of June - it was fabulous service was second to none the facilities were top notch and our room was perfect! Breakfast was plentiful with a lot of variety we ate once in penny black food of a good quality and pur waiter Alfred was hilarious !!! A special thanks to Rebecca attard our wedding coordinator also Charles the front manager and Claudio and marco as well nothing was too much trouble and done with a smile - these people are a real assert to the hotel / the top infinity pool was amazing and we enjoyed our stay immensely - thanks to all at the Victoria we are already planning a return stay !!! X

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Aimee J,

On behalf of all members of Management & staff at The Victoria Hotel, allow me to extend our warmest greetings on the occasion of your marriage.

We are glad to know that you chose The Victoria Hotel as the venue for this memorable occasion in your life and I can assure you that all the team involved were only too happy to accommodate your every wish in order to make this event a memorable one for you.

Here's to having you back for further memorable times at The Victoria Hotel.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus,
Hotel Manager,
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malinska, Croatia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The service and the staff in this hotel was exquisite. As i came earlier they allowed me an early check in as soon as it was possible. The top 3 floors with pools and relaxation/bar area are just awesome. The room was clean and large but it was obvious that it's not newly built. They could also put slightly better furniture on the balcony of that particular room. But all together, this is a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malomorgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear malomorgen,

The fact that you were so satisfied with all facilities and amenities on offer at The Victoria Hotel is motivating and encouraging to all the staff.

Your review on Tripadvisor is much appreciated and we await your return to The Victoria Hotel for further pleasant times.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus,
Hotel manager,
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Nice hotel with very good location!

Cannot comment highly enough of the service we received at The Penny Black Bar. The foodand drinks were if exceptional quality. What really made the experience was our server Martin who went above and beyond - and really added to our stay.highly recommended!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlorMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear FlorMcD,

Martin at The Penny Black is always only too happy to oblige guests and rest assured that nothing is of too much trouble if it means our guests are satisfied.

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to seeing you back for more 'royalty' time at The Victoria Hotel.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Having stayed in many hotels around the world,I am able to compare the 4 star sliema hotel ( The Victoria) with them.The Victoria is just a ten minute walk from the Sliema seafront and is elegantly furnished boutique hotel in the retro style.During my stay I observed an upgrading of the airconditioning.
I received a warm welcome from the reception staff headed by Charles,Stuart,Eleanor and Pierre amongst others who spent much time giving me and other guests detailed tourist information.Dorianne,the guest relations officer gave further information in an unhurried and friendly manner.My bedroom was spotless,large and well equipped with two beds(no extra charge for single occupancy)The sun roof not only contained a pool but revealed a striking panorama of Malta and the sea.The presentation and quality of the meals were perfect,the helpings were generous so I felt the necessaty to use the gym and indoor pool!I requested a taxi to take me to the north of Malta and was delighted to find that an in house superior taxi service,run by Josette was avaliable.I enjoyed the spectacular views of that part of Malta.Whilst sitting in the well stocked bar,I started conversing with an english family who told me that they were staying at the Victoria whilst their father was having his hip electively replaced at a small private hospital close by.Undoubtedly,all the Victoria s staff are interested and adapt in making the client feel happy by this personal approach which contributes greatly to the hotel s success,so I have no hesitation in highly recommending the Victoria for quality and friendliness...surpasses all the hotels I have visited elsewhere in the past

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Paul M,

Charles,Stuart,Eleanor, Pierre & Dorianne and the rest of The Victoria Hotel's Management and staff would like to thank you for placing your positive comments about your recent stay with us at The Victoria Hotel.

May we have the pleasure of welcoming you back for yet more pleasant stays at The Victoria Hotel.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
3,284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#8 of 29 in Sliema
1,968 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Property: The Victoria Hotel
Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1807, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#2 Family Hotel in Sliema
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sliema
Victoria Hotel Malta
The Victoria Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing