We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good week in Malta”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2010

We travelled to Malta and stayed at the Victoria Hotel. The staff was friendly, and extremely helpful. Whenever we needed information about sights to see or a bus to catch, they were cheerful and passed on excellent information. The breakfast was included in our price and was very good and more than adequate. We also ate 3 dinners at the restaurant and the meals were also good. The exercise room was clean and well equipped. The pool was also well maintained. The only criticisms we have is that only one elevator was working and it quite often quicker to walk than to wait for the elevator. The exchange rate offered at the hotel was quite high compared to official exchange rate offered at the local banks. We definitely would stay there again and use the Hotel as a good location to explore Malta.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaHumblepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,988)
There are newer reviews for The Victoria Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,349 - 1,355 of 1,988 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2010

We stay at the victoria hotel on a business visit to Malta and was excellent, this hotel was very nice and very quiet. Only one lift was not working. Nice rooms, very good customer service. I love Malta is very nice place for going for Holidays. People are very kind.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panteritaPanterita10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2010

Had a great 10 break at the Victoria. We have made many visits to Malta over the past 30 years and can say this was great value for money and the service and staff could not be falted. Great room with small balcony overlooking quiet courtyard. Spotless bed room and bathroom that was thoughly cleaned each day. Bar staff and restaurant staff efficient and unobtrusive. Even with all electric power on Malta off for 4 hours one evening, the hotel with its own generator ran with out a hitch. Will return with not doubt at all. Bus to Valetta just round the corner in Rudolph Street every 30 mins. Great indoor pool, quiet and warm, great for colder months..

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usat37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

We booked a junior suite at the Victoria so we could rest up from transatlantic travel before exploring the Valetta area. The rate was very reasonable for a huge room with a sitting area and included breakfast (more than adequate). Best of all was the location - away from the bustle and noise but less than a five minute walk to the harbour area and the ferry to Valetta. The in-house spa and roof-top pool was an added bonus. We would definitely return to this hotel and this fascinating destination.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Havenmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

On arrival greeted by Charles, very polite and a good welcome. Only one lift working, room decor a little tired,carpet stained fridge did not work to satisfaction,bathroom extractor fan did not work bathroom required a bit of tidying up. Maid only did what she had to do.But this is Malta
Food was not bad if you took the meal deal, but the quality of the main meat dishes required some attention suggest find another meat supplier. You would not go hungry as you could find something to eat. Spa and Gym was very good. Would return to this hotel because of location and the service from the reception staff, very friendly and helpfull, could not have asked for more from them. Top marks for them

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DunroamingNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

Just spent a wonderful week in a Junior Suite on top floor looking out to St Julians/Paceville with glimpses of sea from one balcony. Staff were unfailingly helpful & polite. Room was very spacious with two massive singles pushed together for enormous double.

Used spa/indoor pool - very small & soon full. Two tiny 2 person saunas & one four person steam room were not really adequate but all very clean & modern.

Didn't use hotel for food or bar as so much around to explore & try. Reception also very efficiently organised hire car at comparable local rates. However driving was very divorce-making as signing not the clearest round the island & very stressful for driver & navigator!

One recommendation - hotel has massage/therapy area with 4* prices. Turn right out of hotel & few minutes walk down hill on left (no 25) is a great local masseur in a medical equipment supply shop - John Pollaco , [--] - at 28 euros for an hour's excellent Swedish massage, incredible value. Ask him about UFO's!

All in all, a great place to explore Malta.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toowoomba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

Having just returned from a short trip to Malta I have no hesitation in recommending The Victoria Hotel, it's very pleasant staff, and the Sliema area itself.

The hotel is situated at the top of a small hill, with a very manageable incline, and is exceptionally well situated for all the local amenities and transport.

The seafront/beach is a short 3 minute walk away and provides easy access to the local buses (excellent, frequent, and only 47 cents per trip), which render the hire of a car unneccessary and the regular cross harbour ferry service (also, almost unbelievably, only 47 cents a trip) to Valletta.

We stayed in a Junior Suite which was spacious, comfortable, and compared very favourably with more prestigious American hotels that we'd stayed in recently.
I was also particularly impressed with the size of the bed, which was the size of a small planet, and the pillows which were also exceptional.

The hotel staff, like all of the Maltese people we encountered along the way, were courteous, freindly, and a joy to deal with.

One small gripe related to the offer of 4 breakfasts, for two, for 35 Euros. A vey good discount on the 11 Euros per head standard rate but, unfortunately, although we were very happy to pay the 35 Euros asking price we were declined on the basis that we were only staying for 3 nights rather than 4.

That was a bit of a shame as, on principal, we then decided to bring our own breakfast food in and eat out, in the evenings, instead of in the hotel restaurant. Thereby depriving the hotel of well over 100 Euros in income.

Having said that, the hotel receptionist, and supervisor, who politeley declined us the offer did so in a very professional manner and seemed to be restricted by the vagaries of their computer system.

The room iteself came complete with a small fridge which, unlike English hotels, wasn't prefilled but could be stocked up on completion of a small order form. This worked rather well as it meant that small items of food and drink could be purchased elsewhere and stored in the room.

We were quite taken aback by the cleanliness of the Maltese towns and villages. Maybe it's a sign of middle age but it really did make a difference to us. They were, almost literally, spotless.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.4 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 28 in Sliema
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,122 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,763 reviews
1.0 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Address: Gorg Borg Olivier Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1807, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#2 Family Hotel in Sliema
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £61 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Hotel revels in comfort and charm with the loyal staff’s help embracing a harmonious feeling of the homelike environment. Elegant Rooms, Luxury Spa Facilities and multi-purpose Conference Halls with free Wi-Fi and underground parking facilities for your ultimate convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Prestigia, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sliema
Victoria Hotel Malta
The Victoria Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing