We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,403)
Filter reviews
2,403 results
Traveller rating
1,205
872
229
79
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,205
872
229
79
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews penny black bar charles portelli rooftop pool sister hotel lovely hotel front office manager junior suite sea front quiet area reception staff balcony room very pleasant stay asian restaurant breakfast and dinner the air conditioning sliema waterfront visiting malta
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 2,403 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at The Victoria for a week for our first visit to Malta.
We booked our holiday through Jet2.
We were very impressed with the quality of the hotel, the facilities they have ( especially the roof top pools ).
Our room was on the 6th floor and was a very good in all aspects with lots of wardrobe and drawer space, there was a balcony as well that gave excellent roof top views over to St Julien and out to sea.
Our board was bed and breakfast but we dined in the bar or dining room most nights, an excellent range of food was offered in both locations and at reasonable prices.
The hotel has a sister hotel next door ( The Palace ) and you are able go in there if you wish, we had coffee and a cake for €6.50 which was really good.
The location is very good with 10min walk downhill to the waterfront where you can get the ferry across Valletta etc.
I guess the hotels best feature is the excellent staff you meet in the hotel, from desk, bar, restaurant and room service.
Well done to all of them and thank you for making our stay so enjoyable.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank HaughtonGreenDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin_Callus, General Manager at AX The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Dear HaughtonGreenDave,

Charles, Dorianne, Alfred, and Martin and the rest of The Victoria Hotel's Management and staff would like to thank you for placing your positive comments about your recent stay with us at AX The Victoria Hotel.

We look ahead to hosting you during future stays at AX The Victoria Hotel.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
General Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2018

My room did not have a view, but was spacious and comfortable and quiet. It provided the necessary amenities, including a hair dryer. There was a spacious sun deck and pool on the roof. The view from there more than made up for the lack of a view from the room. The staff were very helpful with providing information and answers to my questions and helped with getting me transportation. There are a number of very good restaurants and shops in the hotel as well as close by and public transportation is available within a short walk. I was able to see a performance of Aida and went to the Sunday market. I had thought that the hotel provided transportation to/from the airport; it did not, but did arrange for a taxi. I had a very pleasant stay.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Jean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin_Callus, General Manager at AX The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Dear Jean A,

Many thanks for placing your positive review about your recent stay at AX The Victoria Hotel on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is of utmost importance to all the Management and staff.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at AX The Victoria Hotel for further impressive stays.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
General Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2018

We chose this hotel after reading several good reviews. In the main it was a good choice, however there are one or two negative points. Firstly we had a balcony room, but as the balcony overlooked a very busy road with non-stop traffic and diesel fumes this was not necessarily an advantage! Secondly the hotel has an indoor swimming pool but, if you want to actually swim,be aware that it is very small...much smaller than it looks on the photographs. The other problem is that the hotel does not provide bathrobes unless you pay a daily fee ( I have never come across this before!) and there are no cubicles in the changing room which I think is unacceptable.
The hotel is very clean and the people are friendly. We were half board and found something to enjoy every evening, and the breakfasts were adequate...though I would have liked fruit prepared properly!
One drawback especially to any elderly people who might be thinking of visiting the hotel is that it is a very steep walk back from the bus and ferry.
Like other people have said this is a good hotel, but the general infrastructure in Malta leaves a lot to be desired and we won't be returning.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MickyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin_Callus, General Manager at AX The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Dear MickyYorkshire,

Thank you very much for staying at the AX The Victoria Hotel and taking a moment to share feedback on your stay with other travelers.

I can see through your review that we may not have fully met your expectations and that we could have provided a better overall experience during your stay in our hotel.

We are also grateful to receive your comments. We are continuously striving to achieve service excellence and with such feedback we can address shortfalls and improve our quality. Be assured that I made a note of your remarks and have cascaded them to the appropriate heads of departments.

I truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again at AX The Victoria Hotel.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
General Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018

We chose this hotel after reading reviews on trip advisor and we were not disappointed.
When we arrived we received a welcoming greeting and we were told we had been upgraded to a balcony room, however this was not so good as at 6am in the morning there was a lot of traffic noice which went on until 8am, not quite what you want on holiday. We told reception and they were very sympathetic, and immediately offered to transfers to another room which they did this time a comfortable room and very quite. They booked restaurants from us, and a water trip around the island nothing was too much trouble. With regard to our room, we had a lovely big bed, and after I requested a change of pillows ( I have a neck problem) very comfortable. This is the sister hotel to The Palace, next door, and they share an infinity pool on the roof, and a Pan Asian restaurant, not the cheapest place to eat, but a good menu to choose from, we had a very nice meal there.They also have the Penny Black Pub, (English style) with a good atmosphere. It is conveniently situated not more that 10 mins. to the promenade, ( but uphill on the way back) Would I go back to this hotel again, Most certainly, but it is unlikely that I will visit Malta again, as places such as this hotel are being let down by some other parts of the Malta tourist industry who give a poor and couldn't care less standard of service.

Room tip: avoid room 201
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 2Vikings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin_Callus, General Manager at AX The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Dear 2Vikings,

At The Victoria Hotel, we like to adhere to what the hotel's name implies, and treat our guests like royalty.

Your positive feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your stay with us at AX The Victoria Hotel has been very well received by the whole team. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction. I look forward to sharing your positive review to the entire team.

Should you change your mind and re-visit Malta, we would love to host you again.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018

What a great excellent hotel with friendly, efficient and high quality staff who are a credit to the hotel. Our classic (standard room) was very good, a decent size. There is plenty of choice at breakfast but I would suggest a few small changes - offer guests a fruit salad bowl rather than just individual pieces of fruit. We thoroughly enjoyed the dinner every night which was good food served by very friendly staff. Rooftop pools, deck chairs are also impressive. The hotel is a 10 minute walk down a steep hill to the waterfront and boats to Valletta and further afield. There are easier walks further along the road. If we return to Malta in the future we'd definitely stay here because of its quality service and facilities. We would like to recommend that management take note of their excellent front office staff who are most certainly their most valued assets, and in we would like to name them in order for them to know that we truly appreciate the effort they put into making our stay as pleasant as possible. A special note of appreciation and thanks to Dorianne, Charles, Rhea, Rose and Dmitri.

Room tip: Ask for a room on the side of the hospital, a few levels up.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank abcdef493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin_Callus, General Manager at AX The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Dear abcdef493,

At The Victoria Hotel, we like to adhere to what the hotel's name implies, and treat our guests like royalty.

Your positive feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your stay with us at The Victoria Hotel has been very well received by Dorianne, Charles, Rhea, Rose and Dmitri. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

May we have the pleasure of welcoming you back for yet more pleasant stays at The Victoria Hotel.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
General Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews