We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice stay”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights on 8th July and the reception staff were so lovely and helpful. The bedroom was on the 3rd floor and although they were nice was very disappointed in lack of view and how narrow and tiny the balcony was. An invitation was left in our room to meet the hotel management for drinks on the rooftop bar, this joins the sister hotel and it is beautiful. The manager comes and chats and drinks and the nicest duck spring rolls served. He is there to promote the hotel and to get you to use the hotels restaurants, 2 in particular, we tried their Italian one and would give it 6/10.
The hotel offers free safety deposit boxes but leaves a bottle of water in your room at a cost of £2.75 euro?. A nice stay in this part of Malta but would go to another part of I was to return.
You have to go to reception to access wifi

Room Tip: Ask for a decent balcony and only top floor room might have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank october44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2014

Dear october44,

You kindly took the time to submit your review on TripAdvisor and we thank you for this.

All feedback from guests is appreciated and rest assured that while we enjoy hearing that you had a good stay at The Victoria Hotel, your suggestions are always acknowledged and discussed on Managerial levels.

We hope to have the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Victoria.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,076)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

829 - 835 of 2,076 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

A weeks stay on a business trip, enjoyed the visit and the rooftop pool was divine after a long day at the office. The location was excellent and within easy proximity of both sides of the Sliema peninsula.

The staff were wonderful, and even when my visit accidentllay overran due to a mix up on my part with check-out dates, they did everything possible to accommodate me and ensure I was okay.

While a little tatty in parts the hotel was nicely looked after, and this did not detract from my overall enjoyment.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisTFer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear ChrisTFer2014,

We are delighted that The Victoria Hotel left such a good impression on you from beginning to end.

Your positive feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your stay with us at The Victoria Hotel has been very well received by the whole team.

May we have the pleasure of welcoming you back for yet more pleasant stays at The Victoria Hotel.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just returned from a 9 night stay at The Victoria Hotel in Sliema, Malta.

The sample upgraded rooms mentioned in our review “Visit 29” are not yet finished so will have to report on this after Visit 31.

Since our visit in March 2014 the TV’s in the rooms have been changed to new flat screen models which are far better than the old dated large monster TV’s. Work had begun to upgrade the hotel TV system to offer more stations to watch, the work had not been completed before we left so again we will have to review after Visit 31.

There is a new outdoor establishment which has opened for the summer season called A Tavola serving pizza and pasta etc, we didn’t get chance to eat there but we did hear good reports from other guest’s and as we know who the chef in charge is we are sure the reports are accurate.
This is why we like staying at The Victoria, not only does it have the best staff in Malta from the maids to the management, in our opinion, but there is always some new improvement to report on and enjoy during our stay.

Looking forward to Visit 31 in September 2014.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MaltaFanatics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear MaltaFanatics,

Your positive feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your 30th stay with us at The Victoria Hotel has been very well received by the whole team.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at The Victoria Hotel for further impressive stays.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Great location only short walk down to main areas of Silema for access to tours on harbour and around island, shared facilities with The Palace helps a lot with restaurant, rooftop deck and pool.
Room air conditioner doesn't work well, partly dirty bathroom, peeling paint, small mould patches on walls, ancient dirty carpet in room.
Peculiarly need to prepay for room, a sign they don't believe in themselves making us enjoy our stay.
Good value overall staying in Junior Suite for 130 Euro per night.
People great, very friendly and helpful generally.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank hrb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear hrb99,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience at The Victoria on Trip Advisor. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated. Rest assured that your constructive comments will surely not be ignored.

The Victoria Hotel is currently undergoing a general refurbishment as we like to keep the Hotel looking fresh and inviting.

We hope to have the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Victoria.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Its not often that you stay at a hotel and are made to feel so welcome and part of something special. The staff cannot do enough for your and I mean all the staff a special mention for Dorianne who is guest relations, she is an asset to the Victoria and the sister hotel the Palace. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
We stayed half board and both breakfast and out evening meal had a large variety of choice.
The roof terrace is very clean and has plenty of sun loungers and the infinity pool is fantastic. Our bedroom was on level 7 and again very clean and comfortable, although a little tired ,but I know a refurbishment is due later in the year. That said the beds were really comfy and we had a large balcony with a sea view so had no complaints.
You can also use the facilities of the sister 5 star hotel The Palace and the staff there are just as welcoming.
I have nothing but fond memories of my stay, I made friends and am looking forward to returning to the Victoria hotel in the future, and that is a first ,as I never usually return to the same hotel , that is until now.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wendy630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Wendy630,

At The Victoria Hotel, we like to adhere to what the hotel's name implies, and treat our guests like royalty.

Dorianne and the rest of The Victoria Hotel's Management and staff would like to thank you for placing your positive comments about your recent stay with us at The Victoria Hotel.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at The Victoria Hotel for further impressive stays.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus,
Hotel manager,
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Having spent just over two weeks in the Victoria on both business & pleasure it has been a "home from home" with the warm welcome and discreet staff always there to help. The facilities and pools add to the diversity of activities available as well as the location in Sliema close to everything.
Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear John A,

We are delighted that The Victoria Hotel left such a good impression on you from beginning to end.

Your positive feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your stay with us at The Victoria Hotel has been very well received by the whole team.

May we have the pleasure of welcoming you back for yet more pleasant stays at The Victoria Hotel.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed in The Victoria Hotel in June for business and found my stay comfortable. The Palace and The Victoria are situated next to each other and both share the same infinity pool on the roof which is impressive with a large space to relax if on holiday.

I found the rooms comfortable and large, but only twins seemed available even though I specified a double room.
A little dated now the Victoria, but acceptable I would say still, especially if you are using it for a bed to sleep in and spend your time exploring the island.

Nothing bad to write, a worthwhile stay in a good location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oliver H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Oliver H,

Many thanks for placing your positive review about your recent stay at The Victoria Hotel on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is of utmost importance to all the Management and staff.

May we have the pleasure of welcoming you back for yet more pleasant stays at The Victoria Hotel.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,595 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.2 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#6 of 28 in Sliema
2,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 28 in Sliema
1,296 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,964 reviews
1 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#6 of 15 in Valletta
4,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Address: Gorg Borg Olivier Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1807, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £61 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Hotel revels in comfort and charm with the loyal staff’s help embracing a harmonious feeling of the homelike environment. Elegant Rooms, Luxury Spa Facilities and multi-purpose Conference Halls with free Wi-Fi and underground parking facilities for your ultimate convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sliema
Victoria Hotel Malta
The Victoria Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing