We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value for money, with good location and great people - unfortunately old and tatty around edges”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good value for money, with good location and great people - unfortunately old and tatty around edges”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Great location only short walk down to main areas of Silema for access to tours on harbour and around island, shared facilities with The Palace helps a lot with restaurant, rooftop deck and pool.
Room air conditioner doesn't work well, partly dirty bathroom, peeling paint, small mould patches on walls, ancient dirty carpet in room.
Peculiarly need to prepay for room, a sign they don't believe in themselves making us enjoy our stay.
Good value overall staying in Junior Suite for 130 Euro per night.
People great, very friendly and helpful generally.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank hrb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear hrb99,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience at The Victoria on Trip Advisor. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated. Rest assured that your constructive comments will surely not be ignored.

The Victoria Hotel is currently undergoing a general refurbishment as we like to keep the Hotel looking fresh and inviting.

We hope to have the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Victoria.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    868
    699
    203
    72
    16
See reviews for
233
1,104
126
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Its not often that you stay at a hotel and are made to feel so welcome and part of something special. The staff cannot do enough for your and I mean all the staff a special mention for Dorianne who is guest relations, she is an asset to the Victoria and the sister hotel the Palace. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
We stayed half board and both breakfast and out evening meal had a large variety of choice.
The roof terrace is very clean and has plenty of sun loungers and the infinity pool is fantastic. Our bedroom was on level 7 and again very clean and comfortable, although a little tired ,but I know a refurbishment is due later in the year. That said the beds were really comfy and we had a large balcony with a sea view so had no complaints.
You can also use the facilities of the sister 5 star hotel The Palace and the staff there are just as welcoming.
I have nothing but fond memories of my stay, I made friends and am looking forward to returning to the Victoria hotel in the future, and that is a first ,as I never usually return to the same hotel , that is until now.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wendy630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Wendy630,

At The Victoria Hotel, we like to adhere to what the hotel's name implies, and treat our guests like royalty.

Dorianne and the rest of The Victoria Hotel's Management and staff would like to thank you for placing your positive comments about your recent stay with us at The Victoria Hotel.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at The Victoria Hotel for further impressive stays.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus,
Hotel manager,
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Having spent just over two weeks in the Victoria on both business & pleasure it has been a "home from home" with the warm welcome and discreet staff always there to help. The facilities and pools add to the diversity of activities available as well as the location in Sliema close to everything.
Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear John A,

We are delighted that The Victoria Hotel left such a good impression on you from beginning to end.

Your positive feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your stay with us at The Victoria Hotel has been very well received by the whole team.

May we have the pleasure of welcoming you back for yet more pleasant stays at The Victoria Hotel.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed in The Victoria Hotel in June for business and found my stay comfortable. The Palace and The Victoria are situated next to each other and both share the same infinity pool on the roof which is impressive with a large space to relax if on holiday.

I found the rooms comfortable and large, but only twins seemed available even though I specified a double room.
A little dated now the Victoria, but acceptable I would say still, especially if you are using it for a bed to sleep in and spend your time exploring the island.

Nothing bad to write, a worthwhile stay in a good location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Oliver H,

Many thanks for placing your positive review about your recent stay at The Victoria Hotel on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is of utmost importance to all the Management and staff.

May we have the pleasure of welcoming you back for yet more pleasant stays at The Victoria Hotel.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Great staff the barman Alfred great looks after you very polite and funny just one tip the hotel is joined to the palace get your drinks from first pool 6 euros for 2 pints walked up 9 steps to next pool 11 euros for 2 pints nearl fell off chair overhaul great hotel will go back later in year

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Peter C,

Alfred and the rest of The Victoria Hotel's Management and staff would like to thank you for placing your positive comments about your recent stay with us at The Victoria Hotel.

We look ahead to hosting you during future stays at The Victoria Hotel.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just returned from a wonderful holiday in Malta, having stayed at the Victoria Hotel. We had a large Junior Suite (room 603) with two balconies, ensuite facilities - the fridge isn't stocked unless you ask which we preferred as you then have plenty of room to stock your own drinks! As many reviewers have commented, the Victoria Hotel is a little 'tired' in terms of furnishings however, this is due to be rectified by the planned refurbishment of the hotel in November 2014. However, this hotel is worth staying at purely for the quality of staff and the high level of service they deliver to all customers. The service is impeccable and having stayed at many hotels around the world I can honestly say the customer service at this hotel is one of the best! Charles, Stuart and the team on Reception are welcoming, efficient, polite and professional. Alfred & Martin deliver a first class service in the restaurant (great sense of humour) and nothing is too much trouble for the housekeeping team. All staff genuinely care about you having a good holiday and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is plentiful with everything you would expect. The BBQ Night (15,96 euros)and Pasta Night (9.95 euros) are well worth attending (held on the 7th floor Terrace with wonderful views/sunset over Sliema); good quality food cooked to a high standard. Although the gym on 7th floor is limited in terms of equipment, there is sufficient and we visited every day (excellent opening times). The Victoria is linked to its sister hotel the 5* Palace - a very contemporary, modern hotel, however, we much preferred the warmth and friendly atmosphere of the Victoria. If you are looking for a good, welcoming hotel, where staff pride themselves on delivering a first class service, then you will not be disappointed. Although the Victoria is on a hill, this didn't present any problems although could prove tiring for those with walking difficulties; the hotel is only 5 minutes from the Sliema promenade and close to a wide range of shops, restaurants and bus stops. Sliema is a great place to stay, lots to see/do and a great base to explore the rest of the island. The water taxi to Valletta is great ! Will definitely be visiting again! Thank you to all the team for contributing to a great holiday and wonderful stay in Malta. Y&J

Room Tip: Junior Suites & rooms higher up (we had JS 603) are brighter as light is not blocked by surround...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear DAAY,

Charles,Stuart, Alfred and Martin and the rest of The Victoria Hotel's Management and staff would like to thank you for placing your positive comments about your recent stay with us at The Victoria Hotel.

At The Victoria Hotel, we like to adhere to what the hotel's name implies, and treat our guests like royalty.


May we have the pleasure of welcoming you back for yet more pleasant stays at The Victoria Hotel.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is an older hotel but the age of the furnishings are outweighed by the size of the rooms and its location on a hill in Sliema. The rooftop restaurant provides great views at dinner; the rooftop view from the adjoining Palace Hotel is even better, and it is a plus that one can walk directly across from the rooftop restaurants of these "sister hotels."

A further plus is the helpfulness of the staff at the desk, who were happy to provide information on tours, bus routes and sight-seeing.

This is not a posh hotel but nonetheless quite comfortable for visitors who came to Malta to see the historical sites, not flop on the beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OldTravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear OldTravellers2,

Many thanks for placing your positive review about your recent stay at The Victoria Hotel on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is of utmost importance to all the Management and staff.

Front desk staff are always there to help with your every need.

We look forward to seeing you back for more pleasant time at The Victoria Hotel.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus,
Hotel Manager,
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#8 of 28 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Property: The Victoria Hotel
Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1807, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#2 Family Hotel in Sliema
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sliema
Victoria Hotel Malta
The Victoria Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing